We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tranquil Spot”
Review of Kitnors Tea Room

Kitnors Tea Room
Ranked #13 of 97 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Tearooms and beautiful sheltered tea garden full of flowers and shrubs, a real sun trap. The food is delicious with some really unusual specials, such as savoury cream tea with cheese scones and local chutney, mediterranean sandwiches with cheese,rocket and pesto and apple strudel is also available. Lots of birds frequent the garden in search of crumbs.

Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you liked the garden and the menu. The birds are very friendly and quite plump and partial to strawberry jam!! Hope to see you at Kitnors again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent tea and cake on a sunny day!

Lovely gardens with the scent of spring flowers made the perfect setting for our visit to Kitnors.

Just be careful driving to bossington, as the roads are particularly narrow. Parking just across the road, a quiet area, plenty of walking nearby.

Recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Very pleased that you enjoyed a sunny afternoon here, my partner grows most of the flowers for the garden and all of our salad produce during the summer. Thank you also for mentioning the road as it can be hazardous, especially with the free range chickens ,children and dogs and the occasional llama from the Hawk and Owl Centre just up the road. Hope you will visit us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Visited Kitnors where we have been many times before, but not with the new owners.
Lovely tea garden with the addition of an indoor tea room for when the weather is inclement. A much improved addition. We had lemon curd sponge and a cream tea. Absolutely spot on. The homemade lemon curd sponge was the best my mother and husband had ever tasted. The prices are reasonable, service very friendly and relaxed. A delight. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeidisGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. The lemon cake is very popular in the summer and made by my partner. Glad you like our new addition although it won't be up all the time, it will be good for customers with dogs when it rains and for parties who want to sit together. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We just love this delightful spot . Is it always nice weather ? ! We had a great cream tea , plenty of extra hot water . Just what we needed whilst walking the South West Coast Path . Thank you very much !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We do think that we have our own weather here and have nicknamed it Planet Kitnors. Customers say it is raining in Porlock or foggy in Minehead and we have warmth and sun in the garden! We are very pleased that you love our tea garden, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Apart from a troublesome blackbird that was trying to nick my lunch this was heaven! We had been walking for nearly 4 hours and were in serious need of refreshemnt and it doesn't come much better than this. Highly recommend the Ploughmans lunch and if the weather is good eat it in the lovely garden

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Kitnors and thank you for your very complimentary review. The blackbird you encountered, (Mrs Hector) is feeding young at the moment and can be very testing!! Thankfully when the young have fledged the birds stop being so greedy! Last year it was a Robin but she appears to have seen him off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitnors Tea Room also viewed

 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Kitnors Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing