We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy return”
Review of North Wheddon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Wheddon Farm
Ranked #24 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I first visited North Wheddon farm with my daughter, 7 years ago, and stayed B&B. This was such an enjoyable experience that I have intended a second visit ever since to show my husband this fantastic place. This September, we stayed in Farthingwood Barn with a couple of friends and our dogs. Rachael and Julian were the perfect hosts and made us welcome from day one. Nothing was too much trouble and we had a 'welcome pack' of home-made bread, their own sausages and eggs. The setting is idyllic, with no light pollution, the barn extremely comfortable and is home from home with all the amenities you could want. The service and food in their own restaurant is well worth experiencing, as is the local pub. The farm is ideally placed to visit Exmoor and the Devon and Somerset coasts. There are many interesting places to visit from here - a week is not long enough! But you don't have to leave the farm to enjoy the countryside and peace of this place - it is all there on your doorstep!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2012

It’s been a few years since we were last at North Wheddon, but it was great to be back and see that the quality, friendliness and comfort are all still there. From whisking our wet walking gear off to be dried in front of the AGA, to serving up fantastic breakfasts and dinners, Rachel and Julian really are fantastic hosts. Hopefully, we won’t leave it as long until we go back again this time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thanks very much for your very kind comments – Both Rache & I try very hard to always look after our guests, glad to hear you enjoyed your return visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I know there really isn't much more to add to the already superb reviews, but we feel that North Wheddon Farm deserves to have yet more praise heaped upon it.

We needed a brief nights get away and couldn't have picked anywhere better. We received a lovely warm and friendly welcome from Rachael who showed us to our room 'The Cricketers'. The room is welcoming with a lovely view of the garden and there were tea and coffee making facilities and scrummy coconut macaroons. There was a TV with digi box and a very large bed with crisp white bed linen and lovely fluffy white towels. The complimentary toiletries in the bathroom were a nice touch. We then had a lovely pot of coffee in the snug and took a walk around the farm and its land. There were myriad birds and animals from chickens and ducks to sheep and goats all wandering freely which was great to see. The surroundings afford beautiful views and it was so nice to just wander.

Our dinner in the evening was just perfect - from the warm Aga baked bread to the beautifully presented food - which it proved hard to choose from the menu. The property is licensed with a comprehensive drinks menu and the meal was followed with coffee and chocolate coated coffee beans.

The breakfast menu afforded lots of choice and we can definitely recommend the 'Farmers Breakfast' which comprised bacon, egg, mushrooms and sausage which was all delicious. We had another wander around to walk off breakfast and finally got to see the pigs who had been hiding the day before. Steve and Neave are Kuhne Kuhne pigs who have the run of a large muddy enclosure and who were definitely as 'happy as pigs in muck'!

Throughout our stay Rachael made us feel so welcome and readily chatted about the farm and livestock. Thank you so much for making our stay so lovely.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Baleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

So glad you enjoyed your time with us here at North Wheddon Farm and the sun shone on Exmoor for your time with us so that you got to enjoy the characters in the farmyard! Hope to welcome you back sometime soon, Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What more can you add to the already super review's? Rachael and Julian offer a warm welcome and serve lovely wholesome dishes from the AGA with gourmet touches. The rooms double room we had was spacious with lovely squashy armchairs.
Whilst only a short walk from the centre of the village it seems as if you are in the middle of nowhere. Definately the place to escape from the rat race.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuildersMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our first holiday on Exmoor and we definitely made the right choice when we booked Eden Lodge at North Wheddon Farm. We received a warm welcome from Rachael; there were eggs and sausages in the fridge for us and freshly baked bread! The accommodation was clean with everything we needed. We didn't have any young children with us, but we still loved feeding, fussing and photographing the animals. We even watched the sheep shearing! Julian suggested places to visit and despite the unsettled weather, we had a wonderful week. Thank you! I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Glad you all enjoyed your visit to us & Exmoor it’s a great national park . Good luck with photography , do send us any pictures we love to see them – Julian & Rache

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This was our third holiday at North Wheddon Farm. We stayed in Eden Lodge with our seven month old daughter. It was perfect family accommodation. Julian and Rachael are excellent hosts. Staying on a working farm made a lovely family holiday. Our daughter loved looking and petting the different animals, (the goats were a particular favourite)! We had dinner in the main house which was delicious. This is a lovely part of the world with lots of nice walks close by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Hi - Thank you for coming to see us down on our exmoor B&B, so glad you all enjoyed it . See you again very soon.

Julian & Rache

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Rachel and Julian's wonderful B+B was recommended to us by friends who having been going every year for the last 7 years, we can see why! There is self catering accommodation but we stayed in the "four poster" bedroom within the main house, a delightful room! Very comfortable and peaceful. The views from the property and gardens are absolutely stunning. We also enjoyed a very fine meal with a great choice of wine

Keith and cathy

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithCParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
5.6 mi away
The Rest and Be Thankful Inn
6.2 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exmoor House
Exmoor House
#1 of 4 in Wheddon Cross
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
62 reviews
5.9 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
255 reviews
2.3 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#6 of 21 in Minehead
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Wheddon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Wheddon Farm

Address: Wheddon Cross, Minehead TA24 7EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Wheddon Farm is an ideal base to access the Exmoor and Devon area with it's fantastic beaches and stunning scenery just minutes way. We offer superb bed and breakfast accommodation within the farmhouse. In the grounds of the farm we have two self-catering properties, the Farthingwood Barn and the Eden Lodge.Here at North Wheddon we love to cook and are proud of our reputation. Food is very much 'River Cottage' style. If we can not grow it or raise it here on the farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own Aga baked breads you won't go hungry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing