We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hindon Organic Farm
Ranked #25 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2011

To be honest, when we booked this farm, we didn't pay attention to the fact that it was part of the Stepping Stones and therefore, was showing no stars. We usually choose 3 stars so overall, we were disappointed.

The negative points:

- This is an old farm, 3rd generation, that needs to be renovated to be a good B&B.
- The last bit of road to the farm is actually a long and narrow single track with dense edges. Scary to meet a car coming from the other direction!
- The entrance door is never locked, the landlord told us, and if you want a key for your room, you have to ask for it.
- The front of the house, parking space and gardens are not clean as geese and chickens are free range and do their business everywhere - not easy to walk.
- In the Walnut Room where we stayed, there is no carpet, only wooden floor and skin sheep rugs. It is not as luxurious as it looks on their website.
- The bathroom is very small and dated. The shower cubicle is very small, there is not enough space to dry towels, only 1 small shelf above sink, 1 tiny cupboard on wall, 2 taps cold/hot, 1 broken toilet roll holder, 1 basket as the bin (no lid). No door from bedroom to bathroom, only a curtain.
- No TV in the room, only in the lounge (although with all Sky channels, that was good - but the lounge is a bit smelly).

The positive points:

- Good location to visit Exmoor. Close to lovely places and to Minehead which is convenient for shops and eating places - although the quality of the food was disappointing.
- Easy to park the car.
- Can see a working organic farm. Nice to see the animals.
- The breakfast and especially the meat which is from the farm, is excellent. The tea is delicious. There is a good choice and most products are organic.
- The room is very spacious and has very spacious wardrobes - although their doors don't open and close easily and some are dusty on the inside.
- The farm is dog friendly so you can bring your dog. They themselves have 7 dogs! Careful though with the wooden floor in the room which is very slippery. My dog experienced it several times!
- Can use a small fridge on landing for 1 or 2 items (I used it for my dog's food).
- Good hospitality from the landlady.
- Very quiet place.
- Leaflets to take and maps to borrow.

Overall, there were some good things about this farm but we would not go back there.

Room Tip: This is if you want to see and experience a 'real' farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lauren526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Firstly we endeavor not to offer what we cannot deliver here, it is our policy to ensure guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, as we have no desire to have guests to stay who do not appreciate what we have, our website clearly shows what we are, which is a real farm with B&B in an 18th century farmhouse with charm, comfort and 21st century style and very good food, set in a glorious quiet location with walks from the door to the coast path and heather moor. NOT a hotel.
Our farm lane is just that, and the many benefits of being up a no through, one car width, lane, that is only 2miles off the main road, in our own valley, far out way any negatives, there are not many cars using this lane but of course on the rare occasion that you meet another vehicle or indeed a horse rider, there are passing places, however please potential guests who read this take note - if you cannot reverse a car may we suggest you find alternative accommodation.

The issue around not using keys, it is not a problem. - most of our guests love this fact, if guests want them then all they have to do is ask, we live here too and sleep under the same roof . We are not a hotel nor do we want to be.

As to the totally incorrect comment that the farmhouse needs refurbishing, the outside was fully painted with the lime wash required for a period property last summer. Also an environmentally sustainable biomass boiler fitted to supply masses of hot water and heating, both at considerable expense.

When we did subscribe to the tourist board stars system we were awarded 4 stars, and that was several years ago, so the comment about not being up to 3 star standard is quite frankly ridiculous, this is a character period farmhouse dating back centuries, again as clearly stated on our web pages, not a Premier Inn.

The statements regarding the interior are equally incorrect and frankly un-true, 2 of the bedrooms have been totally re-done last year, as had the dining room and the hall and landing been painted, the sitting room certainly is not 'smelly' possibly if raining, the large open fireplace may have a little soot fall into the hearth that is all. We would not use chemical air fresheners but have scented candles should guests wish to use them.

The Walnut super king en suite was also redecorated, and the shower/bathroom is scheduled to be totally re-done his winter, also a door not just a curtain is to be fitted, there are towel rails in the bathroom and on a radiator in the bedroom, and masses of shelf space in the wardrobes.
The other 2 lovely bedrooms have original dark wooden floors which many guests say is perfect as they think more healthy than carpet, also in our opinion are ideal for guests with dogs as so much more hygienic.
We do not state TV's in the bedrooms, we have a guest sitting room - " what a very lovely room this is" Austrian guests who stayed in May remarked whilst enjoying a drink in there watching the giant TV.

Finally our Jemima Puddle Ducks and chickens, dogs, cats, and sometimes escaped spotty pigs, wonder around, which guests love to see as they drive in, " this is what we want to see in a real farm, a perfect picture" .
If guests have mud on their footwear then surely they can wipe them off on the grass or slip their shoes off on entry to the house. Never been an issue.

Finally at no time did these guest express any dissatisfaction with their accommodation, and their dog enjoyed the complementary Bonio, and they certainly enjoyed their breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at Hindon Farm for three nights and were made very welcome, as were our two dogs. Penny and Roger are very warm, friendly people and we felt like family by the time we left. We arrived at 5 and were given a tray of tea at a table in the sunny garden. I am a big animal lover and was in heaven surrounded by friendly labradors, terriers, cute hairy chihahua (sp?) and little spotty piglets which came scampering under their gate from time to time before dashing back to mum. Our dogs got on well with their dogs and the ones which didn't want to play just kept out of the way. There are happy free ranging hens, ducks and geese about and we kept our dogs on their leads around them just in case. Also two cats with attitude: They stood their ground and our terriers chose the wise course and ignored them. (Penny does sensibly ask people to towel their dogs down before they go in the house; she has spares if you need them.)
The farm is in the most lovely setting, down a serious of little lanes and surrounded by beautiful sloping fields with paths up to the Selworthy beacon. There are many tracks and footpaths into all sorts of lovely countryside. It is unusual today to stay somewhere which is so peaceful; in the evenings particularly, we were struck by the silence.
The farmhouse has very comfortable bedrooms and clean attractive bathrooms (each room has a private bathroom) and there was plenty of hot water. There are little touches such as fresh flowers in the room, essential oils in the bathroom and we had exquisite cotton pillowcases. The best thing was the view from the bedroom window. There is a large comfortable sitting room with dozens of books, magazines, and maps and an enormous TV, all available for guests' use. The house feels ancient, benign and very well loved.
Last, but definitely not least, we must mention the breakfasts...my husband said his was the best this side of the moon! All those happy animals eventually convert into fabulous breakfasts and the bacon, home made sausages and eggs were truly delicious. I am a veggie but Penny gave me three different types of veggie sausage to try along with generous helpings of eggs, tomatos, mushrooms and beans. There was also delicious home made bircher meusli, yoghurts and fresh strawberries, blueberries and figs which were from a tree in the garden. AND a loaf of organic bread on each table! We certainly needed those walks! The beach at Minehead is nearby too and Dunster is a lovely town about 15 minutes drive away with beautiful castle, shops and pubs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FossFollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

You were a joy to have stay - considerate of our ducks and roaming poultry and other dogs about with your terriers, wiped paws before entry to the house, embraced our 'not a hotel atmosphere' with our real special produce and breakfasts and loved the walks from the door without getting in your car.
It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests and their four legged friends, we also welcome constructive comments. Thank you for enjoying all we have to offer we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We spent a fantastic week in the self catering cottage. The cottage was quite simply the best self catering we've ever stayed in! We've never stayed anywhere so well equipped! Such a beautiful character cottage...I could happily live there forever! Our four year old thoroughly enjoyed staying on the farm, meeting the animals and even spotting a badger on the farm trail. We had a wonderful walk across to Selworthy for cream teas and found lots of interesting villages and attractions to suit all of our party (2 pensioners, 2 30 somethings and a four year old) The farm shops produce is fantastic...in fact we are having the last of our stock of chilli sausage for tea tonight! Yummy! We really felt at home here and appreciated the fact that the cottage was open and ready for us on arrival and that Penny and Roger left us to it. And the welcome pack was AMAZING!!! We feel lucky to have found such a wonderful holiday destination and hope to return, either to the cottage or to the B&B. ANd we're delighted to say that your wonderful dogs seem to have cured our daughter of her dog phobia, in fact she wanted to take Bean home with her!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

We certainly appreciate your comments and thank you, do come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Good farm yard location and lovely animals. Room fine. Bathroom great.

Check in between 4-6pm, which suggests you will receive a warm welcome. We, and the other guests whilst we were there, received a note on the door saying which room you had and they would be back soon.There was no key for the room or front door so we did not feel we could unpack. There was still no one around when we got back from dinner.

The bedside light did not work and there was no one to ask. We mentioned it at breakfast but a new bulb was not given to us for us to change until the following day, which meant the side light only worked for 1 out of 3 nights for reading in bed.

A note in the bedrooms said if you want breakfast you have to order what you want before 9pm.

Breakfast is only served at 8.30am on weekdays and 9am on weekends.

A pamphlet in the room said if you want a key and the room serviced you had to ask. We asked for both at breakfast. We were told they obviously could not service the room if we took the only key! We chose servicing the room. We never got a key but the room was only service on 1 out of the 2 days, so we returned to dirty coffee cups, bins that had not been emptied, beds that had not been made and wet towels.

There was no way to turn the hot towel rail on to dry the towels and they were never changed (though we left them on the floor to indicate they should be) which left us with wet towels and no one around to ask for dry ones.

The windows were very dirty on the outside so watching the sun rise from bed was not possible.

We fully understand that the bedrooms on a farm are unlikely to have a phone or internet signal. These also do not have a TV, radio or even a clock.

I was born and bread on a Somerset farm so I had a good idea what to expect of farm B&B. Sadly during our stay this one did not provide even a basic service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Wildlifewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

What a lovely place to stay in. We slept well in our lovely room, ate a fantastic breakfast served and cooked by nice Penny Webber herself and afterwards we took long walks up in the moorland with astonishing wiews. In the evenings we sat out in the garden looking at all the animals like dogs, cats, sheep and ducks. Or you could sit inside in a comfortable livingroom with books and a widescreen-tv. The farm was beautifully situated in Exmoor and not very far from Porlock, Minehead and Dunster.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

What more is there to say - we aim to please and are glad you were so happy here - do come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in the lovely Oak room for 3 nights, gorgeous bathroom & everywhere spotless, wished we could have stayed longer! It is an idyllic setting on a working farm, with ducks, cows & pigs, plus cats & dogs. Our dog is not dog friendly but this was not a problem for us on the farm. A great base for country walks, going to Selworthy tea rooms is a must & Penny's maps were great. Dunster village & castle shouldn't be missed, plus travelling on the steam trains was a bonus, dogs allowed! A fantastic breakfast sets you up for the day, cooked farm & local produce, I loved the scrambled eggs, herbs & trout. We had fabulous weather which always helps & we would definitely recommend Hindon Farm & hope to return

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarongGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

We enjoyed having you to stay, we welcomed you and your dog - you were considerate not to bring a dog into the house who has not been dried first and you made sure none of our wandering poultry were troubled by your dog.
You enjoyed our hospitality and house and the non hotel atmosphere, with the peace of the countryside and the lovely location, only disturbed by the odd duck quack .......... come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

When we drove into the farmyard we were greeted by a sow, bonhams, geese, puddle ducks, hens and their chicks, cats and a dog all roaming free. Perhaps intimidating for some, but the black lab came over as if to reassure us, as we got out of the car.

This is a true working farm. It's such hard work that Penny can't alway be there to give a red carpet welcome. Where some city dwellers mightn't understand this, I fully do, so the message pinned to the front door giving directions to our room sat comfortably with us.

Our room (Willow) in this very old farmhouse was pretty, comfortable and very clean. The adjacent bathroom was great and we had copious amounts of hot water.

Breakfast was really good - fruit from the farm (including stewed rhubarb and figs), soaked muesli (haven't had that since staying in a 5 star hotel in Nuremberg!) etc. etc. Meanwhile Penny provided stories from her previous working day on the farm.

Hindon Organic Farm suited us perfectly, but those who don't like, or are afraid of animals up close, old houses and rural settings watch out! These are the very things that make a stay for me, as well as the unobtrusive presence of the hostess. City slickers who like attentive service and who are used to 5-star resort accommodation look elsewhere, but you'll be missing out on a very 'real' slice of life!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
2.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Steps Farmhouse
Steps Farmhouse
#21 of 37 in Minehead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
0.0 mi away
Tudor Cottage
Tudor Cottage
#2 of 4 in Allerford
80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindon Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindon Organic Farm

Address: Hindon Farm Nr Selworthy | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 8SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Farm - Real Food - Relax.... Idyllic location on top award winning organic farm, luxury B&B 18th century farmhouse charm with 21st century style and comforts. Food Heros and Beautiful farm award winners. Choose Breakfast from - Homemade finest sausages,own bacon, fresh baked bread, eggs from our chickens, own muesli, fresh fruit & yogurt, also specials. Many farm animals, wonderful walks direct form the door to the coast path and moor, relax in our outdoor Hot Tub bubbles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing