We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Foxes Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foxes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 36 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

From the moment we arrived til the day we left we felt relaxed and welcomed, as this is a hotel training people with learning difficulties a job in house keeping and we are a charity that do similar work, this seemed like an ideal place to visit plus we get to see minehead, a real eye opener for our support staff in how the hotel is run and a great place for our members to stay, we had dinner in the hotel once which was lovely and breakfast everyday which was great, our bus had to be repaired and was out of action for the whole time we where there, they gave us lots of useful things to see and do and also gave us the loan of there bus with driver for one of our days, which we used to go to the zoo. The rooms where all immaculate and well maintained, the lounge was superb, they even gave us use of there karaoke machine on our last evening, which gave our members a real fun night to remember, wifi had a fault which was fixed on the last day and worked everywhere I went, I look forward to our next visit, thanks for looking after us.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesH, Manager at Foxes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a relaxing time here at Foxes. And we were only too happy to help with the loan of our minibus! We look forward to welcoming you and your group again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Foxes is a beautiful building with lots of original features and stylish high quality decor.
It is in a perfect position on the front and our sea views were so relaxing from our very generously sized Quaytown room, it was nice just to relax in our armchairs with a coffee and biscuits from the well stocked tray provided and look out at the view. The staff were so helpful with lovely breakfasts and helpful advice on the locality and everything was spotlessly clean.
I only wish that there was a Foxes hotel in every seaside town as we would visit them all.
A big well done to the staff for their hard work and we will make a point of recommending Foxes to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Quaytown which was large with dual aspect windows over looking the seafront. Even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesH, Manager at Foxes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your kind comments. I have to agree and say that you did pick the best room for views. The duel aspect out onto the bay is wonderful and very relaxing! I'm sorry your stay was so short. We hope next time your visit will be longer.
The Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently & we absolutely loved it. It's right on the sea front & the location is perfect. Lots of free parking in their own car park. A really lovely welcome, all the staff here are fantastic. Our group stayed in Forelands Suite & Quaytown - the rooms were perfect. They are of a good size, really well equipped, spotlessly clean & both of them have stunning views over the Bristol Channel. Hotel bar, lounge & dining room are really welcoming. Breakfast was excellent, a great variety of lovely food with first class service. Foxes Hotel really is a great hotel - thanks for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesH, Manager at Foxes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We here at Foxes are delighted that you had such a fantastic time during your stay with us. It's good to know that you found all aspects of the hotel to a high standard. We very much hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a great weekend! The food was nothing short of fabulous, the rooms luxurious and the staff could not have been more professional and helpful. I have never come across such value for money. Other hotles in this country could learn a lot here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesH, Manager at Foxes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind comments. I am particularly pleased to hear that the food was of such a high standard as previous guests have made mention that they considered the menu to be limited. We strive to provide value for money and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed here during school holiday time, so there were no students, it was run as a straightforward hotel. Lovely reception staff who couldn't do enough to make me feel at home. Despite being a solo traveller I was given a super room - a twin on the end (Quaytown) with dual aspect side and front, both windows giving sea-views. There was a nice sitting area and a good shower room. TV, hospitality tray, and unexpectedly, fluffy bath robes! It was very quiet and comfortable, very clean, and I had a really good sleep. Breakfast in the restaurant was nice, the usual fruit and cereals, plus full English, and a decent pot of tea. And free parking. All this for under £40.

Room Tip: Quaytown on the end is a lovely twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyLady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesH, Manager at Foxes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guest, we are very happy to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us here at Foxes. I distinctly remember your visit and I'm so pleased to hear that it was relaxing! Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back to Foxes in the near future, hopefully next time the students will be here!
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The only down side to this break was only being there for a few days, hope to go again for a bit longer next time. Room was lovely, with a sea veiw, very good disabled access in room and through out Hotel. Food excellent. Was a pleasure to be in the company of the staff and young learners, a very inspirational experience. Thank you

Room Tip: Disabled rooms very good. I would think that all rooms will be of good standard, even better with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesH, Manager at Foxes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Foxes and we thank you for your kind comments. Hopefully, we'll welcome you back in the very near future.
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in April 2013. We found every member of staff that we came into contact with was very friendly, happy to chat, and always helpful. Our room was called Quaytown and was on the front corner of the building with a bay window. Our view was gorgeous! We were lucky that the weather was fine but if not, we could have quite happily sat at the table and chairs in front of the window, read our books and enjoyed the view. Room was a good size, with everything we needed. There was a large lounge with plenty of comfy sofas and chairs for relaxing, and a bar area. Breakfast was usual hotel fare, but well cooked and with good choice. We had dinner on 2 nights and found the food to be very good indeed, although I have to agree with an earlier reviewer that the choice was limited. On one night we had a choice of only 2 main courses. I understand that this was a quiet time of year, but to avoid wasting food, perhaps they could think about asking guests to choose their dinner at breakfast time, so that they could offer a bit more choice without too much waste. Just a suggestion! The learners did an excellent job waiting on in the dining room and cleaning our room - well done to them! Special thanks also to Sue on Reception who was very helpful when we left our camera on a bench on the sea front. The finder handed it in to the Police, which was a pleasant surprise, and Sue was a great help with getting it back. Overall a lovely hotel, doing a worthwhile job, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the front - amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesH, Manager at Foxes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. I note your comments about the lack of choice in relation to the evening menu. I can assure you that we are currently working on enhancing the menu choices, which will enable customers to have a variety of options and we will continue to provide food and service to our same high standards. As per our previous Trip Advisor response, if any guest has a specific request in relation to their meals we will do our utmost to accommodate them.
We are also overjoyed to hear that you and your camera were reunited!
Kind regards,
The Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Aground
The Old Ship Aground
#3 of 36 in Minehead
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 36 in Minehead
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 36 in Minehead
128 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#12 of 36 in Minehead
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxes Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Minehead TA24 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foxes Hotel is a delightful Victorian seaside hotel in Minehead on the Exmoor coast. As the UK's only fully operating training hotel for young people with learning disabilities, a stay at Foxes is a truly unique experience. We welcome everyone, families, groups, individuals and educational establishments even well behaved dogs. We offer 13 unique and luxury en-suite double and twin bedrooms many with fantastic sea views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing