We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish restaurant”
Review of Pips Fish - CLOSED

Pips Fish
Price range: US$3 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We source all our fresh fish from Jacqui of El Pescadero who drives the two hours to Brixham Market five days a week to source the freshest fish possible. See our special board for today’s Day Boat catches.Our bass and bream is farmed from the sea to the plate in hours. The fish are tagged and tracked all the way to the buyer, farmed responsibly and sustainably.By looking for the MSC label when shopping or dining out, you can enjoy eating any of these species responsibly. Just make sure to look for the blue label!
Bridgewater, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish restaurant”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had supper with friends here last week. Was impressed with freshness of fish. Staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely return. Have recommended it to several friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Pips Fish, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our Restaurant. Have you joined our free members club?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    27
    12
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good as usual.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Had the special which was quite reasonably priced. Fantastic food as usual. Some things on the menu are a bit pricey though so do check out the specials board. Returning here after my visit in March.

Helpful?
Thank Bakul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Pips Fish, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
The team are delighted that you had a consistent return visit. Have you joined our free members club?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a basic Fish & Chip Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited Pips on a recommendation from the B&B where we were staying. From the outside you cannot see the restaurant tucked away at the rear. By its nature, it is not a venue for a romantic night out.
The fish was very fresh and cooked to perfection. Staff were friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at Pips Fish, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Would love ideas on how to make the Restaurant more visible?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The fish and chips we had were just lovely. Maybe I've just had trouble getting decent fish in London but oh my. It was cooked to perfection with a wonderful batter. The chips seemed to actually be properly home made. The tartar sauce and garlic aioli were wonderful additions and the mushy peas were proper mushy peas.

So nice to have a good meal!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced!!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I'm sure this is a lovely fish and chip shop but as a restaurant it fails on many levels. Firstly the service was rubbish, we booked but were offered the worst seat in the restaurant despite others being empty (I declined) then we weren't given any menus and ignored for 10 mins! In fairness the food was nice but for the environment/quantity/quality wit was massively overpriced. £10 for a minuscule bowl of average mussels for starter. Also I think they need to research their recipe for chowder-only contained white fish and had huge chunks of carrot and celery!!
I think they need to choose what they want to be and do that well restaurant/chip shop!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Samandperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pips Fish also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing