We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on again!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Minehead Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spot on again!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

3rd visit in 12 months and we cannot fault it. As with any place like this they try to squeeze every last penny out of you whilst on resort - £5 for this ride £2.50 for that game, shops selling expensive teddy bears and tshirts etc etc but there is plenty of entertainment and age appropriate kids clubs activities to do that you do not need to shell out on the extras if you dont want to. You do not need a massive pot of spending money if you haven't got it.
The free entertainment programme and kids clubs are good standard. You could easily spend many hours in Splash Waterworld or the fairground (all included) if that is your thing. The resort is exceptionally clean. Drinks and food on site are expensive in comparison but no more so than anywhere else where you have a captive audience. Some of the accommodation is a fair wander from the main site and car parks so if you can afford to go for Gold standard as they are close to parking and the main site.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeaLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi LeaLad,

Wow, 3 visits in one year! Very impressive :). We're so pleased we got it spot on for you again. Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us your feedback.

We'd love for you to visit us again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    1,071
    535
    251
    373
See reviews for
2,036
362
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I recently visited Butlins, Minehead for the first time and have to say I was quite impressed. We had a two bedroomed silver apartment in Oyster Bay which was perfectly adequate for our needs. It was very clean, tidy and the beds were comfortable. Everything worked and I cannot really find any fault with it. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Overall the camp was great with plenty going on all the time. My only grumble is that the things that cost extra, for example, the bungee trampolines, are £5 for 5 minutes so the extras can ramp up the cost a bit. We tended to eat slightly later in the evenings, around 8pm, and got in all the restaurants with no queuing. It was what I would expect from a holiday camp holiday and would recommend.

Room Tip: If you want standard accommodation then a silver apartment is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Sandie67,

Thanks for letting us know how impressed you were with Butlins Minehead and that our team had a great impact on your stay. We do charge slightly extra for some of our activities as they require specialist equipment for safety.

We'd loved to have you back again for a second visit!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

So, Butlins Minehead is a place I've gone too with my family ever since I was a little kid, I think I was around 4 or 5 the first time I went and we went back every year, and I absolutely loved it as a kid, but that's all it's good for, kids. Adults and teenagers are incredibly bored 95% of the time at the resort. Years of going there and can also say service is average at best, often lackluster, and cleanliness is often poor, a few times we arrived to find we had to call to get them to bring new sheets, duvets, etc. to our bedrooms due to the ones that they left in there having stains. My latest visit was Oct. 2013, and now, there really is nothing to do there as an adult. As a kid you have all these fun rides, as you grow up, you're not allowed on some of them and it wouldn't matter if you were because they're all far too meh, the only good part about the area is the very close by beach and a few good restaurants which aren't a far walk from the resort, a few fast food places inside the skyline as well as arcades can provide some entertainment for adults too. Overall I'd recommend this place to families with small children and possible early teenagers who will enjoy the rides, so long as adults accept that it will for them most likely be a snooze-fest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you've been to Butlins many times, from a young child to an adult. We're sorry to read that you have been disappointed with some of your recent visits. We will of course make sure resort are made aware of your comments regarding cleanliness and and service. This is not something we would want our guests to experience.

We try to provide as much as we can for all ages on resort, with shows for adults such as Freddie and our tribute acts as well as Splash Waterworld, although we do understand that the entertainment we provide may not be to everyone's taste.

We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minehead hotels

Bude, Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The good things...
1. Service. Any problem is sorted quickly; friend had smelly pillows they were changed immediately.
2. Rooms are clean, mine had been refurbished, friend's hadn't but still clean.
3. Food is plentiful (though a bit like school dinners in the food court) however the children had plenty to choose from and you can eat as much as you like (and some people appear to!) a bit of a lack of veggie options but you don't come to Butlins for a gourmet experience.
4. Entertainment is great. The evening shows are of a high standard. We loved African Fusion and the wrestling. The circus was extra but the motorbike act was worth the £5 each alone. The tribute acts, though cheesy, are very good.
5. Water world is excellent. Lots of lifeguards. Flumes and a river plus an ordinary pool, an easy 2 hours keeping the kids, and adults, entertained.

The bad things....
1. It was terribly crowded, almost impossible to get a table at night unless you turned up over an hour early. (It is the summer holidays so we did expect it to be busy though.)
2. Gambling machines are EVERYWHERE! I suspect Butlins are singularly responsible for an epidemic in gambling addicts when these kids are older. There's no escape from them, apart from in water world! There's even a betting shop on site.
3. Lack of parking and trollies to ferry your luggage to your apartment.
4. Some of the clientele do not know how to behave in public, e.g. Noise late at night and children running around restaurants etc (not Butlins fault but be prepared to get mildly irritated.)

In general we had a fantastic time, we brought 4 children aged between 10-13, it's geared up for kids and is worth the money we paid for our 4 day break if you take advantage of all the 'free' activities on offer. There are however lots of 'extras' e.g go karting, lazer shooting etc so you will need a lot of spending money! I would return but perhaps at a quieter time (if you can get away with taking your children out of school!)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mundaycaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Mundaycaf,

Thanks for the great comments, we love that you had an action packed break. We're pleased you had a great experience with our team on resort and that they were able to deal with any issues quickly for you. Fantastic to read that you and your family had a good time at Splash Waterworld and enjoyed the shows we put on.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your break. Due to it being the summer holidays, resort can get busy at times. We do try our best to provide lots of shows and activities throughout the day so that our guests have lots of options if a show is full or busy. We will make sure your comments are passed onto resort so that we can learn more about what our guests would like from their stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at butlins minehead from Aug 1st -8th. Thought it was great, food was brilliant and accommodation nice, however we parked near the building site. We stopped at the m5 services about an hr and half away on the way home where I noticed lots of black dots all over my car. I knew these wasn't there b4 we arrived as I only had the car 3 weeks and had it cleaned the day before we arrived. It looked like paint or something. I tried to get it off but it had dried. As soon as I arrived home I rang butlins and explained and was told the duty manager would call me back, I received no call so the next day I rang again and still no call.Nearly a week and nothing . I had to have the car valeted to remove these marks. Very disappointed nobody bothered to return my call. We was considering returning next year but this has changed our mind. If you do go to minehead don't park near the building site and don't expect a call if you complain. There quick enough to take you're money but ignore you once they have!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Dave,

Thank you for your review. We have been informed by resort that this has now been dealt with by a member of team. We are sorry to hear that this happened to your car and hope that you will visit Butlins again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very pleasant staff always ready to help and always someone around to help accommodation wass very clean and tidy. Seagulls are noisy but unfortunately until people learn to stop feeding them they won't go away.entertainment was excellent as always in the evenings and during the day we ate the fire house grill and the food was lovely. The food in the sun and moon pub is excellent

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Mummy2000,

Fantastic to hear you had an excellent holiday with us at Butlins Minehead. We're pleased you enjoyed the entertainment we put on and the food at the Firehouse Grill. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We'd love to have you back again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend with teenage daughter. Double bed wasn't made up no sheet & quilt cover quilt had holes and hair matted into it. Paid extra for food wish we didn't wasn't nice at all been coming here for years and always come here for food but this was a big let down 2nd day paid extra for upgrade breakfast that was even worse than the budget cafeteria. When commented about this as feedback I didn't get any response back from customer service.
However evening entertainment was out if this world. Circus De hilarious, Scotty Miller Freddie badness they all made up for the otherwise poor performance from butlins itself.
Would I go back? Yes!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addeedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlins Minehead Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi Addeedd,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Fantastic to hear that you really loved the entertainment we put on, thank you for such nice comments.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your break. Please let guest services on resort know if there is an issue with your accommodation as they would be more than happy to resolve this for you. We will pass your feedback regarding the dining onto resort for you, again we would of loved to have the opportunity to resolve this on resort.

We hope you will come back and visit again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.6 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#21 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 20 in Minehead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Minehead Resort

Property: Butlins Minehead Resort
Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing