We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hindon Organic Farm
Nearby Hotels
US$196
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
55
15
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
15
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb binternet connectionmy husband and i have justamazing locationfriendly welcomeour room was spaciousold housegreat place to staypennyselworthyexmoorloungetelevisionbasinengland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Good farm yard location and lovely animals. Room fine. Bathroom great.

Check in between 4-6pm, which suggests you will receive a warm welcome. We, and the other guests whilst we were there, received a note on the door saying which room you had and they would be back soon.There was no key for the room or front door so we did not feel we could unpack. There was still no one around when we got back from dinner.

The bedside light did not work and there was no one to ask. We mentioned it at breakfast but a new bulb was not given to us for us to change until the following day, which meant the side light only worked for 1 out of 3 nights for reading in bed.

A note in the bedrooms said if you want breakfast you have to order what you want before 9pm.

Breakfast is only served at 8.30am on weekdays and 9am on weekends.

A pamphlet in the room said if you want a key and the room serviced you had to ask. We asked for both at breakfast. We were told they obviously could not service the room if we took the only key! We chose servicing the room. We never got a key but the room was only service on 1 out of the 2 days, so we returned to dirty coffee cups, bins that had not been emptied, beds that had not been made and wet towels.

There was no way to turn the hot towel rail on to dry the towels and they were never changed (though we left them on the floor to indicate they should be) which left us with wet towels and no one around to ask for dry ones.

The windows were very dirty on the outside so watching the sun rise from bed was not possible.

We fully understand that the bedrooms on a farm are unlikely to have a phone or internet signal. These also do not have a TV, radio or even a clock.

I was born and bread on a Somerset farm so I had a good idea what to expect of farm B&B. Sadly during our stay this one did not provide even a basic service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

What a lovely place to stay in. We slept well in our lovely room, ate a fantastic breakfast served and cooked by nice Penny Webber herself and afterwards we took long walks up in the moorland with astonishing wiews. In the evenings we sat out in the garden looking at all the animals like dogs, cats, sheep and ducks. Or you could sit inside in a comfortable livingroom with books and a widescreen-tv. The farm was beautifully situated in Exmoor and not very far from Porlock, Minehead and Dunster.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

What more is there to say - we aim to please and are glad you were so happy here - do come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in the lovely Oak room for 3 nights, gorgeous bathroom & everywhere spotless, wished we could have stayed longer! It is an idyllic setting on a working farm, with ducks, cows & pigs, plus cats & dogs. Our dog is not dog friendly but this was not a problem for us on the farm. A great base for country walks, going to Selworthy tea rooms is a must & Penny's maps were great. Dunster village & castle shouldn't be missed, plus travelling on the steam trains was a bonus, dogs allowed! A fantastic breakfast sets you up for the day, cooked farm & local produce, I loved the scrambled eggs, herbs & trout. We had fabulous weather which always helps & we would definitely recommend Hindon Farm & hope to return

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarongGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

We enjoyed having you to stay, we welcomed you and your dog - you were considerate not to bring a dog into the house who has not been dried first and you made sure none of our wandering poultry were troubled by your dog.
You enjoyed our hospitality and house and the non hotel atmosphere, with the peace of the countryside and the lovely location, only disturbed by the odd duck quack .......... come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

When we drove into the farmyard we were greeted by a sow, bonhams, geese, puddle ducks, hens and their chicks, cats and a dog all roaming free. Perhaps intimidating for some, but the black lab came over as if to reassure us, as we got out of the car.

This is a true working farm. It's such hard work that Penny can't alway be there to give a red carpet welcome. Where some city dwellers mightn't understand this, I fully do, so the message pinned to the front door giving directions to our room sat comfortably with us.

Our room (Willow) in this very old farmhouse was pretty, comfortable and very clean. The adjacent bathroom was great and we had copious amounts of hot water.

Breakfast was really good - fruit from the farm (including stewed rhubarb and figs), soaked muesli (haven't had that since staying in a 5 star hotel in Nuremberg!) etc. etc. Meanwhile Penny provided stories from her previous working day on the farm.

Hindon Organic Farm suited us perfectly, but those who don't like, or are afraid of animals up close, old houses and rural settings watch out! These are the very things that make a stay for me, as well as the unobtrusive presence of the hostess. City slickers who like attentive service and who are used to 5-star resort accommodation look elsewhere, but you'll be missing out on a very 'real' slice of life!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Staying in the opulent Oak Room was quite simply an almost dream-like experience. Wafting soft net drapes in the early summer breeze, the dark wood floor and furniture, a huge fairytale bed and the amazing adjoining en-suite with a central slipper bath, shower, toilet and basin. After a wonderful evening around the farm and quiet night we awoke to a beautiful breakfast of organic local produce. Roger and Penny can be rightly proud of their excellent reputation up on Exmoor - if only they we a bit closer to Bristol we would be there far more often... You will love this place; the ethos, the setting, the warm welcome and the beautiful food.

Room Tip: Book the Oak Room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews