We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional English tea garden experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitnors Tea Room

Kitnors Tea Room
Ranked #3 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Quantoxhead UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Traditional English tea garden experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wonderful gardens, very busy, food great, a ' must see ' destination in beautiful West Somerset. Like stepping back in time. Our Australian friends were delighted.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeidiSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and so pleased that your visitors enjoyed their visit. Angie and Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    28
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely cream tea in beautiful English garden. Went for a nice walk up the surrounding hills afterwards. Highly recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recommendation and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon. Angie and Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Struggling For Superlatives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've been coming to the area every year for the past 20+ years...blah blah blah...but I've never been to Kitnors before. We arrived on a drizzly lunchtime and chose to sit outside in the beautiful garden under the shelter of the 'sun' canopy.
The house and garden in Bossington are picture-postcard perfect (even in the rain).
The service is all smiles and efficiency - they really are lovely people.
The food is sublime. I had the soup and cheese-on-toast. Whilst my late Aunt Ada might not have approved of the size of the toast, I certainly did and she won't be posting on TripAdvisor anytime soon.
In an effort to find fault, I peered inside the teapot and found a tea-bag. For this offence I deducted 0.125 points, thus giving Kitnors a grand total of 999.875 / 1000. By the way, we came back a couple of days later (just to make sure) and it was even better.
It is the best tea-room I have ever visited.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpiestFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you very much for your high praise! Shame about the tea bags, but we don't have the facilities for disposing of the tea leaves in our very small kitchen, glad it didn't appear to spoil your visit. Hope to see you at Kitnors again Angie and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pea and Mint Soup with Cheese on toast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Took a four day break in Dunster and drove to see the beautiful villages of Selworthy and Bossington.
After a lovely walk we stumbled upon Kitnors... Well the place is a throw back to another time, beautiful , atmospheric doesn't even begin to sum this place up.
The little tables with lace table cloths, the old fire place, the tea served in China tea pots, with china cups and saucers. the cake !
Time stands still here, it is the place to go and have some tea, cake or sandwiches.
I had ' Pea and Mint Soup with Cheese on Toast' and my wife had a toasted sandwich, all presented perfectly and mine was exceptional.
Well worth a visit ... Take a walk first along the river, or down to the pebbly beach and return for a little piece of heaven.
Well done to the owners and staff. Keep up the great work !
Little car park with public toilets nearby, single track road from the main road... Keep going !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blue66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you vey much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again sometime Angie and Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“BEST TEA ROOM IN SOMERSET!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Definitely the best tea room in Somerset and I have been to a few! I would go there for lunch, coffee or a snack and the cakes are to die for and so much choice. I love the tasty menu and the place is so welcoming and the staff are all lovely! I always recommend it to people as it is also dog friendly! It is clean and welcoming and you cant ask for more. As for the High Tea ............better than the Ritz! So lucky to have this place on my doorstep. Try it, you wont be disappointed!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cuppateacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful praise and for recommending us to others! Hope to see you again very soon. Angie and Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitnors Tea Room also viewed

 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Kitnors Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing