We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A noble refuge from the slings and arrows of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Knapp

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden in winter The spacious yet cosy living room with woodburner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Garden in winter
The spacious yet cosy living room with woodburner
Light and airy kitchen
Twin room en-suite bathroom with over head shower
Garden in Spring
View overlooking valley nearby cottage
Beautiful Porlock Weir, just 4 miles from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Minehead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A noble refuge from the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After a few years, you start to expect certain things from a holiday cottage rent with a increasing sense of deja vu, doom, and futility.

Turning up a bit earlier than "you were supposed to", or a bit later than "you said you would" usually means the owner's gone off somewhere else and you have to wait with fractious kids and a frazzled partner, with the rain drumming fingers of an impatient weather god on the roof of the car. The "welcome pack" with the list of DON'Ts so long it's clearly a "We Barely Tolerate Your Intrusion Into Our World, You Peasant" pack but it sounded a bit too passive aggressive and anyway they couldn't fit all that, using 32 point Comic Sans (what else), on the yellowing piece of A4 stuck to the front of the ring binder they left.
The shower which delivers both geothermally superheated water AND water piped in directly from Antarctica depending upon how hard you breathe on the temperature control knob and yet that no amount of huffing, sighing, tying the rest of the family up so they can't go anywhere near a tap, or indeed bell-ringing, will make the flow faster than the drool of a dehydrated Pekinese. In a desert.

And managing agents that the now sadly departed Doris Stokes (for any Americans reading, think John Edward with a blue-rinse in a muumuu) would have trouble in contacting should anything go wrong.

But this review is about Little Knapp to which NONE of the above applies!
First of all you deal directly with the owners, Tanzie and Richard who despite being unmarried at the time of writing this, are very nice people and make you feel at home, at ease, and above all welcome. If you turn up a bit early or a bit late because the traffic was better or worse than you expected you can still get in and get unpacked: they don't need to be around.
The welcome pack is more about telling you how things work (particularly the lighting system in the sitting room) rather than telling you what you can't do. The DON'T list they've put in there has only a couple of things in it and it's all reasonable stuff due to where they are - the countryside.

Little Knapp itself is really well appointed, they've clearly spent some time and attention getting the cottage ready and the wood burning stove in the sitting room is particularly
fab with the firewood surrounding it looking quite artistic. It's good to have it lit (the stove) late of an evening sat in front of the TV (Sky).

The showers were nominal throughout our entire stay. Nominal. I think that's the first time in 3 decades of holidaying I've been able to use that phrase. Ever.

If I had to complain about anything it's that my height (1.93m) and one of the doors in a 16th century farmhouse don't mix easily. I smacked my head, several times, on the door frame between the kitchen and the sitting room. Although popular local opinion seemed to favour a link between alcohol consumption and door-frame related injury, I remain unconvinced. And thankfully, mostly non-concussed. But if you're tall be careful.

Oh and there's Internet and Wifi. Don't get your hopes up though: it's about 3 miles from the exchange and there's no Fibre To The Cabinet. It's classed as broadband, but only just.
This isn't Tanzie and Richard's fault though, and you're on holiday right, so why do you need this? Get yourself outside. And at night, look up: the stars are brilliant down there.
If you come from an urban area, the night skies at LK are jaw dropping (clouds permitting).

In summary. LK (those of who've stayed at Little Knapp are allowed to call it "LK" apparently) is worth a visit or 5.

Tanzie and Richard are wonderful, welcoming people trying to make a living and have made a wonderful, welcoming holiday rent. It's a place to escape to, away from the madness of modern urban life in a great part of the country, with great walking, and night time skies that have to be seen to be believed. I love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sitting room: a wood burner AND a sci-fi lighting system in a 16th century farmhouse!
Liked least: Hitting my head on the door frame (see review)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele92...
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage was very comfortable,the views outstanding,peace in abundance.
Tanzie and Richard were there if you needed them but did not encroach.
The logs were plentiful and the fire was really warming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CM093u4nl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, would visit again”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at Little Knapp- it was ideal for a long weekend away from London.
Tanzie couldn’t have been more helpful and the house is beautiful and full of rustic charm- but with all the mod cons- it’s cosy, clean and quiet. They really have thought of everything and the personal touches are really appreciated.

The house is in a rural setting with stunning views, but it is close enough to Minehead to travel in and use the local amenities- a taxi at night cost us about £10. We rented bikes one day in the town, and had dinner there that night. We spent our second day walking over moors.

We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the house, and the area, and hope to return again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire R
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, fabulous scenery, definately one to go back to.”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Little Knapp 25th - 29th May with my partner, two dogs and my parents from Mon - Fri. Booked through Trip Advisor and Tanzi (owner) was great from the beginning, even texting to wish us a safe journey on the way down! The setting is idyllic, fabulous for exploring and walking with the dogs (wish we had more time to do so). Great location as you get peace and tranquillity on the doorstep but Minehead, Porlock are within 3 miles or so for a busier/seasidy feel!.The cottage itself is lovely, really well done, modern but in keeping with the feel of the cottage. From the front door you head into the kitchen/dining area - good size and all you need. Took us a while to get used to recycling and what goes where but its all in the handbook and its only because its different to what we are used to. You then go into the living room with two cosy two seaters (slightly low for my mum who has arthritis) but not a huge issue. Fabulous wood burner with seemingly endless supply of logs (but don't use the decorative ones surrounding the burner - Richards artwork and very effective!). Sky, radio and wifi available with DVD's as well. Open staircase with a very handy stair gate at the bottom should you have little ones (human or furry variety) that may be tempted to go upstairs. The bedrooms are as well done as the rest of the property - comfortable and both en-suite. Double has shower cubicle and the twin has bath with shower over, nice to have both options, watch your head on the ceiling though when using the shower over the bath lol. Beds all a good height and adequate storage space. Utility room is very useful with space for dog stuff, muddy boots etc and all you need for doing any laundry should you wish to do so! The garden is gorgeous, not quite dog proof for our dogs but one is the dog version of Houdini so probably ok for most! We were well aware of the pond and how tempting this would be for our Houdini dog so were prepared. To be honest we were out most of the time so didn't spend that much time in the garden but it is lovely. Overall this is a fab place to stay and we would definitely recommend it. Richard and Tanzi are great, there but not in your face which is nice. They have clearly put a lot of work into the cottage but its the little touches that make the difference - dog towels, picnic blankets, cake on arrival. Even when the oven broke, which is not refection on them, they did their upmost to resolve the problem and did their best to make sure it did not affect our holiday. Huge thanks to them both and a big well done for what is a lovely lovely place to stay. Definitely one to try, my Mum only just said yesterday "I wouldn't mind going back to Somerset next year, shall we start planning it!".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not 100% dog proof for our dogs x
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stridesli...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Finally signed up to TripAdvisor specifically to give Little Knapp a 5* review. It exceeded all our expectations: historic but beautifully renovated; cosy but nicely proportioned; had everything you could possibly need plus fabulous views and scenery that the photos don't even do justice to and a lovely garden. Spotlessly clean and wonderfully private too. Rick was very helpful, and we loved the cake Tanzie made. This is a stunning part of the world with lots to do, especially if you like waking and wildlife. Will certainly be back and can highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillC581
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing short break”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A lovely little cottage, very comfortable and relaxing, and the garden is a great place for a peaceful cuppa first thing in the morning. Very convenient spot, the cottage is only a few minutes from Minehead. Wish we could have stayed longer - we have no hesitation in recommending this property and would love to visit again. Many thanks to Tanzie and Rich for a lovely welcome and very enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickiandh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super peaceful and beautiful place”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent Christmas and New Year at Little Knapp as we wanted to get out of the City and pretty much sit in front of a log fire and do as little as possible.

We did just that! Little Knapp is perfect and sits right on the edge of Exmoor National Park. It's a short drive away from the beaches of Minehead and steps away from miles and miles of country walks.

We have such an amazing time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Little Knapp as a holiday retreat!. Our hosts were fantastic (and bake some of the best baked goods we've ever had - FACT!)

Get ready to relax and enjoy! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Log Fire
Liked least: Leather sofa - somewhat uncomfy compared to other items in the cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;