We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian meal ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fausto's

Fausto's
Ranked #15 of 92 Restaurants in Minehead
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant taken over from Zest, with new management. Serving Italian and European Cusine, using local ingredients where possible. Now also serving fresh fish and seafood, and beautiful steaks from a local producer. Our specials board is updated frequently. We cater for small to medium size parties, and our restaurant is ideal for birthdays, anniversaries and other special ocassions. Our restaurant has recently been redecorated and offers a cosy feel, with friendly service and freshly prepared food.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Italian meal ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The meal we had was absolutely delicious. Huge serves. Fabulous service from great staff. What an experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Ted, thank you for your short but very sweet review. It is very much appreciated especially after the not so kind one just before you. Thanks again, hope to see you again. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    85
    36
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The worst Italian Restaurant in Minehead”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were given a table in the back yard area of the restaurant, which was damp and shabby. The food wasn’t very good along with the service, and whatever else you do try to avoid the toilets at all costs, they are just dirty. The whole place needs a total refurbishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Fraser, I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Fausto. The fact you have been seated out the back of the restaurant (the courtyard) would have been that you failed to book a table, and instead walked in from the street. At that point the staff would have offered you a table wherever possible, if you did not like the location, why didn't you decline it? I would also like to point out the following: 1. The building is not owned by us, we simply rent it from a local landlord. The property has had an issue with damp due the roof not being constructed correctly, this meant damp in the toilet an middle area of the restaurant. After a year and a half of discussions with the landlord we were finally allowed to have repairs done to those areas. These have recently been done and it means the toilet and middle area of the restaurant now needs repainting. I don't agree however with your statement that it is damp and shabby in the area we seated you, in fact this area has recently been cleaned an repainted. There is no damp anywhere. The toilet area needs repainting, but as we are open 6 days a week for lunch and dinner this is very difficult for us, but will be done as soon as possible. The toilets are not dirty though, they are cleaned thoroughly between each service an checked regularly. This doesn't mean that a guest might have left a toilet in a mess, this is not our doing and we would always clean it up as soon as possible. please keep in mind this is tricky during a busy service. If you ever have any issue with any staff, please ask for the manager or owner at the time, they would be happy to sort any issues at the time rather then you leaving a bad review on a website. Any restaurant business will tell you the same, we work extremely long hours for very little return. A good summer will mean we are able to stay open during the winter, and people will still have a job. I wish you had asked for me at the time and I would have had a chat. In future please give any business to sort out any issues at the time. We have spent a lot of money and time in making this restaurant a success. We are not a posh restaurant, we are what we are, a nice friendly place with freshly cooked food at very reasonable prices and surely from our previous reviews you can see that almost everybody gives us a 5 star review with the odd 4 star thrown in. Maybe if you come back to Minehead in the future, you will give me a call, and we can book you a table out the front and see if you can have a better experience. Thanks a lot. Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I the restaurant again for the second time in a month to enjoy their lovely food and in particular their the Exmoor Filet Steak. The hostess was most attentive and found a parking place within the restaurant for my brothers disabled mobility scooter! FIRST CLASS FOOD AND SERVICE!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear David, thanks for your kind review and also coming back to see us since. We are so happy you continue to enjoy our food and service and it is such a pleasure to serve you. We work so hard to give people a nice meal and lunch or evening to remember, so thanks again for your support and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Nicole, Fausto and our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good lunch at a fantastic price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

After being devastated to see that Pinocchio's had closed down, we followed the notice saying that Faustos was offering the same menu at lunchtime.

The food was just as good and the portion size & quality always exceeds expectations. The value for money is incredible.

I recommend the ham & cheese calzone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shamushamuUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a difficult decision for us to close Pinocchio, but after long consideration we had no choice. The cost to run the extra little restaurant, just didn't make it worse our while. Never mind the extra time, etc. We are so pleased that you like the lunch on our side and we are now able to seat plenty more people at once, especially those with pushchairs, etc. The value for what you get is still unbeatable in this town, and we can also cater for bigger parties. So thank you not just for leaving the review, but also for giving us a chance. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes Nicole, Fausto and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat in minehead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Come here always when on a break in our caravan. Food is always excellent and staff polite and helpfull. Dined here on friday 18th and Sat 19th of April two nights in a row as we like it so much. The seafood linguine was really lovely and so was the tiramisu. You just cannot fault the place at all. Will be dining here spring bank holiday weekend and we can't wait! Tracey and John JACKSON.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tracey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Tracey and John, thank you so much for another lovely review from you. It just shows that we are consistent and people want to come back. We are so happy you still feel that way and that we are able to continue to serve you well. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Tell John to stay well and not get poorly again next time you are about. See you soon, best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fausto's also viewed

 

Been to Fausto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing