We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Lovely Stay”

Montrose Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montrose Guest House
Ranked #14 of 36 Minehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We returned for yet another Very Comfortable 2 night stay at this Lovely and Very Nicely Maintained B&B located on a Very Convenient, yet Quiet, street, just a 5 minute walk from the sea front and the town center with it's various shopping and restaurants.
Ed and Carol, the proprietors, bend over backwards to insure that their guests have a Delightful Stay. The bedrooms are Immaculate and the breakfast, served in the Bright and Cheerful breakfast room, is Cooked to Order and Delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandDenise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very clean and tidy loved busy the owners, some lovely thoughtful touches. We had a twin room with plenty of space for the 2 of us. Wonderful breakfast all in the price. Very close to all amenities. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great position in Minehead. Street quiet, even though so near (easy walking distance) to the town centre, restaurants and bars and the harbour/sea front. Good parking facilities, both in front of the building and on street. Minehead is a (to us, surprisingly) great place to stay with LOTS of really lovely and interesting places to see within an easy day's drive: Selworthy, Bossington, Minehead itself, and lovely countryside, not to mention the West Somerset railway and Exmoor, Dunster Castle, etc, etc.

Montrose Owners, Ed and Carol, are lovely people and made us very welcome. They were also very helpful about good places to visit and how to get there, and lent us their own large scale Ordnance Survey maps, which was a big help. Our room and bed very comfortable and scrupulously clean and welcoming, as was the whole house. We stayed in Room 4 (Superking size bed), which is a large room, actually much roomier than the photo on the website makes it look. The breakfast room is very homely and the cooked breakfast the best cooked breakfast we've ever had anywhere (including 5star hotels).

A very minor point (very minor): Although the cooked breakfast was absolutely scrummy, I would have liked to see a little more in the way of something like summer fruits mixture to have with cereals, as I don't (and am sure others too) don't always want a full English every day of the holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms we saw (Room 4 and the Garden suite) were excellent, no reason to think that the others wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thornley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night only at start of coast path walk. Owners most helpful and knowledgable, checked weather forecast for me. Happy to accept luggage transfers. Gave good advice on places to eat in evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We received a very warm welcome from Ed and Carol. We have just spent a very comfortable night here and we were served a really excellent breakfast this morning.

i would most definitely recommend this accommodation to everyone and if we were in the area again it would be the very top of our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: I cannot manage stairs and the ground floor bedroom which has a sitting area off the bedroom. This l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrishogg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

An excellent four nights stay at this very clean and well kept b&b. A very warm welcome when we arrived, shown to our room and information given. Breakfast was cooked to order- awesome and tasty. Choice of full English, cereals, smoked salmon and kippers.
Our room and the whole of the b&b was clean and fresh looking (not worn/tatty or tired looking)
Off road parking was a bonus
The owners Ed and Carol were fantastic friendly hosts and made our stay really enjoyable.
Would recommend to anyone wanting a first class few nights away.

Chris and Zoe

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_zoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I would definitely recommend the Montrose Guest House. I was in Room 1 which would be a very nice room even without it's own conservatory and patio! The place was spotless, the bed comfy and the breakfast perfect. The weather was rubbish but hey ho this is England after all. It's close to everything but quiet and it is easy to get from there to the start if the South West Coastal path.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Groucho58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 36 in Minehead
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Aground
The Old Ship Aground
#3 of 36 in Minehead
291 reviews
0 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 36 in Minehead
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#12 of 36 in Minehead
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Guest House

Address: 14 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Hotel Class:4 star — Montrose Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, comfortable 4 Star Silver Award Guest House, a short level walk to shops, seafront an West Somerset Steam Railway. An ideal base for exploring the Quantocks, walking the coast paths, or just to relax. We have a range of en-suite rooms, including the ground floor Garden Suite with conservatory and courtyard garden, and a comfortable residents' lounge, which is open for your convenience any time of day or evening. There you will find a wide range of books, magazines and games. In our sunny Dining Room we offer a choice of breakfasts including traditional Full English (with locally sourced produce), Kippers, Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Eggs, all freshly cooked and served between 8.00am - 8.45am. We offer home-made bread, jams, marmalades and muesli. Off-road parking. Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Guest lounge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing