We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tea Room”

Apple Tree Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Apple Tree Tearooms is to be found half way up the tree-lined avenue in Minehead. Serving a healthy cooked breakfast, soups, jacket potatoes, toasties, sandwiches and baguettes and salads and Ploughmans. Luscious home-made cream teas, cakes, cookies and slices make this venue a mecca for visitors and locals alike. Boasting a colourful interior and equally delightful al fresco tea garden, this café is ideally suited to families with young children, as children's books, toys and treasure hunts are provided. There is good disabled access and facilities. Oh, and dogs are also most welcome -they are offered dog blankets, treats and water bowls (as long as they are owners are well-behaved).
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Having arrived on the West Somerset Steam Railway we went for a wander in Minehead stopping here for lunch. What a lovely place! Filled with photos, prints, old books, comfortable chairs etc to make an enjoyable visit. Our food order was taken swiftly with the food freshly prepared. Mine was a bacon salad etc baguette which arrived with freshly cooked bacon. Lovely!

The only let down was the inability to pay with a payment card as I carry very little cash. Hopefully they will sort this out for other guests soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi39439, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are always delighted to welcome West Somerset Railway visitors. I live in the Quantocks, at the other end of the WSR line, so know what a beautiful journey it is. Glad you found us at the Minehead end, and that you enjoyed your visit with us.

The Apple Tree is a cash-only-payment establishment for now, but I am looking into card-payment systems for the near future. Please bear with me in the meantime, and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 437 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Although we often stay on Exmoor we usually avoid Minehead as it's too seasidey & tacky but our daughter was desperate to go shopping, so off we went! The weather was awful so eating in was the only option & we just happened to spot the Apple Tree Tearooms. The service was excellent & the food was lovely. A little oasis away from the usual grotty seaside cafes & pubs. We'll be sure to call in again on our next visit & hopefully the weather will be kind enough to allow to try the garden.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Moldywarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi39439, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

As you found, the Apple Tree is one of the pleasant surprises in Minehead! Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and I do hope the weather will be kinder on your next visit so that you can enjoy our beautiful floral tea garden. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Took some family to the Apple Tree yesterday, 29 June 2014 for cream teas, to help celebrate an 80th Birthday. The service and fare were wonderful, the lovely weather meant we were able to sit in the garden at the rear of the tea rooms. The owner and her staff were very attentive.

Couldn't be better. FIVE STARS.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi39439, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Roy. Thank you for your review – I remember your visit very well, it was the highlight of our day, (and you had even booked in advance). Thankfully the weather was glorious, so I reserved you tables in the garden. It was a special occasion and you brought a lovely atmosphere with you. When I brought out scones lit with candles for the Birthday Lady and you all spontaneously burst into song with "Happy Birthday", she was visibly moved. It was so delightful, and the Apple Tree is really happy to play its part in such a happy occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just completed a walk round Minehead and fancied a light snack for lunch.Looked in the Apple and appeared to be a friendly establishment.Sat in the rear garden and ordered two cheese and onion bagettes.Food was excellent and the bagettes were so large one between us would have done.
Would definately revisit if in the area.

John & Sue
Torquay

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suej0hnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi39439, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

As the "gateway to Exmoor" Minehead is a haven for walkers and cyclists, either at the start or end of their journey. Glad we were able to recharge your batteries! Please do come again if you return to Minehead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My sister and I stopped at Minehead to take bag a belt and buckle that had previously been purchased and had no intention of stopping for something to eat until we came across the Apple Tee Rooms. We were welcomed in with our two dogs who were given treats each and a fresh water bowl whilst we enjoyed a fabulous cream tea. Thank you for finishing off a wonderful week's holiday and interrupting our long journey home xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi39439, Owner at Apple Tree Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Angie, sister and two dogs. We're delighted that you came across us! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in the West Country, and that we were able to round things off well for you before your journey home. Do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple Tree Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Apple Tree Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing