We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely B & B and great service with a smile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bactonleigh Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bactonleigh Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely B & B and great service with a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

On arrival we were welcomed in a caring manner which was so nice and then shown to our room which was really clean and just what we needed for a one night stay.
The B & B is in an area that made you feel really safe.
Full english reakfast was delicious and the bacon was crispy (how I like!). All in all, nothing to moan about.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Room was very clean and plenty of room, received a very warm welcome both on my arrival and at breakfast. And the breakfast was one of the best I've had.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenerS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

For the price that we paid and the notice we gave, less than 24 hours! We can't complain about the room or the service especially as it was peak season! However if we had paid more we would have felt unhappy! Its obvious that the owners are in the process of refurbishing the b&b so the standard of decoration is not as high as we are used to but everything worked!! There were one or two things which would have made it better; such as a shower which didn't flood and a better selection of tea and coffee in the room!! The one serious niggle was that the taps didn't fit the sink (they were too short) and this would get frustrating!! Lovely full english with proper bacon!! Also fab location!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We needed somewhere for 3 nights as we have now left camping behind. Found this B & B that's just 3-4 minutes walk from a good selection of restaurants yet it was in a fairly quiet street. Warmly welcomed and taken up to the room. Room was spotless with comfortable double bed and endless hot water in both shower and basin. Told just to come and go as we pleased and the lounge was available at all times. Breakfast was full English with any variation of eggs/bacon etc no trouble.
Only mild criticism is the parking, at the moment its pretty much only on street and can be a short walk although there was always somewhere to get parked. If you had heavy bags it would have been ok to park across the driveway whilst they were unloaded. There's a bit of building work that's due to finish shortly and once the builder's skip goes it will make parking right outside easier.

Room Tip: just phone and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were made very welcome by Julie and her daughters and enjoyed our three night stay at the Bactonleigh. It is ideally located in a quiet road in Minehead, near the shops, sea front and steam railway. The full English breakfast was a high standard and included the option of seeded wholemeal toast. It is called a hotel but we felt it should be termed a good B & B. No question over the cleanliness and comfortable beds but the room we had (top floor) was rather small. We also hadn't realised that 'ensuite shower room' meant that the wash basin was in the bedroom. Although not really a problem, we would have preferred this to have been in the ensuite. TV was also on the top of the wardrobe because of lack of space in the bedroom. Worth checking which room you will have before you stay. No off road parking was available for us but plenty of parking space in Tregonwell Road.

Room Tip: Phone first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Very warm welcome. Room and all public areas were very clean. Great breakfast. Close to town centre and West Somerset Railway station (which was the reason for our visit). Room on the small side but not a problem for us on a short break. Have paid more in the past for places nowhere near as good as this!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exburtonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

What a fantastic place to stay! As a gay couple we were worried about being welcomed, but our fears never materialised. We were treated with dignity and respect. Wonderful, clean room: very stylish and modern. Great breakfast and wonderful hosts. Thank you, we will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Call them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkfluff999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Wellington
The Duke of Wellington
#13 of 38 in Minehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bactonleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bactonleigh Hotel

Property: Bactonleigh Hotel
Address: 20 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Hotel Class:3 star — Bactonleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing