We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitnors Tea Room

Kitnors Tea Room
Ranked #3 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Good quality cream tea in delightful surroundings.
Beautiful peaceful garden. Attentive friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    28
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We visited on a lovely warm day at the end of June and sat in the garden enjoying the flowers and birdlife. The food is excellent and well presented. This is an idyllic tranquil spot away from the usual hustle and bustle of life and a great place to have a relaxing lunch. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review! You have described exactly the atmosphere that we are trying to create, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shame about the delay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Kitnors has one of the best tea room gardens we have visited and is very local to us. Unfortunately when visiting on the 31st May 2013 there was over half an hour delay from the time tea was served before the scones and sandwiches arrived.

It wasn't until our daughter went in to pay and ask why the food didn't arrive that she was told it was just coming.

Lovely tea, lovely setting, pity about the delay. But we will probably visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bletchleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Everything at Kitnors is freshly prepared and made to order, we strive to serve customers, in sequence, as quickly as possible, providing drinks straight away, followed by food orders as soon we can. On busy days this can take longer and we hope that customers will relax, enjoy the sunshine, garden and the birds, whilst waiting for their food, as we suggest in our menu, although we understand that not everyone has the time available. We hope that you will visit us again and that you have a more enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a proper tea room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We found this lovely place at the end of a very cold mornings walk. We sat on the sofa by the fire and enjoyed the savoury cream tea and a warm-from-the-oven squidgy apple cake. Spot on for walkers, but worth a detour if you're not!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
It's lovely by the fire when you have been out in the cold, many of our walking customers come in to dry off and boots, hats and scarves are laid around the fire!! The apple cake is best straight out of the oven, so you timed your visit perfectly! Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lovely Tranquil Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Tearooms and beautiful sheltered tea garden full of flowers and shrubs, a real sun trap. The food is delicious with some really unusual specials, such as savoury cream tea with cheese scones and local chutney, mediterranean sandwiches with cheese,rocket and pesto and apple strudel is also available. Lots of birds frequent the garden in search of crumbs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are very pleased that you liked the garden and the menu. The birds are very friendly and quite plump and partial to strawberry jam!! Hope to see you at Kitnors again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitnors Tea Room also viewed

 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Kitnors Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing