We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here as a family (2 small children under 3) for one night after a Wedding on Exmoor. The room was lovely, a double, a single and they provided us with a cot too. The staff where all helpful and polite. We had a lovely meal and a few drinks. The food was very good. The breakfast was lovely and included in our stay. Lots of choice and very happy to accommodate the requests for the children. The Hotel itself was clean and very well decorated.
Our only small quibble was that the mattress on our bed was not very comfortable. I know mattress preference is something that differs with everyone but, not only was it very hard, but you could feel every lump and bump, Im assuming the springs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we are ever in the the area again, we will certainly come and stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvelynArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staying at Butlins, we stumbled on this little diamond on our full last day, saw that they had 8
£5.95 lunch time meals and gave it a go! I had home made fishcakes! ( absolutely beautiful 2 large and clearly homemade fish cakes, a pile of chips and peas ) my husband choosing Ham egg and chips ( including peas ) thick cut and plentiful ham! Will definitely be back here for lunch most days the next time we are in Minehead! Beautiful ( the lunch menu serves from 12:00 to 15:00pm )

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful short break here over the weekend of the 20th June. Check in was straightforward and the staff (owner) were very helpful. The room was clean and well laid out with a decent bathroom. The bedding and towels are changed every day and the mattress was comfortable. There was a kettle in the room with tea and coffee available.
The food at Stones is very good with a good choice of breakfast options available. The young lady who serves breakfast was very professional and polite; as were all the staff.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend Stones, as you can see the effort being made by the team to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 23rd of June starting our southwest costal walk.

The staff were friendly and were very attentive. Room was standard nothing special, and the mattress needed replacing in the room.

We did mention this when leaving - so hopefully they will fix this.

The breakfast was very good, and we ordered a variation to the standard cooked breakfast and they got it perfectly. The bacon was very thick and eggs had orange yolks which was perfect.

For the price I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank radl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited Stones a couple of times during our weeks holiday...On both occasion we came for lunch, it was a very quiet and chilled atmosphere! The food was really good!! The majority of the staff were very welcoming and polite, only one person letting the side down! Overall lovely food and a really nice place! Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jessieleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is lovely very clean, friendly staff and spacious rooms. On arrival I checked in and showed to my room, the room was bright and modern with really nice decor, the bathroom was spotless and the bed was very comfy, the only bad thing is the heavy doors which are really loud but all was quiet after 11pm.

Had dinner at the hotel, not bad food but you can tell it's processed and my Caesar dressing looked like horseradish. Will probably eat elsewhere next time but the bar is nice to sit and have a drink in.

Over all a lovely stay and will defiantly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharliiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Been staying the the local Butlins resort and decided to go into Minehead for Sunday lunch. Had been to this restaurant several years ago so thought we would see what it was like now. There were lots of choices but my group decided to go for the car very, three meats to chose from you could pick two out of the three of have more of one, beef, lamb or pork. All the meats looked great. The vegetables were fresh and hot. Good service at the bar plenty if room and a nice ambience. Clean toilets so all in all a very pleasant experience. Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gascony Hotel
Gascony Hotel
#10 of 37 in Minehead
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#7 of 37 in Minehead
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Address: 48 The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: £69 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant... Located in the centre of Minehead, we at Stones are very proud of our recently refurbished Hotel. We have combined classic charm and modern elegance to create somewhere that is comfortable to all, with friendly helpful service to ensure you enjoy your visit with us. We are wonderfully situated for those wanting to enjoy all the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing