We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford, United States
1 review
“Good rooms, but...”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Clean hotel, nice staff, overall fine. Location is kind of the middle of nowhere. Internet - have to log on constantly. Irritating. Service at the lobby bar? Hah! Find someone and ask if you can get some food and drink. Apparently they don't like to do table service. So a two night stay was just annoying instead of great because of little things.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Luton North, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear David B

Thank you for sharing your review of the Hilton Garden Inn Luton. I am sorry to read that there were elements of your stay that failed to meet your expectations. Within the Hilton Worldwide portfolio of brands, the Garden Inn is classed as a focussed service hotel and does offer different levels of service than that of our Hilton, Doubletree and luxury brands, I am disappointed that this lead to you feeling annoyed as our aim is to always provide a comfortable stay.
With the hotel being situated 3 miles from the airport and town centre I understand that the location may not meet your needs for all your stays however hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards
Stacey Boast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    454
    166
    50
    35
See reviews for
229
428
57
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Expected it to be a better quality Hotel because it bears the name Hilton but it's basic.
Upon arrival , toilet had poo stains on it.
Bed wasn't good, came away itchy.
Room didn't have rack for setting down suitcase, which is poor because it's so close to Luton Airport, table wouldn't have taken the strain of a suitcase.
Don't advertise on web site that you can park car whilst on shortfly break away. We might've taken this up had we not already booked airport car park.
Little things maybe but they all add up.Maybe we expect too much from the Hilton name.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoshi2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Luton North, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hoshi2101

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Luton. We take great pride in the overall experience we provide to our guests and I am sorry to read we failed to meet your expectations in some areas and assure you that the issue you encountered regarding room cleanliness is not exemplary of our usual standards.
All rooms do have a luggage rack stored in the wardrobe as we appreciate these are needed by some travellers. Our Park and Fly packages are bookable on our hotel website and include overnight accommodation, private taxi transfers and on-site parking included in the price.
I understand that Garden Inn may not be your brand of choice in the future but hope we are able to welcome you back into a Hilton Worldwide property in the near future.

Kind Regards
Stacey Boast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Only stayed for one night on business. Nice hotel, friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room, though a little warm. Loved the huge shower! I enjoyed the bar/lounge/lobby area - was relaxed and able to sit and read my book around the fire. Good value for money for the room but the food and bar prices I thought were too high. £8.00+ for a large glass of wine. Would stay again if local, but would go out to eat next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Luton North, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Joanna O

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you found the room comfortable and the team friendly and that you had the opportunity to relax in our lounge bar. I am sorry that there were elements of your stay that failed to meet your expectations and thank you for bringing these to our attention. We are currently in the process of implementing a new menu which we aim to have available by the end of April. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in this area of our service.

Kind Regards
Stacey Boast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great Hotel close to the airport if you have an overnight! Nice new rooms and very friendly staff! Fitnessroom and free internet is also available! Not recommended for longer stays as it is in the middle of nowhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank ChristinaAndSonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Luton North, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear ChristinaAndSonso

Thank you for your “Great Hotel” review, it is very much appreciated. I will ensure your comments regarding the team are shared with them.
I hope we are able to welcome you back to the HGI Luton soon

Kind Regards
Stacey Boast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have been staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Luton for 2 to 3 nights a week for the last 2 years and have always been happy with the quality of the room, the dining facilities, the staff have always been pleasant and friendly and the overall experience has always been good. The only issue if anything is not to do with the hotel, but more with the lack of many local pubs or restaurants that serve good quality meals. Fortunately the hotel does offer good quality and value for money dining facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Luton North, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Eddy L

Thank you for sharing your review, your loyalty as a regular guest is extremely important to us and we are always keen to hear how we are doing.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Stacey Boast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

When I arrived, late on a Saturday evening, the place was packed and I could barely hear the receptionist speak. So not a great first impression but then it was 10pm on a Saturday evening and apart from a few noisy drunks being very inconsiderate at 3am, and again at 4pm, I couldn't hear any noise from my room, thankfully.

The room was nice and clean but it was very cold and I couldn't get the heating to work, it was only blowing out cold air. Once I reported it, it was soon fixed. But I found it very odd that there was no kind of heating in the bathroom, which was freezing to say the least. I couldn't even step on the cold stone floor and also it meant there was nowhere to hang clothes to dry. In fact the only heating for the whole room was the air being blown out (controllable hot or cold) are ceiling level. I don't recall ever having been in a hotel, and I've been in a fair few, that didn't have at least a heated towel rail in the bathroom. Otherwise the bathroom was good, clean and a nice powerful shower.

The fitness centre was very well-equipped.

I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on this but the Pantry is a nice touch, where you can purchase microwaveable meals and heat them up yourself.

It's quite a way out of Luton, expect to pay around £12+ for a taxi and not easily reachable by bus. I walked into Luton town centre, about 45 minutes, but there is a bus which during the week is reasonably regular but only once an hour on Sundays.

I might consider staying here again if the price were right.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleinSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Luton North, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear AdeleinSlovenia

Thank you for your comprehensive review following your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Luton. I am pleased that, on the whole, the hotel met your expectations and provided a comfortable stay and that you had the opportunity to use our complimentary fitness room and our Pavillion pantry and Microwave room. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that you may enjoy a meal in our Restaurant.

Kind Regards
Stacey Boast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A nice hotel close to Luton and the airport. Comfortable room with very comfy bed and overall good quality at a reasonable price.
Good breakfast selection although not worth paying the full price asked - we were on a special room + breakfast price ..... BUT the big problem is the deafening music played over the hotel's ceiling speakers. Most people at breakfast were talking and not listening anyway, but just why do organisation feel they have to bombard us with Muzak (much of it was loud rock style stuff which was way too much) ..... Please turn it down, or better still, OFF !

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the A505 which can be noisy.... And you might want earplugs at breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Luton North, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Colin M, Thank you for your review, it is great to read that on the HGI Luton provided a comfortable base for you close to the airport which represented good value for money. I am sorry that the music at breakfast detracted from your overall experience of that area and will ensure that we pay more attention to the volume. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future, Kind Regards, Stacey Boast, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
2.7 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#2 of 26 in Luton
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 26 in Luton
517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
4.0 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Luton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Luton North

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
Address: 110 Butterfield Great Marlings, Luton LU2 8DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Luton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luton
#4 Family Hotel in Luton
#4 Business Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Luton North 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Luton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North Hotel Luton
Luton Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing