We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 38 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 15 the room itself was lovely. Very noisy at night being right above the bar and street noise was until like 2am also the bed was very uncomfortable you could feel the springs coming through! Woke up with bad backs. breakfast wasnt very warm and not cooked properly and toast was really hard cold. The staff there are kind and polite though.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    50
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
68
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed overnight, weather really hot. Got to room, immaculately clean, found that two fans were waiting for us plus an open window. Goes a long way in this weather, very thoughtful.
Bar was great, atmosphere nice. Staff really courteous .
Breakfast ( I had traditional) was well presented and tasty, served quickly. Really good selection of alternatives such as omelettes , poached eggs etc.
Great value for money and will stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be recently refurbished , fresh and very very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and had a great time. This hotel is in a great location for exploring Minehead, right in the heart of the town, close to shops, restaurants, bars and the beach!

Breakfast was lovely!!

We had a lovely quiet room at the back. Will definitely be recommending to others and will be back if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywilsonmcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here as a family (2 small children under 3) for one night after a Wedding on Exmoor. The room was lovely, a double, a single and they provided us with a cot too. The staff where all helpful and polite. We had a lovely meal and a few drinks. The food was very good. The breakfast was lovely and included in our stay. Lots of choice and very happy to accommodate the requests for the children. The Hotel itself was clean and very well decorated.
Our only small quibble was that the mattress on our bed was not very comfortable. I know mattress preference is something that differs with everyone but, not only was it very hard, but you could feel every lump and bump, Im assuming the springs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we are ever in the the area again, we will certainly come and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelynArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Staying at Butlins, we stumbled on this little diamond on our full last day, saw that they had 8
£5.95 lunch time meals and gave it a go! I had home made fishcakes! ( absolutely beautiful 2 large and clearly homemade fish cakes, a pile of chips and peas ) my husband choosing Ham egg and chips ( including peas ) thick cut and plentiful ham! Will definitely be back here for lunch most days the next time we are in Minehead! Beautiful ( the lunch menu serves from 12:00 to 15:00pm )

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful short break here over the weekend of the 20th June. Check in was straightforward and the staff (owner) were very helpful. The room was clean and well laid out with a decent bathroom. The bedding and towels are changed every day and the mattress was comfortable. There was a kettle in the room with tea and coffee available.
The food at Stones is very good with a good choice of breakfast options available. The young lady who serves breakfast was very professional and polite; as were all the staff.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend Stones, as you can see the effort being made by the team to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 23rd of June starting our southwest costal walk.

The staff were friendly and were very attentive. Room was standard nothing special, and the mattress needed replacing in the room.

We did mention this when leaving - so hopefully they will fix this.

The breakfast was very good, and we ordered a variation to the standard cooked breakfast and they got it perfectly. The bacon was very thick and eggs had orange yolks which was perfect.

For the price I would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank radl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 38 in Minehead
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant

Property: Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
Address: 48 The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant... Located in the centre of Minehead, we at Stones are very proud of our recently refurbished Hotel. We have combined classic charm and modern elegance to create somewhere that is comfortable to all, with friendly helpful service to ensure you enjoy your visit with us. We are wonderfully situated for those wanting to enjoy all the area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing