We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and homely place.”
Review of North Wheddon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Wheddon Farm
Ranked #24 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming and homely place.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were made to feel welcome on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble and lots of information to browse over on local places of interest.
Friendly animals leisurely roam around.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We chose North Wheddon Farm because we wanted a relaxing, informal holiday for the 5 of us (2 adults and three teenage children) in a country setting with animals as a change from the European capital city we live in. And North Wheddon Farm has been an excellent choice. First there's the accommodation itself: we rented Farthingwood Barn with 3 bedrooms, two bathrooms and well-equipped farmhouse kitchen and large living room that opens onto south-facing garden with fantastic views over the rolling Somerset hills. There are sheep on the other side of the garden fence and their evening routine was to come up to the edge of the garden and munch the grass down. We were lucky enough to have 8 piglets to feed apples to as well as their parents Steve and Niamh, plus the goats to watch in the top field. The chickens and ducks outside the back door were happy to eat up our leftover breadcrumbs. And with just one other self-catering apartment on the farm, it's never full of people. Apart from all the plusses of the farm itself, West Somerset is a fantastic part of the world to come to. There is so much to see and do and it really is away from the commercial rush. In our two-week stay we have enjoyed Dunster Castle (a complete day out), Arlington Court, a coastal walk at Porlock Weir, a visit to Wells and Glastonbury, Kilve beach for fossils, Tarr Steps ... and because Exmoor is a dark skies reserve, one of our best memories is sitting outside the barn late at night star-gazing. Start with The Plough! Self-catering is easy as there are supermarkets in Minehead if you want to drive or a very well-stocked Budgens in the village if you want to walk. The Rest and Be Thankful pub is just a short uphill walk away that primes the thirst for a couple of pints of Exmoor Ale. It's good for food too. Rachael has been fantastic and the final hot tip is to visit The Old Ship Aground in Minehead, a pub which she has just taken over with her husband Julian with 12 rooms. If it's anything like the barn, it will be a great place to stay. The acid test for us is - would we come back again? Yes, we would love to come back to North Wheddon Farm!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redniksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Wife and I visited here between 9th - 16th Sept and stayed in the Eden Lodge & had a great time here. When we booked Rachel asked us what time we would arrive at the Farm, we said approx 4pm. At 4pm we were still travelling and received a call from her a while later asking if we were lost or needed directions. This to my mind was a sign of things to come. On arrival at the Farm we were met by Rachel she showed us to the lodge and as we walked in the door there was the overwhelming smell of fresh baking bread. She said, "I've made you a fresh loaf of bread." What a welcome. The lodge was very well appointed and there was everything you could need for a weeks self catering, from cleaning products to extra blankets & pillows. She had also put some local Bacon, Sausage & eggs in the fridge for us for breakfast the following day. During the week we ran into Rachel & her family numerous times and there was always time for a chat. One night we had a light bulb blow and it tripped the lights, I popped down to see her and she was busy preparing apples, no doubt for one of her pies for their pub but she stopped what she was doing and came straight up and sorted the lights for us. When we arrived there was no sign of her Husband Julian but it transpired that they had recently opened up a small pub/hotel in Minehead and he was busy down there and she spent her time between the farm and the pub but nothing was too much trouble for her. The pub in Minehead is worth a visit too 'The Old Ship Aground' its right by the harbour. The food is great and homemade, you've got to try Rachel's homemade Ice-cream!!!. She also had recommended a Thai Restaurant in Dulverton -Tongdam - This was the best Thai food we have had for a very long time, make sure you book though. The animals on the farm are just as welcoming as the owners and were always up for a chat or in the case of the goats a quick rub behind the ears. There is a Cockerel on the farm and as Cockerels do he gets up early but after a day or so we had got used to him and he wasn't a problem. When we arrived there were a few more chickens around than when we left, sadly the local Fox got them. Whilst there we got chatting to other guests staying there and of the two different groups they had all visited several times before, this goes to show what great hosts Rachel and Julian are. All in all we had a great relaxing holiday in a lovely lodge in exceptionally peaceful surroundings, with great hosts. We will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A fantastic location to stay. I just cannot understand why the owners don't improve the bathrooms as it seems to be a common complaint- the shower in the room we stayed was awful it had no pressure at all and was quite a miserable experience- for £80 a night I expect to be able to wash myself!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Firstly let me start off by saying how very sorry we are that you did not enjoy your stay with us,

We all try very hard to make sure that everyone enjoys there stay with us. Cleary we failed during your stay and we would very much like an opportunity to put this right.

I will of course look into the problems you experienced and report back to you not only how this could have happened but also how we will rectify the situation.

Please contact me personally using the following email julian@go-exmoor.co.uk so that I may take steps to make amends

Very best of wishes
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My 90-year-old Grandmother and I spent three lovely days at this cosy and atmospheric farmhouse where Rachel, our host, made us feel so welcome and looked after us so well. We were offered a much-needed cup of tea on arrival; our twin room with spotlessly clean, warm bathroom was extremely comfortable and had beautiful views across the garden and down a pretty valley to the hills beyond. The beds were extrememly comfortable too and had lovely feather pillows and warm duvets. Breakfast (as much as we could eat, and we ate a lot!) was extremely good on both mornings and nothing was too much trouble for our kind and considerate host. Wheddon Cross turned out to be a great place from which to explore the moors, with Dunkery Beacon only a couple of hills away and easy access to the whole of the moor and stunning coastline from Dunster and Porlock along to Lynmouth and Heddon's Mouth. We are already looking forward to our next visit at this charming and atmospheric farm.

Room Tip: The Cricketers Room is a cosy twin or would make a good double and the view from the window overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed in Eden Lodge. Beautiful views from door across valley. Goose is very funny - puts the ducks and hens in order each day! Pigs entertaining and goats loved their heads fussed when in their pens.
Rachel friendly on arrival - but only met Julian briefly when checking out.
By reading other comments it would seem that Bed & Breakfast guests have the most interaction with the owners - and maybe the comfiest beds?? Beds gave us backache in Lodge and the sofas definitely need new padding (had to sit on them with cushions on top). If you are tall you inevitably banged your head on one of the sloping ceilings - we all did it and the tallest of us is 5' 10". We thought that it would have been nice to have a visitor book - the first place we have ever stayed in not to have one, and also a sample menu/tariff for the breakfast & evening meals as we didn't know whether these were being offered or not, or how much notice was required to book etc. Would be handy as the Rest & Be Thankful Pub next door gets very busy for meals and we were turned away one evening as they were too busy - then quite a jaunt to The Raleigh Cross Inn to eat. Asda delivered though (via on-line ordering) so the self catering bit was easy peasy.

Room Tip: If you are tall go for The Barn - more spacious and the ducks, goose, hens & cockerel are right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eieio2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Rachael and her lovely family were so welcoming. They truly went above and beyond in their farm to make it feel like home.

I was looking for a true farm where I could mingle with the animals and have a quiet respite away from it all. It was that and more.

I interacted with the animals, and filled my heart to the utmost capacity.
The farm is located in an oasis of greenery. It's as if you are nestled in a country cottage int he mountains that is so peaceful. All I could hear was the sound of the sheep in the distance....for me it was truly blissful. I only wish I could've taken it back with me.

Thank you Rachael, Julian and Family, for allowing your home to touch so many people!

~Nirvana

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBliss444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
5.9 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
224 reviews
5.7 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 37 in Minehead
60 reviews
2.3 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 21 in Minehead
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
278 reviews
6.2 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
265 reviews
5.7 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#7 of 37 in Minehead
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Wheddon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Wheddon Farm

Property: North Wheddon Farm
Address: Wheddon Cross, Minehead TA24 7EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Wheddon Farm is an ideal base to access the Exmoor and Devon area with it's fantastic beaches and stunning scenery just minutes way. We offer superb bed and breakfast accommodation within the farmhouse. In the grounds of the farm we have two self-catering properties, the Farthingwood Barn and the Eden Lodge.Here at North Wheddon we love to cook and are proud of our reputation. Food is very much 'River Cottage' style. If we can not grow it or raise it here on the farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own Aga baked breads you won't go hungry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing