We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butlins Minehead Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Minehead Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Butlins Whitson Mon - Friday and stopped on a silver bungalow which we paid £20 when booking it to choose which bungalow we wanted. This meant we were right by the skyline so no moaning kids. We also had a food plan in the coast restaurant the main meals were brilliant but the desserts were almost the same every night which was a bit disappointing. We purchased b-line passes which meant we got into the venues before anyone other than b-liners so no queuing for hours to watch a show. Our only complaint was the traffic on site. Due to building work taking place the car parks were smaller than usual meaning more cars were parked on site. This was a nusence because it meant the kids were not safe to walk ahead of you. We have already booked next year's holiday on the brand new chalets they are currently building. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loveadayout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Sam,

Great to hear you had a brilliant time with us at Butlins Minehead! We’re pleased you made use of our B-line passes and got to see lots of shows. We will feedback your comments about the traffic on site, we hope you were still able to enjoy your break, and we can’t wait to have you back to stay in the new chalets!

See you next year!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    1,030
    515
    243
    364
See reviews for
1,947
353
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Butlins Minehead Resort over the past week. I have to admit, it's not as we thought-it was actually really clean, fun and friendly. I'll now go on to talk about our wonderful family experience at Butlins.
Over the 5 days, we've stayed in Gold accommodation and we've found any less wouldn't be too good. You most certainly get what and more for what you pay for. The rooms are fairly big and get cleaned regularly. They are also close to the funfair but a fair walk from the dining places.
As for things to do, you're never bored. The funfair has a wide range of rides for all ages and preferences. Splash Waterworld is a complete wet paradise! My daughter loves swimming and she could practice her lane swimming as well as playing on the slides and in the waves. She even braved the Space Bowl; a spinning fast bowl of water! If you are going to Butlins soon, go in the queue for the Blue Comet and look out the portal window- we saw a nest full of cute baby seagulls! Not that that has anything to do with the resort!
There are lots of additional activities to do such as hiring a family bike and riding around the park which is super fun. Also the redcoats perform phenomenal shows for adults and kids. The food is okay, typical English food really. But scrumptious!
So, overall you will enjoy your Butlins holiday excluding some minor things like the distance, omelette queues and the weather. Some last tips of advice:
- Park near your accommodations
- Go to Splash in the afternoon
- Feed the seagulls and other birds
Have a fabulous trip to Butlins; we defiantly did! :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Lauren,

Brilliant to hear you enjoyed your break at Butlins Minehead. We hope you come back and visit us again so you can have another fun experience with us! Blimey, the Space Bowl! Your daughter must be very brave, although it is pretty fun! Thanks for your advice for guests looking to visit; we really appreciate you taking your time to write such a cracking review.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

went to minehead may 2014 for a 4 night stay stayed in gold chalet the new ones they are very nice inside we where on 1st floor which was hard with 3 kids and in the rain so i suggest pay extra for ground floor the patio ones look amazing gold is close to skyline so that is a advantage redcoats are very good with little ones venue entertainment was okay but not that good but they do put different things on regular soft play was good my oldest loved it how ever its gets very busy when raining it could have been better if it was larger arcades rip off to be fair i think their rigged to lose alot food places on resort very expensive finguins chip shop was cheaper in 2013 prices have rockted 4.25 for a very small kids meal not worth it scoop icecream expensive we bought ice creams from morrissons just outside of resort we self catered but eat out mostly we went off resort mainly macdonalds but that got tiresome eating their we took crisps sweets juice from tesco saved a fourtune butlins fairground looks nice we love butlins but its all money money at every turn we spent with accomadation included a total of £1200 with nothing to show for it yes granted we wasted alot because of the weather was rain rain now we also the kids fell ill while away and when we got home we all now have this bug which must have come from butlins minehead for that reason its only got 4 stars from me now every year we return to butlins some tips for you

gold is lovely but not much different to silver other then in gold your closer to skyline and the places are newer

tips

go half board save a fourtune on food that or completely self cater dont eat on resort go to tesco or morrissons

buy icecreams from supermarket outside of resort

charactor pictures very expensive so take your camera up with you and keep that pic instead

buy kids flashy things before you go into clubs go to poundland

bubbles 50p each in tesco compared to £4-5 on resort club

avoid arcades at all costs

do all the free things their is so much to do as long as the weather is nice otherwise skyline gets busy

Room Tip: gold has double glazing windows and close to skyline they are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Mr B,

Thank you for your review, wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Gold accommodation. We will pass on your feedback to the resort as honest comments from our guest help us to keep improving.

Sorry to hear that some of your family were ill when you got home, and that you are feeling better now.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

i will come back soon as there is lots to do

i booked the basic dinning plan 9 out 10
room 9 out 10

the only thing that lets this place down is that they need more whiter actives for all ages like kayaking in splash world pool

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Adam,

Thank you for your review, we’re glad you like the kayaking in Splash Waterworld. We do try to cater for all ages and hope that you do come back to see us again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We visited here in April 14. Decided to pay the extra for a Gold apartment as a treat but to be honest it's the same as a silver apartment just different decor. The best thing about gold is that you are closest to the Skyline and swimming pool.

Booked the deck restaurant for our stay. Could not find one fault. The staff were all lovely. Special mention to the lovely staff members at the front of house. Always spared five minutes to sit and talk to the children. My daughter loved speaking to them everyday.

Gold room - daily housekeeping. We did have ants in the kitchen on our last evening. Mentioned to guest services and they sent someone straight away to deal with them. The cleaners had accidentally removed my daughters slushy cups. Again we reported this on the off chance we could get them back. We came back to the room with a note to say sorry but no luck and they gave my daughter a small token voucher which was nice of them to do so.

Entertainment - Same acts as usual. We have visited 4x in two years so expected this. Only disappointment was that only centre stage was open. All entertainment finished by 9.30pm which meant going back to the arcades or room. Unfortunately centre stage smelt awful (previous weekend adult weekend) so we didn't stay to long.

Children's entertainment was great as usual. Skyline gang were lovely with the children. Happy to pose for photos and a chat.

Swimming pool brilliant as always

Looking forward to booking again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mummy2lilliemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Mummylilliemay,

We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the children’s entertainment great! Thank you for your comments; we really appreciate our guests letting us know how their stay was so we can try to improve the experience they have when visiting. We are currently dealing with the ants and hope to have this rectified as soon as possible.

Can’t wait to see you again!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed Mon to Fri in a Silver apartment with premium dinning, with my husband, 2 year old and 3 month old. We all had a really lovely time, plenty to do,infact we didnt have time to do everything!
Spotless clean, food lovely, staff really helpful and attractions are fabulous. Theres plenty to do regardless of the weather.
We also took a short 10min stroll into Minehead and found a fab pub called the Hairy Dog that has a massive play area in the beer garden.
We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Kate,

Lovely to hear you had a great time! Thanks for your kind review; we’d love to have you back again! Hopefully you can stay for longer next time and fit everything in!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we were 2 families with kids. we had booked 2 silver apartments - we were granted on ground floor and rooms facing each other which was quite good.
Check -in -> was smooth and directions were provided for car park and map of the resort given along with day wise activity schedule.
About 5 min walk from the car park was our silver apartment. Car park -design is not the best (not enough gaps between the rows). long , big cars will struggle.

Very happy with room. Clean hygienic, ample space. bed rooms have own heaters. kitchen is good. working telly, sofas , chairs. minor thing to complain, spring boarded doors - why?

Plenty of activities for all age groups. you cannot get bored that's for sure.
splash world - is very good. very busy as you can expect.

major complaint - Food. we had lunch at Firehouse grill (awful) and breakfast once at Sun and Moon pub (pretty average fare).
drinks at the various bars - just average.

if the weather is good, then the Minehead beach is bang opp. the resort, to enjoy. But it was raining when we were there.

Room Tip: we had the silver apartment in Oyster Bay and we had no complaints about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stalwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Stalwart,

Thank you for your feedback, we’re glad you enjoyed Splash Waterworld!

We will pass on your feedback to the resort, if you have any further details please send us an email to tripadvisor@Butlins.com.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.7 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 21 in Minehead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Minehead Resort

Property: Butlins Minehead Resort
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing