We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80's weekend”
Review of Butlin's Minehead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“80's weekend”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Please note, this review is only for the 80's weekend 2014. Loved the all the acts although we all felt (10 of us) that the breaks in between each act was far too long. Main venue far too hot and smelt really bad, nearly every act mentioned the heat and we were sweating too with our 80's gear on. We wondered weather Butlins did this on purpose so we bought more drinks! We had a fantastic weekend spoilt by people partying in the chalets till 6-7 o'clock in the morning. Even playing football at 4 o'clock, it was wild, not aimed at the original 80's people, just stag and hen parties. No security at all. Screaming, singing, shouting, it was awful. Felt disappointed with Butlins for not doing security checks. We are not all boring people and love to have fun, but this was ridiculous and out of control. We especially loved Keith Harris (Amazing) Toyah and Dr and the Medics, but in future we would rather see them in a venue where we could get some sleep too. Would not return, purely because Butlins had no control over certain guests! We will stick to Party in the Park (Hyde Park) in future and other festivals.

Room Tip: Chalets don't come with towels, remember to take your own otherwise you have to reny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi PlymouthSmiler

Thank you for leaving an honest review, as it helps us to ensure we continue to meet expectations.

Naturally we regret reading the experiences you had with other guests in the early hours. If you did contact Resort Safety and the matter was not dealt with, we apologise. We always advise contacting the resort team as soon as you have cause to, as then they can rectify the situation as we want all our guests to have a great time.

We'd love you to give our weekend breaks another try, knowing that the team on resort are there to assist you, regardless of the time of day or night.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    1,107
    554
    262
    393
See reviews for
2,121
375
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Went to butlins for an adult weekend for a hen party, the theme was hot summer party. Had a very good time, amazing weather the service was excellent very helpful staff.. we had a deal with breakfast and evening meal which was definitely worth doing as it can work out expensive.. jumpin jacks is a really good club, good music. Had a walk down into minehead town which is a nice place arcades and most regular shops like boots, poundland, whsmith etc.. nice fish and chip shop called pips.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Rachel C

Thank you for leaving a review - we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend at our Minehead resort.

We are very pleased to read you felt the dining package offered good value.

We hope you'll be back soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Another great weekend at minehead.. we heard there were rules about how much drink to take and wat costumes werent allowed but saw none of that.. 8 of us stayed in s caravan on site was cramped but were only there to sleep really so we managed..was too hot in centre stage and no air con so didnt stay in there long.. the only downside was the amount of empty bottles cans and rubbish chucked everywhere even furniture from the chalets!!! Those responsible shouldn't be allowed back..overall a great weekend and going again!!

Room Tip: Caravans too small if groups of 6 or more so opt for chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jaeparmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi jaeparmai

We're glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us at our Minehead resort.

We'll pass on your comments regarding air conditioning, and like you we regret that not everyone uses the many litter bins provided.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for tots week with our 2 year old and stayed in a silver apartment. We also opted for the half board food deal too.
We loved it!
Ok, the shower in our room was a bit weak and we had to hold it up as the holder was broken but apart from that everything was good.
The apartment was everything we needed - basic but clean. We were hardly in there anyway there were so many activities to do
the food at the coast restaurant was tasty and plentiful with family favourites we devoured like roast beef, lasagne and fish n chips. There were so many options every evening it was hard to choose. The best bit was the staff in the restaurant. Nothing was too much bother for them they fetched our son bananas when he was being a fussy eater and had a childrens area where they could play read and colour uf they were bored.
The activities were fabulous. We were lucky to have good weather and had a great time in the outdoor water play area and little tykes road. There is an impressive indoor pool and a whole timetable for each day with shows staring character like bob the builder and thomas the tank engine as well as messy play art groups and gymnastics to name a few.
The tots week was non stop fun for our tot and seeing how happy and amazed he was made it worth every penny. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerrylovespicnmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi kerrylovespicnmix

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your break at our MInehead resort. we are so pleased your family enjoyed it.

It is lovely read that your two-year-old loved the Just For Tots break, and we are delighted you plan to return.

We look forward to welcoming you all again.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We decided to book a Butlins Minehead holiday as some friends had booked a Gold apt a few weeks before and enjoyed the week. We had some time booked off work so decided to book a quick week away.

We booked a silver bungalow as we thought this would be to an acceptable level as Gold was not available.....well we were greatly disappointed, this is not a bungalow it is a filthy chalet, stinking of cigarete smoke (we were travelling as a family with a six year old on a tots on toddlers break) The kitchen stank, all the windows were filthy, cobwebs behind the doors, lights not working, stains on the carpet and table and chairs marked and scratched. I believe I have some level of tolerance but this was not good.

Upon arrival you have to wait until 4pm to gain entry to the (chalet) however you have to try and find a trolley to take all your cases etc for us a 5- 10 min walk from the car park to the chalet.... This is not good and I have never had to do this before. If it wasn't for my mother in law joining us on holiday half way through the week we would of left. We decided to stay and bought air fresher and kept all the windows open when we were in the apt.
We didn't have the energy to complain as we were only there for 4 days and we couldn't be bothered to waste the rest of the day trying to move to another bungalow.

We had obviously booked following on from a stag and hen weekend (or similar) hence the smell of smoke. I don't think Butlins should be booking familes into such unacceptable rooms.

Butlins can't have a check list before arrival as all of the lights would of been working..... There are also long term uncleanliness issues due to the cobwebs beind the doors and dirty windows.

Walking around the site for the first time we noticed some areas quite run down, our first impressions were not good however our 6 year old was enjoying herself and that's all that matters really.

The entertaiment was great however all the bars shut early as it was a tots and toddlers week. Last orders at the Sun and Moon 22.15!!!!!, last orders in the centre stage 21.45!!!

As the week went on we just learned to accept the accomodation and laughed about smellyville.

Such a shame the accomodation was so bad and has put us off booking another Butins as my daughter really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Booking a Silver bungalow does not mean you get an acceptable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Kirsty C

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for being so honest. The feedback we get from our guests helps us to ensure we don't fall below the high standards we set ourselves.

We obviously regret the experiences you had with your accommodation, and we will share your comments with the resort team so that they can act upon them. We always encourage guests to raise these matters with the Guest Services team on resort - we appreciate your break time is precious, but it gives us the opportunity to put things right quickly for you.

We really hope you will want to return as we'd love the opportunity to delight you.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minehead hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stroud
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having stayed at Butlins 3 times before I decided to return again. Standard room with the dining package. Well what can I say..
Room was a disgrace. Broken cupboards, mattress that was completely sunken in the middle with springs digging in your back everywhere, a bed "frame" that looked like an elephant had jumped onto it causing it to sink in the middle, a filthy bathroom with paint all in the bath and a door that was so loose the wind and noise bellowed in! And what overpaid idiot designed the bathroom at the end? Adults have to sneak like snipers through the children's bedroom to use the toilet in the night???
And don't even get me started on the filthy changing rooms at the pool. Saved the best until last.... The "dining" package. Cheap poor quality awful food that left us with severe food poisoning!! With no reply or apology to my email.
Horrified to say the least. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russellfami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Russellfami

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and honest review.

Naturally we regret that we appear to have fallen below the high standards we set ourselves, and consequently failed to meet your expectations.

It would help us to be able to have a fuller discussion about your experiences. If you would be kind enough to email us at tripadvisor@Butlins.com with a brief reminder of what you have posted here, along with your name and booking reference, we would appreciate the chance to contact you about it.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend went to Minehead for our first holiday together. We stayed for 3 nights. We very much enjoyed the breakfast and dinner provided in the package we booked. Always plenty of seating and the eating area was kept very clean. A huge variety of food available at every sitting and a different variety every night. Lovely swimming pool with great facilities. We managed to see Stavros Flatley when we were there which was a great experience. Good variety of entertainment and shows. The huge let was our room. Although basic which we expected the cleanliness was disgraceful. We had a very big problem with wood lice which we eventually realized were coming in through the holes in the skirting boards. after requesting for the room to be cleaned again someone turned up 2 hours later only to pick up the dead ones. the next day when we realized they were still coming in we pulled everything out ourselves to discover that under the chest of draws was littered with rubbish and many dead wood lice. after requesting for the room again they did clean more thoroughly and put down bug repellent. even though it took a while to get this problem sorted was quite shocked that it was left like this in the first place. Apart from this problem we had a lovely holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi samantha b

Thank you for leaving a review, and we are glad to read you enjoyed the dining package and entertainment.

Naturally we are disappointed to read your accommodation experiences. We will share all your comments with the resort team so they can act upon them.

We hope we can welcome you again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 37 in Minehead
60 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#19 of 37 in Minehead
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rest and Be Thankful Inn
0.4 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead

Property: Butlin's Minehead
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing