We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chocolate Box England at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kitnors Tea Room

Kitnors Tea Room
Ranked #3 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chocolate Box England at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just had a fantastic holiday in Somerset - and although it was difficult to find local products in this County, Kitnors Tea Room took home made to a new high. Fantastic setting, wonderful staff and very good value for money. We had to go back on our last day so we left on a high. Definitely worth a visit, add a walk along one of the many paths and finish off with a cream tea so you don't feel so guilty. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkPersad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We try and make as much as possible ourselves including growing our produce, which has been challenging this year with the lovely weather! It is really great when our efforts are appreciated. Hope to see you again Angie, Cam and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    28
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of This World”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I do not know where to start this tea garden was peaceful comfotable and friendly and the garden was a blaze of colour.It was like going back in time They even had big umbrellas in the garden for shade from the sun or rain.They had a wide Selection on the menu and on the tables they had a printed flyers about Bossington and Kitnors .The sevice was good and the people working there were willing to answer any questions you had about the areaThe prices were not to bad for what was avaliable.We found this after getting lost and have to go a long way round to the Hawk centre as a horse box had broken down and was blocking the road

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westyorksbigun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Very pleased that you enjoyed our homegrown/ homemade products, we look forward to seeing you again. Angie, Cam and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
452 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Cream Tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Excellent tea room, sat outside in the picturesque garden on a sunny day. Highly recommend the cream tea. Very efficient service with a smile. Wonderful place to stop on the first leg of the South West Coast Path going from Minehead to Porlock Weir and rest weary legs on a hot day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review and good luck with the coast path walk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Over Stowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

So I was showing some family members around who are visitors to the UK and had the idea of a visit to an English Tea Room and remembered a word of mouth recommendation for Bossington. Well this place is a real gem and more English than Miss Marple in Gingham knickers. The service was polite, the tea and scones good enough, but the setting is in the sweetest little tea garden where we were constantly wafted with the scent of sweet peas, jasmine and lavender on a sunny day. Just right after a falconry display in nearby Allerford and a walk on the beach at Porlock Weir. Suppose I should say it was rubbish as I don't want too many people going there are spoiling it but that wouldn't be fairplay old chap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PSTLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
How absolutely super of you to write such a truly wonderful review of our little tea house! You really are a very decent chap and we hope to see you again very soon. Toodle Pip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Visited Kitnors tea room yesterday and had to pass on the wonderful experience straight away. Charming indoor tea room and truly enchanting additional garden area. We went for outside despite the showers but didn't have to worry as the large shelter umbrellas kept the rain away. Really lovely traditional British tea room menu, from which we picked the high tea selection. What a feast, large pot of tea, savoury sandwiches, quiche, pate, assorted cake slices, strawberries, fudge and gorgeous scones with cream and jam, all for a great value £9 per head. Simply cannot recommend this culinary gem enough, the staff were polite, friendly and efficient. All set in some of the most breath taking scenery available in the West Country, luckily we live locally so intend to return very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, very pleased that you enjoyed your tea and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitnors Tea Room also viewed

 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Kitnors Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing