We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant as per usual!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Minehead Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with family this time was great for kids plenty to do. Apartment spotless and huge, mum recently hurt her leg so we asked to change to an apartment nearer the arena, we had to pay £15 but that was okay as we were closer and the apartment was easy for my mum to get around with her leg.
Comfy beds.
Normally I go on the adult weekends and they are brilliant such a laugh. Great entertainment!

Only criticism is everything is so expensive. Nearly £8 for fish and chips, £4-5 for an alcoholic drink, rides are expensive etc.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank GreatBristolFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2014

Hi Welovesolymar,

We're glad you had a brilliant time as per usual! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope your mum is okay, glad we could help out by moving you to another apartment. We will pass on your comments regarding the price of rides, food and drink to the resort for you.

We would love for you to come back again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,097 - 2,103 of 3,773 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Ideal apartments which are home from home
Friendly staff throughout the resort with plenty of free shows and activities to do lasting all day long
Restaurants and bars serving well priced food and drink with a 20% discount over the resort for people staying at blueskies

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Catherine,

We're pleased to read that you found our Blueskies Apartments fantastic and a home away from home. Thank you for your kind feedback we love to hear about our guests stay and it sounds like you had a really good time at Butlins Minehead.

Come back and visit us again soon!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Giod family holiday. Butlins is......well........It's Butlins. If you're expecting 5 star hotel service then you shouldn't be looking at Butlins. Kids love it and the beer's not that over priced either. All in all win win

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Colin,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you had a good family holiday and that your children love it at Butlins.

We hope to see you soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

3rd visit in 12 months and we cannot fault it. As with any place like this they try to squeeze every last penny out of you whilst on resort - £5 for this ride £2.50 for that game, shops selling expensive teddy bears and tshirts etc etc but there is plenty of entertainment and age appropriate kids clubs activities to do that you do not need to shell out on the extras if you dont want to. You do not need a massive pot of spending money if you haven't got it.
The free entertainment programme and kids clubs are good standard. You could easily spend many hours in Splash Waterworld or the fairground (all included) if that is your thing. The resort is exceptionally clean. Drinks and food on site are expensive in comparison but no more so than anywhere else where you have a captive audience. Some of the accommodation is a fair wander from the main site and car parks so if you can afford to go for Gold standard as they are close to parking and the main site.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank LeaLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi LeaLad,

Wow, 3 visits in one year! Very impressive :). We're so pleased we got it spot on for you again. Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us your feedback.

We'd love for you to visit us again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I recently visited Butlins, Minehead for the first time and have to say I was quite impressed. We had a two bedroomed silver apartment in Oyster Bay which was perfectly adequate for our needs. It was very clean, tidy and the beds were comfortable. Everything worked and I cannot really find any fault with it. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Overall the camp was great with plenty going on all the time. My only grumble is that the things that cost extra, for example, the bungee trampolines, are £5 for 5 minutes so the extras can ramp up the cost a bit. We tended to eat slightly later in the evenings, around 8pm, and got in all the restaurants with no queuing. It was what I would expect from a holiday camp holiday and would recommend.

Room Tip: If you want standard accommodation then a silver apartment is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Sandie67,

Thanks for letting us know how impressed you were with Butlins Minehead and that our team had a great impact on your stay. We do charge slightly extra for some of our activities as they require specialist equipment for safety.

We'd loved to have you back again for a second visit!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

So, Butlins Minehead is a place I've gone too with my family ever since I was a little kid, I think I was around 4 or 5 the first time I went and we went back every year, and I absolutely loved it as a kid, but that's all it's good for, kids. Adults and teenagers are incredibly bored 95% of the time at the resort. Years of going there and can also say service is average at best, often lackluster, and cleanliness is often poor, a few times we arrived to find we had to call to get them to bring new sheets, duvets, etc. to our bedrooms due to the ones that they left in there having stains. My latest visit was Oct. 2013, and now, there really is nothing to do there as an adult. As a kid you have all these fun rides, as you grow up, you're not allowed on some of them and it wouldn't matter if you were because they're all far too meh, the only good part about the area is the very close by beach and a few good restaurants which aren't a far walk from the resort, a few fast food places inside the skyline as well as arcades can provide some entertainment for adults too. Overall I'd recommend this place to families with small children and possible early teenagers who will enjoy the rides, so long as adults accept that it will for them most likely be a snooze-fest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you've been to Butlins many times, from a young child to an adult. We're sorry to read that you have been disappointed with some of your recent visits. We will of course make sure resort are made aware of your comments regarding cleanliness and and service. This is not something we would want our guests to experience.

We try to provide as much as we can for all ages on resort, with shows for adults such as Freddie and our tribute acts as well as Splash Waterworld, although we do understand that the entertainment we provide may not be to everyone's taste.

We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The good things...
1. Service. Any problem is sorted quickly; friend had smelly pillows they were changed immediately.
2. Rooms are clean, mine had been refurbished, friend's hadn't but still clean.
3. Food is plentiful (though a bit like school dinners in the food court) however the children had plenty to choose from and you can eat as much as you like (and some people appear to!) a bit of a lack of veggie options but you don't come to Butlins for a gourmet experience.
4. Entertainment is great. The evening shows are of a high standard. We loved African Fusion and the wrestling. The circus was extra but the motorbike act was worth the £5 each alone. The tribute acts, though cheesy, are very good.
5. Water world is excellent. Lots of lifeguards. Flumes and a river plus an ordinary pool, an easy 2 hours keeping the kids, and adults, entertained.

The bad things....
1. It was terribly crowded, almost impossible to get a table at night unless you turned up over an hour early. (It is the summer holidays so we did expect it to be busy though.)
2. Gambling machines are EVERYWHERE! I suspect Butlins are singularly responsible for an epidemic in gambling addicts when these kids are older. There's no escape from them, apart from in water world! There's even a betting shop on site.
3. Lack of parking and trollies to ferry your luggage to your apartment.
4. Some of the clientele do not know how to behave in public, e.g. Noise late at night and children running around restaurants etc (not Butlins fault but be prepared to get mildly irritated.)

In general we had a fantastic time, we brought 4 children aged between 10-13, it's geared up for kids and is worth the money we paid for our 4 day break if you take advantage of all the 'free' activities on offer. There are however lots of 'extras' e.g go karting, lazer shooting etc so you will need a lot of spending money! I would return but perhaps at a quieter time (if you can get away with taking your children out of school!)

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank mundaycaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Minehead Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Mundaycaf,

Thanks for the great comments, we love that you had an action packed break. We're pleased you had a great experience with our team on resort and that they were able to deal with any issues quickly for you. Fantastic to read that you and your family had a good time at Splash Waterworld and enjoyed the shows we put on.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your break. Due to it being the summer holidays, resort can get busy at times. We do try our best to provide lots of shows and activities throughout the day so that our guests have lots of options if a show is full or busy. We will make sure your comments are passed onto resort so that we can learn more about what our guests would like from their stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
276 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#12 of 36 in Minehead
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 36 in Minehead
64 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 21 in Minehead
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alcombe House Hotel
Alcombe House Hotel
#6 of 36 in Minehead
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Minehead Resort

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing