We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”
Review of Butlin's Minehead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked through the sun for weekend Fri 18th - Mon 21st. On arrival at lunch got told been upgraded to silver which nice bonus.

The apartments themselves look bit dated from the outside but once inside they are really nice and modern. Nice sized rooms and certainly lot better than expected. Just a warning on the doors, make sure you pull them right to and the shut properly. A few times we came back and then had to check a min or so later as hadn't shut. Also be aware that they are numerous same room numbers just in different letter blocks. We were N 104 and I nipped back one day to 104 and found the door open, thought been burgled but was another family in there, I had the wrong block, this was M 104. I just presumed there was only one 104 so just beware :-)

The actual site is fantastic, so much to do for the kids. Outside and inside fairground which all included in the price. The outdoor was better for our 6 year old and indoor better for the 3 year old but still both enjoyed both. Various outdoor play areas doted along and just little things like by the green some red coats getting various toys and sports out and just getting kids to join in and play. The inside pool is amazing, master blaster ride, couple flumes and space bowl ride. Lazy river plus 'normal' swimming area. Oh and smaller bit for smaller ones. There is also outside pool which is good, couple little slides.

We ate out few times, Firehouse grill was lovely, definitely recommend here. Went for Sunday lunch at the Sun and Inn which was nice enough. Pizza hut was nice food but not great service if honest, we asked to sit outside but kind felt left to it, no napkins or stuff for kids to play with where as people inside were. But this wouldn't put me off going back.

Entertainment was all included, went to few. Only point I would make is that the stage in the sky pavillion is bit high up for the little ones dancing around below. My daughter did some ballet dancing show and the people on stage were saying do it like this and as was high up she couldn't see (she is 3 so older kids would probably be ok)

Staff around the park were always polite and pleasant and seemed be lots of them.

I went with an open mind and totally exceeded my expectations, would definitely go back although Skegness is bit nearer to us (we tagged this onto a week at Woolacombe)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cook0891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Cook0891,

Great to hear you were very impressed with Butlins Minehead. We're pleased your children had lots to do and that you enjoyed the Firehouse restaurant. Thank you for your comments we will pass them onto resort for you.

We hope to see you again soon at Skegness!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    1,106
    553
    262
    391
See reviews for
2,114
374
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a half board stay in silver room with 2 adults and 2 children and after staying here before on a sun holiday we booked a full price holiday and looked forward to a great week. The circus and the entertainment was fantastic and the weather meant we could enjoy all the outdoor activities. We were dissapointed with the food court dining with the food being nothing special and poorly presented. The chair backs were sticky which caused concern. There was a couple of children we noticed being sick throughout our stay but nothing if concern and the procedures for cleaning this up very efficient.

On our 4th day my daughter was sick in the night and didn't quite make it to the toilet which we cleaned it up and she went back to bed. In the morning she wasn't great (probably lack of sleep) and we informed guest services of what happened so they could ensure room was cleaned properly when we left but were suprised to be told that we have to leave and they would refund the remainder of the holiday but they didn't have to. They quoted one of the terms and conditions which states 'contageous diseases - should butlins become aware, or have reasonable grounds for suspicion, that a guest has contracted a contageous disease that has the potential to infect a large number of people quickly, they and there party will be required to leave he resort...' they would not listen to any reasoning or the reason why I believed she was sick and that he must have contracted it there as not left site for 4 days. They would not get a gp involved either. We left the resort 3 days early and had to travel home much to the devestation of my children. Not a suprise that none of my family or myself has become sick and my daughter was well with 24 hours.

On complaining they offered me additional activity vouchers when I next had a holiday with them but don't think that will be happening anytime soon.

Make sure that you are aware of the consequences of a child or member of your party being sick and the asssumptions made by guest services regarding any sickness.

I am taking this further but thanks Butlins for ruining our holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you for your review. I have spoken with Correspondence and have been informed that they are currently dealing with this and will be in touch regarding this matter.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minehead hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We went to Butlins for a last minute weekend away. £98.00 for 2 people for 3 nights - we stayed in sliver accommodation (room only) we got what we paid for. No tv reception, cobwebs and in need of an update but it was fine for what we needed.

The resort was clean and tidy. The pool was fantastic but the chlorine was strong. There is no time limit and the rides are open at all times. The wave machine is great.

Evening entertainment could do with updating and the cost of items on the site was horrendous.

Fine for a cheap get away and great for kids.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kellynEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi KellynEmma,

Thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed Splash Waterworld. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us detailed feedback, we want to make sure our guests get the best out of their stay. We will pass on your comments regarding the accommodation and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Minehead last week (14th of July), we had the gold apartment and premium dining and everything as brilliant. The cleanliness of the apartment was fantastic on arrival and with daily housekeeping it stayed that way throughout the stay. The dining clubs were also very clean with many varieties of food which were both delicious and nutritious and something for everyone, even baby food is supplied!
The entire holiday was great as was the evening entertainment and we've booked already to go again next year. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Susan,

Great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at Butlins Minehead. We're so pleased you thought everything was brilliant, we can't wait to have you back next year!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

PLEASE BEWARE IF BOOKING SILVER SOME OF THE SILVER ACCOMMODATION HAS NO TV RECEPTION. We visited on a tots break, the silver bungalow had no tv reception apart from 1 channel. We texted regarding this, and also the fridge not working, got a text back saying all should now be fixed but went back to apartment and still not tv reception. My 2 year old watches CBeebies and has additional needs so really wanted that channel to work, asked at reception to be told NO RECEPTION FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS as they are still on analogue not digital. Was really cross as clearly sold as having tv - we got upgraded to gold which was lovely, very clean etc but up stairs which was really hard especially when it rained. Got £20 in vouchers (which did cover cost of upgrade to grown floor £15 fee) but was told we had a good deal getting gold and staff at reception were quite huffy when I complained about the stairs. We had a good hol after the first day but, unpacking, packing, moving and unpacking again was a very unpleasant start to our first family hol. I wrote to Butlins on my return, they accept signal not great but seem to be of the optional most people have no complaints and as they have so many guests cant please everyone! Would I go again? My 4 year old daughter is asking if we can and Butlins have said a manager would check our accommodation because of these problems but we would only book Gold which is very expensive as have no faith in Silver after our visit. Just wanted to warn anyone booking/looking to book Silver, don't want anyone else to have the probs we did and to be honest if no Gold upgrade has been available we would have been stuck with the situation. From Tuesday the hol was very good - but did hear of a lot of complaining from people in the standard/silver when chatting to other guests. We watched tv ourselves on the evening when kids were asleep and could borrow kids dvds in Gold - lovely hol but could have been awful if no upgrade available and I am not happy that Butlins seem unhappy to "own the problem" and get it sorted/clearly state on the website regarding the reception signal probs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Lucy,

Thank you for your detailed feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was.

We apologise that your first day did not live up to your expectations, we try our best to maintain a high standard of service and want to know when our guests feel this is not the case. We will make sure your comments are passed onto resort so we can continue to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests.

We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Family 4 night break at Butlins in a self-catering silver bungalow for 3 adults 2 children. We all had a great time, the bungalow was very clean as was the whole resort. The splash waterworld and fairground were fun for all of us. The evening entertainment was really good from the ragdolls-a jersey boys tribute, to the Viva produced Freddie and blues brothers shows. We purchased the b-line fast passes to ensure we were able to get good seats every time, they are worth the extra money if you don't like queueing and also get you into the pool before its official open time too. The circus there was amazing and so worth the 5 pounds admission. All staff were friendly and all in all we had a lovely holiday as we usually do. Don't go there expecting luxury you won't get it, go there to enjoy yourself that's the idea of Butlins! The only drawbacks were a lack of daytime entertainment for children over 9 and it seems as if they're trying to make you pay for the added extras. We've already booked to return in October!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprestodwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Aprestodwi,

We're pleased you had a great holiday, fantastic to hear you enjoyed the circus too! Thank you for your honest feedback, we will pass on your comments to resort regarding the daytime entertainment.

We can't wait to see you in October!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Being 1st timers at Butlins we were not sure what to expect.
We booked a "deal" through the Daily Mail offers.
We booked standard accommodation. This was "no frills" but perfectly suited our needs. It was basic but clean and had everything we needed. We had a couple of complaints with the accommodation and these were both dealt with fast and efficiently.
All staff on the site were very friendly and helpful.
We took our own food and cooked in the apartment but found that the pubs on site were not over priced
We had in our party 2 boys aged 11 and 13. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They liked the pool area better than Center Parcs and loved playing on the fair and the football pitches.
There is so much for all ages to do here I would definitely recommend it.
We will be returning but will go for a higher grade of accommodation to get more facilities.

Room Tip: Higher grades of accommodation have more facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummymoonmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Minehead, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Mummymoonmonkey,

Thanks for your lovely review, we're glad you had a great time with us and that your boys enjoyed Splash Waterworld!

We'd love to have you back again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 21 in Minehead
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 37 in Minehead
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead

Property: Butlin's Minehead
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing