We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, pity about the rest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hindon Organic Farm
Ranked #25 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Southsea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning location, pity about the rest”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our aim was to spend a few days recharging the batteries after a house move. Hindon Farm looked idyllic and the description promised much. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectation.
The location is stunning - two miles from Minehead but completely surrounded by hills with direct access to the coastal path - and the farmhouse picturesque. However it needs a thorough clean: dingy front door leading to a dirty interior (cobwebs, dust, dog hairs everywhere, including as an accompaniment to breakfast), doggy smell as the front door opened. Even the boxes of tea and other drinks provided looked as if they'd been around for a very long time.
The room, with a view over the farmyard to trees, had a comfortable, if squeaky, bed and the sheets were clean. But the furnishings were cheap, shabby and grubby, not stylish at all.
It was only on the final day of our stay that we managed to get the room serviced. This is the first time we have ever encountered room service as an option when staying in a B&B, even on a working farm.
Our pamper break got off to a poor start when the landlady contacted us two days before we were due to ask us to 'upgrade' to self-catering - no breakfast to be provided. We offered to cancel but were assured that it would be fine.Once there it rapidly became clear that we were in the way. We were offered the use of the Aga to dry walking gear but a request to borrow a hairdrier wasn't well received. Thee landlady told us off for using too much wood on the fire, even though it was her husband who had added the wood to the fire.
We were offered soup on our last evening, which as the weather was dreadful, we accepted. It came with a sausage each. The following morning we were asked for £7.50 each for the privilege.
We were asked to pay the balance of our holiday in cash and 'we didn't need a receipt, did we'.
All in all, oversold and overpriced. More off hand than hands off.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Happy New Year - how terribly disappointing to have guests we thought were perfectly happy and who we really made welcome write this type of review -

*our house is a farming family home but it does not smell of dogs, none of ours go into the guests sitting areas - please potential guests see our photos on website and make an intelligent opinion yourselves.
We offer a NON hotel atmosphere with nice surroundings and top quality food.
* At no time was the 'landlady' (never been called that before my name is Penny ) telling anyone off, just remarking that there was a really good and very hot log fire and not to over load it for safety reasons .
If you interpreted Penny's response to being asked for a hairdryer, as a problem then sorry, expect she was just trying to think where it was.
* as it clearly states in the rooms if you would like your room serviced please ask as we respect guests privacy - you did not ask until the last day when it was happily done for you. Many of our guests really like this option.
We offer a large choice of packets of assorted teas and coffee, a fridge with a jug of organic milk to help yourselves to, and for guests use, if hotel sachets are the preference then please do not stay here.
* as to the price of £7.50 for your large homemade soup made fresh for you with chunks of organic bread and our homemade sausages - may we suggest cheaper and less quality food can be found elsewhere.
* our policy is to ask for cheque with card or cash when guests are to settle their account and as is customary we ask & offer a receipt.

If at any time any guests are unhappy or have a problem then we try our best to help if we do not know then we cannot help whilst they are here.
REAL FARM - REAL FOOD - RELAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    14
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Just returned from a long weekend here in the self catering cottage and we have had a lovely, relaxing break. The cottage has a real warm and homely feel and we felt at home straight away. We found a lovely hamper of goodies and in the fridge there was bacon and sausages from the farm (went down a treat at breakfast) The cottage is on a working farm and this time of year wellies are a must! We couldn't wait to put ours on and explore the superb surroundings. The cottage is just the ticket for anyone wanting to 'get away from it all'. Many thanks to Penny and Roger.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled6712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words we are pleased you enjoyed your stay , warm regards
Penny & Roger Webber . Real Farm - Real Food - Relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Booked a long weekend here in the B & B, along with our recenlty adopted very lively 10 month-old collie Sarah, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Couldn't have wished for a better place. We arrived late having been held up on the way but were greated with a friendly note on the door directing us to our room. Then were welcomed personally by Roger (and several of the dogs!) and made to feel very much at home. Everything was exactly as described on the website and the breakfast and company fantastic. To those who have given less than positive reviews, I can only say that they should perhaps read the description and reviews more carefully.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soobut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just returned from a few days in the self catering cottage. We chose here for a couple of reasons, firstly it is very dog-friendly and secondly the location. It is in a fantastic setting, very isolated yet at the same time a short distance to the beach and walks that we wanted for the dogs.

Some of the reviews here are remarkable in complaining about the track used to access the farm, complaining about a lack of keys etc etc. This is precisely why we liked it, we didn't feel the need to lock the doors at all and loved the isolation.

When we arrived Roger drove by in his Land Rover and asked if we had found everything and that was really the last we saw of him - this is not a complaint as it is exactly how it should be and we were left to get on with our holiday in peace.

On arrival there was a great basket with fruit, eggs fresh bread, butter and a cake and in the fridge bacon and sausage from their Old Spot pigs - really lovely.

Also great to see animals farmed the way they should be - the Old Spot piglets were adorable !

Only one piece of nit-picking criticism ! Internet connection would have been great - but of course that is purely personal and very minor point.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gavinpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the self-catering cottage along with our three dogs. We loved the cottage and it was exactly as we expected and steeped in character. The fully enclosed garden was perfect to be able to relax without worrying about the dogs escaping! Penny and Roger had provided a welcome hamper which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. As mentioned in an earlier review the track was long and narrow but in my opinion is part and parcel of living in the country and didn’t pose a problem for us. It was amazing to wake up to the birds and seeing the horses in the field opposite. We loved the location as it provided easy access to the beach and to Exmoor. It was the first time we had visited this part of the country on holiday and would go again. Totally fell in love with the piglets and it was great to see a working farm. So overall really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Thanks Penny and Roger.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Perfect place for a short family break. We had a very warm welcome from Roger and Penny and within a short time we felt very at home on the farm. Being animal lovers, we loved seeing the piglets, and playing with the friendly dogs.

Breakfast was outstanding with a huge variety of organic produce to suit all our varied tastes! The rooms were very comfortable.The farmhouse is in a great location for walking and exploring the local area which is very beautiful. We would recommend the walk to Selworthy Beacon from the farm for its fantastic view!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thank you - you were a joy to have stay, a real farm in a glorious location with real food served with a smile - well most of the time!!! See u again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

To be honest, when we booked this farm, we didn't pay attention to the fact that it was part of the Stepping Stones and therefore, was showing no stars. We usually choose 3 stars so overall, we were disappointed.

The negative points:

- This is an old farm, 3rd generation, that needs to be renovated to be a good B&B.
- The last bit of road to the farm is actually a long and narrow single track with dense edges. Scary to meet a car coming from the other direction!
- The entrance door is never locked, the landlord told us, and if you want a key for your room, you have to ask for it.
- The front of the house, parking space and gardens are not clean as geese and chickens are free range and do their business everywhere - not easy to walk.
- In the Walnut Room where we stayed, there is no carpet, only wooden floor and skin sheep rugs. It is not as luxurious as it looks on their website.
- The bathroom is very small and dated. The shower cubicle is very small, there is not enough space to dry towels, only 1 small shelf above sink, 1 tiny cupboard on wall, 2 taps cold/hot, 1 broken toilet roll holder, 1 basket as the bin (no lid). No door from bedroom to bathroom, only a curtain.
- No TV in the room, only in the lounge (although with all Sky channels, that was good - but the lounge is a bit smelly).

The positive points:

- Good location to visit Exmoor. Close to lovely places and to Minehead which is convenient for shops and eating places - although the quality of the food was disappointing.
- Easy to park the car.
- Can see a working organic farm. Nice to see the animals.
- The breakfast and especially the meat which is from the farm, is excellent. The tea is delicious. There is a good choice and most products are organic.
- The room is very spacious and has very spacious wardrobes - although their doors don't open and close easily and some are dusty on the inside.
- The farm is dog friendly so you can bring your dog. They themselves have 7 dogs! Careful though with the wooden floor in the room which is very slippery. My dog experienced it several times!
- Can use a small fridge on landing for 1 or 2 items (I used it for my dog's food).
- Good hospitality from the landlady.
- Very quiet place.
- Leaflets to take and maps to borrow.

Overall, there were some good things about this farm but we would not go back there.

Room Tip: This is if you want to see and experience a 'real' farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Firstly we endeavor not to offer what we cannot deliver here, it is our policy to ensure guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, as we have no desire to have guests to stay who do not appreciate what we have, our website clearly shows what we are, which is a real farm with B&B in an 18th century farmhouse with charm, comfort and 21st century style and very good food, set in a glorious quiet location with walks from the door to the coast path and heather moor. NOT a hotel.
Our farm lane is just that, and the many benefits of being up a no through, one car width, lane, that is only 2miles off the main road, in our own valley, far out way any negatives, there are not many cars using this lane but of course on the rare occasion that you meet another vehicle or indeed a horse rider, there are passing places, however please potential guests who read this take note - if you cannot reverse a car may we suggest you find alternative accommodation.

The issue around not using keys, it is not a problem. - most of our guests love this fact, if guests want them then all they have to do is ask, we live here too and sleep under the same roof . We are not a hotel nor do we want to be.

As to the totally incorrect comment that the farmhouse needs refurbishing, the outside was fully painted with the lime wash required for a period property last summer. Also an environmentally sustainable biomass boiler fitted to supply masses of hot water and heating, both at considerable expense.

When we did subscribe to the tourist board stars system we were awarded 4 stars, and that was several years ago, so the comment about not being up to 3 star standard is quite frankly ridiculous, this is a character period farmhouse dating back centuries, again as clearly stated on our web pages, not a Premier Inn.

The statements regarding the interior are equally incorrect and frankly un-true, 2 of the bedrooms have been totally re-done last year, as had the dining room and the hall and landing been painted, the sitting room certainly is not 'smelly' possibly if raining, the large open fireplace may have a little soot fall into the hearth that is all. We would not use chemical air fresheners but have scented candles should guests wish to use them.

The Walnut super king en suite was also redecorated, and the shower/bathroom is scheduled to be totally re-done his winter, also a door not just a curtain is to be fitted, there are towel rails in the bathroom and on a radiator in the bedroom, and masses of shelf space in the wardrobes.
The other 2 lovely bedrooms have original dark wooden floors which many guests say is perfect as they think more healthy than carpet, also in our opinion are ideal for guests with dogs as so much more hygienic.
We do not state TV's in the bedrooms, we have a guest sitting room - " what a very lovely room this is" Austrian guests who stayed in May remarked whilst enjoying a drink in there watching the giant TV.

Finally our Jemima Puddle Ducks and chickens, dogs, cats, and sometimes escaped spotty pigs, wonder around, which guests love to see as they drive in, " this is what we want to see in a real farm, a perfect picture" .
If guests have mud on their footwear then surely they can wipe them off on the grass or slip their shoes off on entry to the house. Never been an issue.

Finally at no time did these guest express any dissatisfaction with their accommodation, and their dog enjoyed the complementary Bonio, and they certainly enjoyed their breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
2.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tudor Cottage
Tudor Cottage
#2 of 4 in Allerford
79 reviews
3.7 mi away
Steps Farmhouse
Steps Farmhouse
#20 of 37 in Minehead
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
149 reviews
8.3 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
61 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
Dunster Mill House B & B
#4 of 11 in Dunster
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindon Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindon Organic Farm

Property: Hindon Organic Farm
Address: Hindon Farm Nr Selworthy | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 8SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Farm - Real Food - Relax.... Idyllic location on top award winning organic farm, luxury B&B 18th century farmhouse charm with 21st century style and comforts. Food Heros and Beautiful farm award winners. Choose Breakfast from - Homemade finest sausages,own bacon, fresh baked bread, eggs from our chickens, own muesli, fresh fruit & yogurt, also specials. Many farm animals, wonderful walks direct form the door to the coast path and moor, relax in our outdoor Hot Tub bubbles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing