We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightfully relaxing atmosphere”

Apple Tree Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Apple Tree Tearooms is to be found half way up the tree-lined avenue in Minehead. Serving a healthy cooked breakfast, soups, jacket potatoes, toasties, sandwiches and baguettes and salads and Ploughmans. Luscious home-made cream teas, cakes, cookies and slices make this venue a mecca for visitors and locals alike. Boasting a colourful interior and equally delightful al fresco tea garden, this café is ideally suited to families with young children, as children's books, toys and treasure hunts are provided. There is good disabled access and facilities. Oh, and dogs are also most welcome -they are offered dog blankets, treats and water bowls (as long as they are owners are well-behaved).
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a delightfully relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Possibly my favorite cafe in MInehead!

Delicious home baked cakes and mouthwatering cream teas with a choice of succulent Strawberry, ravishing Raspberry or wonderful Whortleberry and if you cant decide... then you'll have to try all three!

This is a lovely place to sit and relax and with the hidden secluded garden through the back you are sure to find some peace and quite.

Prices are great too! All I need now is a day to spend there with a good book and a coffee!

They do cooked food too... another reason for me to keep going back o try more of their yummy menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uniqueclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
WOW! What a wonderful review! We can never say it enough but ‘Thank You’. As mentioned in other replies we do try to give the best possible service we can and hit all the right spots. When you return bring that book and we’ll reserve you a special place to hunker down and get reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    43
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing, very good food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This little cafe has recently been taken over from Anita and Jim who were the previous owners. I preferred the previous decor, that was bright, clean, fresh and delightful.
We also miss Jim's pleasant and friendly banter.
The new owners work very hard to serve customers promptly and Naomi works extremely hard to clear the tables and serve the customers, she is also very polite.
The food is delicious and the cakes are very moreish.
I don't like the new decor, it's dated, cluttered and old fashioned, just like sitting in a second hand shop; not what I want to sit amongst whilst eating.
There is also less room for people with a disability; this is not acceptable.
However there is plenty of space at the tables to the front of the cafe and tables in the garden to the rear.
Outside looks fresh, pleasant and welcoming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happytimes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your considered review. Well, it just goes to show you can’t please all the people all the time. The vast majority of visitors have been very enthusiastic about the changes made, and we haven’t finished yet! We strive to make the interior as disabled-friendly as possible even moving furniture to accommodate motorized wheelchairs when required (as we did only this last week). The style term we prefer to coin is “vintage” rather than “old fashioned” but there you go. In fact Anita so liked the changes we made she wanted to know where we got the comfy chairs from!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Helpful”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Lovely tea rooms. Everything was very well presented. The food was lovely and a lot of it homemade. Very nice and helpful staff.
Was so impressed our party of 6 returned the following day.
Lovely place for a light snack ot tea and cakes. Thanks

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Great to know the cappuccino was to your partner’s taste. We once saw on a billboard the statement – “life is too short for bad coffee”. We totally agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice tea room”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

had lunch here on Sat 28th Sept 2013. Friendly staff. Excellent sandwiches, good cup of tea, my partner had a cappuccino which she described as excellent. Would definitely visit again if in Minehead. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Great to know the cappuccino was to your partner’s taste. We once saw on a billboard the statement – “life is too short for bad coffee”. We totally agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely tea room and amazing cheese scone!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We visited this tea room on a dull rainy wet day and had the most delicious cheese scone on recommendation after seeing that on here!! They were to die for!! Really scrummy. A must.
The tea room it's self is really lovely old music playing in the back ground. They also welcome dogs which is good.
I do however think it could be amazing with just a few tweeks. They Should get beautiful vintage table clothes on the tables with fresh flowers and vintage tea cups then this would be a real find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GemmaLewis1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple_on_the_Avenue, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. Another first class recommendation! We’d love to do vintage table clothes and china but for a busy tea room neither is practical. Vintage linen can’t stand being washed too much and vintage china has to washed by hand … something we can’t do in our tiny kitchen. However, we do offer private vintage china hire so not all is lost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple Tree Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to Apple Tree Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing