We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best friends hen party weekend!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My best friends hen party weekend was on a 70's weekend which was a lot of fun.

Us 13 girls had a wonderful weekend, I can't speak for all the girls but I have to say that the place we stayed in did a service for what we wanted and it was clean. We had a lovely sitting area and a kitchen which was so handy for us!

Definitely going to visit here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Laura K

We're delighted you and your friends had a great time at our MInehead resort.

We'd love to welcome you all back again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,266 - 2,272 of 3,809 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Paid lots of visits to Proper Cornish. Defiantly worth a visit. What a wonderful lovely Irish girl working there. She was so helpful and wonderful with my fussy kids! A beautiful girl. What an asset to your company. Lucky Butlins. Had a lovely break in Minehead. Thank you Zoe for wonderful pasties and charm beyond words.
We will defiantly return to Butlins.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castlelady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Castleady123

Thank you so much for your kind and review, and particularly the comments about our team. We'll make sure Zoe gets to see your comments!

We'd love to welcome you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a lovely family break away at the end of April, beautiful weather meant we could take advantage of all the things to do outside. The fairground was a particular highlight enjoyed by all members of the family from 3 up to 82.
The accomodation was basic but comfortable and clean (silver bungalow)
The prepay dining packages are a great idea the dining area is a big canteen style venue, with a good variation of food.
The staff were all very friendly and hardworking.
Would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Louise P

It's lovely to read your comments about your break at our Minehead resort. Our team will be thrilled to learn you found them friendly and hard-working.

We also think our dining packages are great, but it's much nicer when a guest says so!

We'd love to welcome you again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed long weekend for 80s weekend and had a blast.
Stayed in Gold accomodation which was clean and tiday and had all you needed, cooker/micro/iron and board/kettle/hair dryer/dish washer.
Resort does provide towells but I suggest you take your own as very small.
Beds were comfy and sheets etc very clean.
If you like a bit of comfort in the evening then pay 20 quid for VIP for whole stay(per person) as you get comfy seats and your own bar.
Entertainment was great including Toyah and Go west to name but a few.
We used Pizza Hut on last day and this was excellent as is Finnegans Chippie.
Soho Coffee house also a must.
If your expecting a good sleep then i suggest you stay somewhere else as it is rather noisy with everyone leaving club at 3am and lots of Hen and Stag weekends so do as I did and take an extra day off work to recover zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Staff were fab (bar/cleaning/VIP hosts).
Take a walk into minehead and beach very nice and clears head.
No complaints and will be booking again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muchbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi muchbeer

We're so pleased to read you had a blast on your Live Music Weekend.

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and we're delighted to read you will be booking again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

BOOKING: No problems, friendly staff, but..be careful, a couple of years ago we took the early bird option nearly a year ahead.., 'guaranteed cheapest' price etc ..only to find people we met during the actual break had paid far less than us by waiting for a couple of weeks before the event!!. This year we booked the 'last' apartment, for a stiff 461 quid, the following day there was another 'last' one..and more 'last ones' all through the week.. at the end of the week ten more turned up..and more rooms, so we rang and downgraded slightly, and saved nearly a hundred pound in the process...


BOOKING IN: Great, the staff, as always are very friendly and helpful, this is what Butlins do best..

ACCOM: Clean, no problems there, no smells etc...it didnt look anything like the ones advertised on the site..but thats the world of advertising for you I guess!...
Great picture on the TV. WI-FI dont bother....if you want to send someone a message send a postcard (remember them?) it will probably get there quicker! The beds..thank god is was only three nights!..not the most comfortable.
The bathroom was nice and clean, but the shower was a combination of scalding and freezing!!..until we worked it out (there were no instructions) TIP: turn the water heater switch on first!! TIP: dont forget to take towels. TIP: Ask for a room with a bath...they are lovely old deep ones.

RESTAURANTS: Very good, we had the premium dining for an extra £129 (although standard is fine) for more choice...the quality of food is very good, the place is spotless, and the staff are friendly. Butlins have done their homework here...it would cost the average person at least five quid for a breakfast outside and a three course meal for two would top up to about 30 quid..so all in all the premium option is good value..(just)..
NOTE TO BUTLINS: dont take this for granted and start ramping up the prices to match your pricing policies on other parts of the resort..people will vote with their feet otherwise. The amount of people taking this option could be a lot more...that should tell you to be aware.

ENTERTAINMENT: Hmmm....the main reason we went, but this was the biggest let down..firstly, Butlins prices for drinks..'rip off' 'con' 'joke' 'too much'...call them what you want (everyone we spoke to did!!) but Butlins are really taking liberties here...they have gone up about 50p to over four quid in 2.5 years...bottles are even less value These weekends must be the best earners for Butlins on the drinks front..but they are going to come unstuck if they continue charging these prices..

NOTE TO BUTLINS: Try putting 'Bar prices, value for money' on the survey that gets emailed to people and I'm sure you will see for yourself what people think

The heat in Centre Stage is awful and dangerous..when people say 'it was like a sauna in there' the are NOT joking...just sitting still will leave you constantly pouring with sweat..even the bands comment on it...why is it like this?...well, the hotter it is, the more you spend on beer trying to cool down..obvious really. The exterior doors need to be opened and have one of the resort safety staff on them?..its not 'against health and safety law' or at least install some fans.

VIP option...worth it (even though you will still have to queue most of the time as they only have three people working behind the tiny bar...but thats better than queuing six deep for half an hour at the main bars.
Cant comment on Reds this time..but we have been before....not keen, dirty and tired looking with a weird atmosphere..
The bands...poor this year, most were the same bands as last year...and there is no point in booking 2/3 hit wonder bands/artists who after playing their 2/3 hits drag the rest of the set out with songs people have never heard...people want to party (according to the DJ, who plays the same songs every night, almost in the same order!)

BUTLINS STAFF: Special mention to them, they are great...faultless, always fun, friendly and helpful...that is what Butlins is all about

OVERALL, Despite the gripes its still a great weekend event...(no really!) the people who go make it special, its a great atmosphere, the bouncers are friendly, I have never seen any major trouble..and small 'handbags' are dealt with efficiently and professionally and not heavy handed...Remember, this is a fun weekend, its not a cultural trip..you have not booked a 5 star hotel...ok some of the rooms are a little rough...but thats what happens when you have large groups of men and women who are out to party...Butlins cannot be expected to re paint them every week, that said, good hygiene should come as standard, irrespective of what you pay.

BUTLINS: In my opinion, you might be heading toward the fine line here...people are complaining about the same thing over and over, they are your bread and butter..if you continue to ignore the complaints or start treating your CUSTOMERS like mindless cattle who will pay up no matter what just because they are there then you will start losing business...

Room Tip: Keep a watchful eye the prices after you book, and take your own pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi S K

Thank you for leaving a review, and particularly for going into so much detail. The only way we can make sure we continue to delight our guests is to hear what they think, and we appreciate the time and effort you have gone to in giving us such specific feedback.

We will take all your comments and share them both with the resort directly and our Entertainments team, so that they can enjoy the positives and work to improve upon the areas where we seem to have fallen short.

The kind comments about our resort team are particularly welcome - they work hard to deliver the best experience possible, and it will be smashing for them to read what you have said.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break at Butlins, I wasn't expecting a five star resort but it was discusting! We arrived on the first evening to no electric and no running water throughout the site and were advised to return to our room, with a baby and a 2 year old unable to eat food, flush the toilet or wash their hands?! We left site to eat elsewhere after hearing three different stories from staff as to what the fault was, dining room staff were particularly rude and didn't seem to care. We were also informed at accommodation services that the whole town was 'off' which was in fact a massive lie! Our room was discusting, smelt of cigarette smoke and had burns in the carpet, front door didn't close unless you slammed it with some force, old style very small tv was black and white due to a fault, electric boxes were out of date and the mould in the very run down bathroom was just gross. This wasn't a cheap holiday but it was the worst place me and my husband have ever stayed. The only good point was the entertainment for the kids, my two year old enjoyed meeting the characters and the daytime shows but it didn't make up for the resort itself. NEVER ever a again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrandmrsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Mrandmrsob

Thank for taking the time to leave a detailed review, and naturally we're delighted to read your children enjoyed the shows and characters.

However, clearly other aspects of your break fell short of our own high standards, and we apologise for that. The power cut we experienced during your break was beyond our control and did affect other areas of the town as well as us - however, we regret that we did not manage the situation in a manner you were happy with.

If you would like to discuss the comments with regard to your accommodation with us further, please contact us at tripadvisor@Butlins.com.

We regret that your break with us did not match your expectations - we hope you will feel able to come back to us again in the future so that we can have the opportunity to put that right.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly I have stayed at this resort in the exact same room 2 years previously at the exact same week.
There was no real entertainment on. Your what's on guide used to be your bible and you needed that to get round from reds to centre stage back to pavilion. This holiday that was not necessary as there was nothing on, what was on was also repeated the day after,it was hours in a day that went by without entertainment. The room was thick in dust on the skirting boards. The tap in the bathroom was faulty and nearly came off in my hand. The bedding was ripped and holey.the wardrobe had no clothes hangers either. This was a reminder to me that there are other places to go on holiday. Butlins used to be a 10 but now they are a 3. Also skegness butlins is much nicer and cleaner than the minehead butlins.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anirtakremitrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Anirtakremitrom,

Thank you for your review, we’re sorry to hear your expectations were not met this year. We are constantly trying to maintain a high standard of service at all three of our resorts, and appreciate you letting us know about the issues you came across so we can make sure our standards stay as high as possible. If you would like to send us an email to tripadvisor@Butlins.com we would be more than happy to discuss this further. We will also pass on your comments regarding the lack of entertainment to our entertainment team.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
329 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
153 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead Resort

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing