We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JD Wetherspoon's at it's best.”

Duke of Wellington Hotel
Ranked #23 of 97 Restaurants in Minehead
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A pub, Restaurant and Hotel with 24 Hour Reception, serving Breakfast from 7am until Midday and our Full Menu from 7am until 11pm. We have a huge Variety so there's something for everybody to enjoy. We have a range of Meal Clubs throughout the week, all Clubs are served with a free drink. Monday Club, Steak Club Tuesday, Chicken Club Wednesday, Curry Club Thursday, Fish & Chip Friday.
Reviewed 13 June 2014

You know what to expect with this chain; casual dining and reasonably priced food. You get this here and prompt service too, which is not always the case in these pubs. But, pints were presented needing a top up, which was gladly given, but I shouldn't have had to ask and it was a quiet period, so no excuse in my opinion.

Thank JohnanChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at Duke of Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear JohnanChris,

We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Duke of Wellington and were pleased with the prompt service you received.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I found this pub/restaurant in severe need for a new manager and seating upgrades.
The staff although pleasant when serving seem to disappear frequently, and seem to have no idea of who's next in line. It's seems that this place needs a really good manager to sort it out. The side seating really needs reupholstering it makes you think twice about sitting on it.
The problem seems to be managerial and the fact there is little competition in Minehead
I quite like Wetherspoons as it caters very well for good cheap food and drink and in the main it accomplishes this, but really this pub needs attention
Also the outdoor seating is on a slope - not very comfortable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at Duke of Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Dave P,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here at The Duke of Wellington and felt that the staff were poor due to disappearing.

This has been noted and passed onto the manager.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel offers good value food/drink and accommodation at a reasonable price. The staff here were very pleasant and helpful, a real asset to any hotel!. Our stay was spoiled by the large number of rowdy hen and stag parties from Butlins who descend on the bar and restaurant on the adult weekends. My advice before visiting Minehead is to check if Butlins have an adults only music weekend, and if so stay away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lugabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at Duke of Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Lugabugs,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for compliment i have passed this onto the other members of staff.

Unfortunately on adult weekends at Butlins we do tend to have big groups of Hen & Stag parties come to the pub.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As we had been to a couple of Wetherspoons already we went to this one with high expectations. The hotel is very nicely decorated and comfortable seating. I was disappointed to see that the menu pricing was the highest of any of the Wetherspoons that we had been in (some menu items were almost double) Luckily there was a special that day of a beef or pork sandwich for £3.50.

Thank ileea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at Duke of Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Ileea,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Duke of Wellington.

Unfortunately the pricing depends on each area and we do have specials on daily.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went into the Wellington for Dinner with the family and we were pleasantly surprised the staff were friendly and helpful and the young manager was very competent they even apologised for their ice machine been broken.

But the biggest surprise was the food it was excellent so much that we went back two consecutive days, been to many Spoons but this is one of the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at Duke of Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear John F,

We are glad that you enjoyed your times here at The Duke of Wellington and look forward to your return.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Wellington Hotel also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to Duke of Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing