We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great insight into Old England”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wrest Park

Wrest Park
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great insight into Old England”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

A vast property from English Heritage, with super gardens and free audio guides (avoid paying for the book) Realxed atmosphere. I havent given it 5 stars becuase the property was only recently acquired by EH and there is a lot og growinf still to do. Italian Garden is the best one

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ardmereroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    229
    47
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wrest Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Lovely gardens, great play area for children, and lots of room for them to run around. Nice wooded areas too and a lake. Nice place for a picnic. Very good cafe with good food, not too pricey. You have to pay to go into house.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank heathermac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A lovely place to visit - dont miss out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My wife and I visited on the Friday before the Aug 14 bank holiday and it was surprisingly not very busy. We have been before and will return more regularly as it is a lovely place with plenty of space and gardens to walk around, plenty of places to take a picnic and the café area is very good and typically National Trust. We found all of the staff to be very helpful and interested in what you had to say and ask about - this made our visit even more enjoyable.
Some extensive gardening work has been undertaken and more to follow - well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Rest At Wrest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very tranquil. Good to explore the gardens. A great place to be on a sunny Sunday afternoon. Has the feel of a quintessential English manor house.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Chose to visit when the weather was not all that great but still had a really good time. There was also a special themed event on but sadly attendance was not all that good because of the weather. The house is partly open and has a small exhibition providing the history of the house from its aristocratic owners through it time as a military hospital then a company headquarters before being taken over by English Heritage. Some for the rooms can then be visited but are not furnished. The gardens have some formal flower beds but the majority is laid out as wood land and open parkland. Various statues and building are spread out in the grounds and there is also a long lake. As you go on little paths through the woodland there are surprises as you come across hidden areas with different statuary. There are free audio guides which provide a tour to follow and give information on the various stopping points. We spent a very pleasant time slowly walking around the grounds and even the rain did not diminish our enjoyment. It is definitely on the list to return and hope for better weather.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank haroldneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wrest Park also viewed

 

Been to Wrest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing