We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,231)
Filter reviews
4,231 results
Traveller rating
1,462
1,290
663
337
479
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,462
1,290
663
337
479
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilver apartmentpremium diningred coatsyacht clubtotspizza hutskyline gangself cateringfood packagefood courtdining packageskyline pavilionswimming poolwave machinesplash waterworldlazy riverstandard apartment
Filter
Updating list...
2,632 - 2,637 of 4,231 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked this though The Sun holidays and upgraded the standard accommodation. We had a fantastic family break. It is tailored towards the little ones but also had enough to keep us adults happy. Our little boy loved the kids shows and the swimming pool. Great value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi DARB86

Many thanks for leaving a review, and for your kind comments.

We believe our breaks offer great value too, but it's so much better when a guest tells us!

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well organised, great staff…

On arrival we were directed to the check in area and told where we could park, we got checked in and were given directions to our accommodation, we needed to drive right round to the other side of the site and again, at the entry gate was another very helpful member of staff providing directions. Parking was limited, we had arrived around 4.30pm and we struggled to find a space so I’d definitely recommend arriving as close as possible to 2pm to ensure you get a parking spot near your digs for the week. There were trolleys (like the ones at airports) available which made life easier for getting everything to the bungalow. At check-in we ‘won’ the upgrade lottery and instead of the Silver Apartment we booked (can be up to 3 stories high) we ended up in a Silver Bungalow. With a 6 month old this was a really bonus as it meant no clambering up and down stairs with everything you need for a child of this age. The accommodation was basic, but clean and functional. The kitchen was big enough and served its purpose, we had decided to make use of the onsite restaurants rather than self-catering but if we had been cooking each day the kitchen had all of the basics that you needed. I’d advise taking a baking tray (if you think you’ll use it though) as we did not have one of these provided. The accommodation was well proportioned with plenty of space but I do have a couple of gripes about it. Firstly, the bed, this was very uncomfortable. The mattress had certainly seen better days and the extremely rigid metal frame did nothing to help it. Secondly, the bathroom, there was no bath (which we knew in advance) but the water pressure on the shower was horrendously low and seemed to have only 2 temperatures – scalding and freezing. You could actually spend 10 minutes just trying to get a bearable temperature. Aside from this I liked the accommodation, had a TV, albeit with a limited number of channels, 2 sofa’s and a dining table.

The site itself is quite large and if like us you are a fair way out from the centre you will have a good 10 minute walk to get to the Swimming Pool and the Skyline area. We enjoyed the pool as the little one loves a swim (well, at 6 months old more of a float around, but you get the point) and were pleased to find that on Tuesday and Thursday morning between 9 -10 they offered parent and toddler swim session. We went to this and the big advantage was no bigger kids splashing around. Only downside was this overlapped with his nap time. Not so much a problem for slightly older babies/toddlers that have moved on to one afternoon nap a day. The actual pool itself is split in to 3 areas, a baby/toddler area with very shallow pools, a main pool and the flume area. Temperature could be a bit warmer in the baby/toddler pool but was okay.

Restaurants – If you are planning to eat on site these are some of the places we visited:
- Yacht Club: All you can eat buffet, at £35 a head though felt it was overpriced for the quality of the food. They also had run out of a few things and it was only 6 o’clock when we got there!
- Firehouse Grill: We quite like this place, staff were excellent in helping us with the little one and the food was quite good. Excellent size portions as well and couldn’t eat all of it
- Pizza Hut and Burger King: Not a lot to add about these
- Soho Coffee: More of a snack bar, but great for breakfast of lunch. Did a good breakfast deal as well, 2 bacon sandwiches with coffee for about £6.
- Inn of the Green: Pretty sure it’s based on a Wetherspoons. Value for money, didn’t actually order food so can’t comment on the quality.
- Finnagans: Fish and Chip style restaurant, again, not much to add as it’s Fish and Chips.
There are a number of bars on top of this including a sports bar with bowling and pool that shows Skysports when there’s something decent on.

Entertainment: The main stage in the Skyline Dome has shows on throughout the day, our little one was to young to appreciate them but the staff were enthusiastic and seemed to really be enjoying themselves when performing. There’s also to evening venues, both could do with a little updating but the acts were pretty good. Everything from Tom Jones tribute act through to a stand comedian. When you arrived you’ll get a list of everything that’s on during your stay and I’d definitely recommend going through this in advance to work out which shows you want to see.

Couple of other bits, there’s sports for the kids including five-a-side football and basketball. Plenty of space to sit around outside and a hire shop for things like High Chairs.

I’ll finish by saying, we had a nice time visiting here but not sure we’d go back as we’ve done it now and feel a second visit wouldn’t really add anything. Definitely recommended to families with children between the ages of 2 – 10, you will definitely get the most out of it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucks_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Bucks_Martin

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed and constructive review. This sort of feedback really helps us.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your break with us, but we will also share your comments regarding your accommodation with the resort team so they can act upon them.

We continually develop and change what we offer, so we do hope you will return to stay with us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked at a last minute for a bargain price of £175 for 4 nights silver room, half board. This means I overlooked a few problems.

Water and electric were off when we arrived this meant that all public toilets quickly deteriorated into an horrendous state. There simply aren't enough toilets in the skyline for the number of people using it.

Watched ray lewis and he was amazing. However the smell in centre stage was disgusting. A cross between dirty toilets, b.o. and vomit!

The weather was great so my son enjoyed the out door pool and the beach.

Booked half board to eat in the coast restaurant, I have stayed at butlins over 10 times and have always had the food however this time it was foul and I had a refund.

In future I will always do this as we ate at Morrison's,va short walk out the gate, and after 4pm it was 2 meals and 2drinks for £9 AND kids eat free. So the 3 of us had our tea for £9. Bargain!

I must also add about the seagulls waking me at 5.30am every morning. I was shattered after 4 nights!

For the price I paid we had a very enjoyable time and I will go again.....just minus the food!

Room Tip: Silver rooms are mainly bungalows. Don't bother paying £15 extra
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank kezfiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi kezfiesta

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - guest feedback is really helpful to us.

We're sorry your dining package fell short of your expectations: we will share those comments with the team on resort.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My 2 year old absolutely loved it here. She is in love with Billy Bear and loved the tots disco and all the shows. She liked the funfair too and Splashworld was excellent. The beach was nice and big and not too busy great for building sandcastles. Stayed in a silver apartment bit dated and we had seagulls nesting on our roof which woke us most nights and early mornings. So exhausted by the end of the 4 nights. However for a break with young children. do not think you could get better, well unless you can afford Florida lol. Food on the resort was also better than expected always plenty of choice may of put on a few pounds. Staff were great as well. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eattravelandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi eattravelandbe

Thank you for your kind review - we don't blame your daughter, Billy Bear is very cuddly!

The team on resort will be delighted with your comments, and we are pleased to read you plan to come back.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Took myself my wife and 2 year old for a weeks holiday. And have to say we loved it. Shows on every night. Loads of places for food. Activities going on throughout the day. Price is not that bad for 4nights in our own apartment. Would reccomend going for a nice family trip which doesn't break the bank.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi andrew h

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review.

We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us in Minehead, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews