We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish and Chip to die for!!!”

Strand Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour
Ranked #3 of 6 Dessert in Minehead
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish and Chip to die for!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went here today for lunch with my son and parents. Mum, Dad and I all had the fish, chips and peas and my son demolished a plate of Chicken Teddy and Chips!! Meal was with us in quick time, freshly cooked, nice thin batter on the fish, chips were lovely and fluffy and it was all piping hot!! Would definitely recommend this place for sea side fish and chips!! Perfect!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ice cream and cream teas”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As we were staying in Minehead for a week, we decided to visit the icecream parlour. It took quite a long time to serve us, yet we were the only customers and the sundaes were prepacked in plastic tubs which only needed placing in sundae dishes. The icecream was quite nice, with a large selection.
We returned a couple of days later for a cream tea. The scones were obviously not home made and the taste of soda was quite evident, although there were two each, whereas most of the establishments only offered one. There was plenty of clotted cream but not quite enough jam. Drinks had to be purchased separately, making it more expensive. A little disappointing, as we had been looking forward to our last cream tea of the season!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Visit Every Year”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family and I have had a yearly two week holiday in Butlins Minehead since 1996.
And found 'The Strand' during our third holiday in 1998.
My son was just 20 months old when we first ate here and he is 18yrs old now so he has grown up on 'The Strand's Fish & Chips!
We have to eat here at least twice during our two weeks holiday, and it's the Home Made Steak Pie that keeps my husband and I going back, the steak melts in your mouth and is smothered with lovely tasty thick gravy, and the puff pastry top crumbles perfectly, it's flippin tasty I can tell ya! My son just loves the Battered Cod & Chips which we have also tried like many other items on the menu but it's that Steak Pie that gets us!
We always have a lovely meal and dessert or Ice Cream there and we all leave feeling stuffed!
The prices are very reasonable for the portion sizes so it doesn't cost a bomb to feed the whole family.
It is run by sisters, Sue who runs 'front of house' and recognises us every year! and Sally who runs the Kitchen.
They have a good selection of dishes with lots to choose from and a childrens menu.
The dining area is very large and at times quite full which is good testament that the food is good!!!
The Strand is right on the beach front, you couldn't wish for a better view while you eat.
All the staff are friendly and courteous and the atmosphere is comfortable and very holiday-ish?
The Ice Cream Parlour is out of this world with 36 flavours to choose from, from Vanilla to White Chocolate & Strawberry Roulade, to Raspberry Pavlova, to Bubble gum to name just a few and they are all very delicious.
We love it in here and will continue to go every year during our annual 2 week holiday in Butlins.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Long established”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a large venue catering for people coming straight off the beach. Service is efficient and friendly & the food is what you would expect and perfectly reasonable value for money. A little more than you might pay further away but it is the convenience.
It has been in existence for many years which shows it caters for the family holiday trade.
They have an ice cream counter with a huge selection of ice cream of all sorts.
The seats are reasonably comfortable and it is set to cater for large numbers, many with children and possibly sandy so spartan but well laid out and a good selection of hot food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Greasy and tasteless. From frozen. Don't bother. Right across from the beach, catering to tourist. I deserved this experience as I should have known better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank randomtraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strand Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to Strand Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing