We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Wheddon Farm
Nearby Hotels
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Quay Inn(Minehead)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranmere House(Minehead)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Steps Farmhouse(Minehead)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gascony Hotel(Minehead)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
107
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarthingwood barnworking farmexmoor poniesporlock weirwithin easy reachshort breakrachaelpigsgoatsgeesehostsbossington
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Let's start positively by saying that your hosts are warm, helpful and friendly. But after hard thought I cannot get this property above average, at best. Why? Well the rooms are OK but not warm and welcoming; there are draughts everywhere and our shower room only heated via a heater linked to the light and so was cold. The common parts were again OK, but if we had been with more particular friends of ours they would have complained about cleanliness. If the place had had other guests and you were confined to your room it would feel cramped.

We had one evening meal there. It was pretty good and we liked their choice of wines.

But in a B&B you have to make breakfast "sell" the offering and they did not. We had to ask both mornings for fruit juice, even though it was listed - the other place we stayed would start from the top of the menu with "can I get you fruit juices" which came as we think is the tradition before tea or coffee. There were packet cereals (no muesli) or good porridge - but they pride themselves on raising their own bacon (and I am sure it is first class) but especially on the second day it was so over cooked I gave it to a friend who likes dry bacon. One small tomato adorned my plate. No yogurt or fruit is offered. One of our party is vegetarianand this is not the place for a veggie to go.

Perhaps breakfast would have been fresher if there were more than the 4 of us staying, but it was as if the cooked food had been cooked before the owners' children had gone to school and kept on the AGA for us later.

I scored this review average but for breakfast it must be poor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Let me start by thanking you for taking the trouble to write a review. Here at North Wheddon farm we strive very hard to give our guests a truly memorable visit, clearly we failed during your stay and for this we are truly sorry.

Rest assured that your feedback is highly valued, we have already started a full investigation into all aspects of your stay. During this investigation we would welcome an opportunity to both involve you and to keep you informed of the progress we are making, with this in mind I will personally be making contact.

In finishing I would like to assure you of our very best attention in dealing with this matter, and hope that we can tempt you back to see us again soon to experience the changes we will undoubtedly make .

Yours sincerely
Julian Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd springtime visit to North Wheddon Farm and everything was perfect once again. Rachael and Julian are charming hosts, the rooms are well-appointed and the locally-sourced food of the highest quality. There is little to add beyond what other reviewers say. This B&B is an ideal base for a visit to one of the most beautiful parts of England - and to have dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great 3 night stay with friendly welcome. We were looked after very well - nothing too much trouble. We had lovely food cooked with local produce, sitting before a log fire whilst we ate! Very comfortable room with ensuite. Enjoyed seeing all the animals. Amazed at how they have their own names!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawlishwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Went for a 3 day break to celebrate my 50th birthday. This place was amazing,Julian and Rachael were amazing hosts who really made us feel at home in every way. The food was awesome and nothing was to much trouble for them. Will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bounceransally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thks very much glad you enjoyed your 50th with us see you again very soon , Rachael & Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our favourite venue for a short break on Exmoor. We are now welcomed as friends, having visited North Wheddon Farm several times in recent years. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent, offering much home produce. Always tasty and superbly presented! We always return to south Devon after our Exmoor 'fix' with Rachael and Julian.
Ray & Georgie

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thks Ray & Georgie - glad you enjoyed your return visit – see again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews