We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location”

Apple Tree Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Apple Tree Tearooms is to be found half way up the tree-lined avenue in Minehead. Serving a healthy cooked breakfast, soups, jacket potatoes, toasties, sandwiches and baguettes and salads and Ploughmans. Luscious home-made cream teas, cakes, cookies and slices make this venue a mecca for visitors and locals alike. Boasting a colourful interior and equally delightful al fresco tea garden, this café is ideally suited to families with young children, as children's books, toys and treasure hunts are provided. There is good disabled access and facilities. Oh, and dogs are also most welcome -they are offered dog blankets, treats and water bowls (as long as they are owners are well-behaved).
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Go round the back into their 'tea garden' & it's a gorgeous location away from the high street. Slightly slow service if they're busy but this is not a minus, hey, they're busy which is always a good sign.
Beautiful home-made food in lovely surroundings, what else can you ask for, just try it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank harleyscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    47
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I visit here whenever I go to Minehead. There is a lovely garden and I sat in the shade as it was so hot. I had a cream tea one day which was gorgeous and apple cake the next day - equally yummy. The staff are all friendly and welcoming. Love it - thanks

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank why111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
What a lovely review. We are so pleased we hit the spot for you – twice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Cream Tea Ever, Uneven Service”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The couple beside us left because they ordered before us, but our food arrived first. We would not have left had the situation been reversed.

Having said that, our service was excellent and this was the best cream tea we have ever had. I unreservedly recommend this restaurant and would return!

As an aside and for people not from Britain, seek out the Rodda's clotted cream, when in Britain. It is served here. Beats creme fraiche, who would have thought!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randomtraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. As mentioned elsewhere, our service depends on what has been ordered. If a small, simple order can be served we will endeavour to do that while the preparation/cooking of a more complex requirement is undertaken. We record times when orders are placed and monitor the wait required. If we are running seriously behind we will offer complementary drinks while we work hard to catch up. We are perhaps a victim of our own success since people seem to like the bespoke service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Even though this tea rooms are on the main road in Minehead it is really nice.
We had lattas and a sandwich of egg may and bacon with crisps (a bit of salad would be good) it was all
very nice. It was all served with politeness and care. Seating outside was comfortable as well.
The cream teas looked very nice they seemed to have plenty of jam and cream.
Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We have toyed with crisps, then salad, then back to crisps when it comes to sandwich/baguette accompaniments. Different people seem to like different things. Toasties are served with coleslaw and the new autumn menu will have some more offerings which we hope will meet with approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lassay-les-Chateaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Cream tea”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

It is the best cream tea I have had in many years. The service was impeccable: friendly and warm. The surroundings are most welcoming; especially sitting in the garden which is beautifully set up. A special thank you to Naomi for making our visit memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roger r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple Tree Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to Apple Tree Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing