We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Good value B&B above a busy pub. Rooms are clean. Saturday night is disco night downstairs & it goes on until midnight (on our stay more like 12:20am), but they do warn you about this & offer rooms on 2nd floor as first floor rooms are affected. Bit of a shame that only access to rooms is via main entrance, as we returned to a Stones at 10:45pm & had to battle through a very crowded bar/disco to get to our bedroom. Breakfast was ok, good choice of food & newspapers, slightly let down by quality of ingredients (mushrooms, bacon & sausage), but overall very acceptable. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. Given that we paid < £65 for two of us for one night it really can't be faulted. Just be aware of the fact that at weekends you are staying above a noisy bar.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank MisterJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Clean & comfortable room. Breakfast good. Clean & comfortable room. Breakfast good.Clean & comfortable room. Breakfast good.Clean & comfortable room. Breakfast good.Clean & comfortable room. Breakfast good.
Stupid having the minimum number of characters!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazzerWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great place to stay right in the centre of Minehead. Rooms were very clean. Front rooms overlook the Avenue, ours had a bay window and was very spacious. Kettle in room with plenty of teas and coffees. Because of the weather we could not get there for the night we booked but just a phone call and they moved it to the next night at no extra charge. Excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

My wife & myself and our 7 year old daughter travelled down from Newcastle and stayed in the family room from the 27th dec to the 4th January this year and must say we could not fault anything with this establishment from arriving to leaving, the staff couldn't do enough for us and nothing was a problem to them, the food was lovely and well presented at all sittings, the room was nipping clean and was tidied daily and had the comfiest beds we,v been in :-) I would highly recommend this place to friends and family and will defiantly be visiting again soon :-)

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Johnbrownley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We are regular visitors to Minehead to see family, but this was our first stay at Stones. We stopped for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year, paying £88 / night for room 15 - a large double on the first floor with a bay window overlooking the Avenue. Free car parking at the rear.

Very friendly and welcoming staff from the moment we arrived. Soon became apparent the whole venue had been fully refurbished about 12 months ago - bedroom had high quality solid wooden furniture, thick carpet, decorated to a high standard and spotlessly clean. A modern compemporary style. Very cosy. Just a shower in the ensuite bathroom but that was fine with us. Only downside - sash windows in the bedroom and bathroom were a bit draughty and could do with secondary glazing for both noise and warmth. And heating went off during the day which is not ideal in Winter - although they were happy to put it back on when we asked.

Good breakfast served in the bar area. And hotel guests get the chance to keep drinking in the bar, play pool, etc, after the venue has closed to the public. You never feel rushed.

Overall, an excellent venue, the owners have clearly invested a lot to achieve a high quality finish. It provides an ideal venue for people seeking modern comtemporary accommodation right in the heart of Minehead and a short walk from the beach. We are sure to return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RichardT187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during the Dunster by Candlelight weekend. We phoned the day before to ask if we could check in early. We were told that the room would be ready at 9 as no one was staying in it. When we got here someone had been staying in the room, it hadn't been serviced and we had to leave our bags unpacked in the room while it was cleaned. When we went out the following morning we left the beds turned back, rubbish in the bins when we came back the room hadn't been serviced at all. Considering there is only a flat sheet and a duvet i think that's pretty poor also the bathroom was left used and unclean. Obviously staying in a pub you expect there to be noise, it goes with the territory. However we were not warned about the level of noise on the Saturday night or offered a quieter room (we did book 8 months in advance) we paid £88 a night for a room and breakfast with little or no service, very disappointed.
On the plus side the breakfast was very nice with a good range to choose from and the bar area is very homely and relaxing, the staff are very polite, but i doubt we'll stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here for candlelight weekend, room was lovely, breakfasts were fabulous, but had the room above the bar....Omg. We had all the noise, we may as well had everyone up in our room ..and the dj..it was really really bad, till about 12-1am. Floors were thudding, music was blasting.. I'd love to stay again, but not in that room...!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gascony Hotel
Gascony Hotel
#11 of 37 in Minehead
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#6 of 37 in Minehead
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Address: 48 The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant... Located in the centre of Minehead, we at Stones are very proud of our recently refurbished Hotel. We have combined classic charm and modern elegance to create somewhere that is comfortable to all, with friendly helpful service to ensure you enjoy your visit with us. We are wonderfully situated for those wanting to enjoy all the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing