We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our special wedding day 19th April 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We would like to say a big Thank you to all the management and staff at the Holiday Inn.
Having planed the wedding day there was the best thing we did. They waited on us hand and foot the hospitably the service the food the rooms and the welcome we received was fantastic.
The wedding service room was amazing but the main room for the wedding meal was spectacular. Our wedding day was based on the 1966 world cup with the St Georges cross with red and white flowers, they placed the tables in a way it looked like the St Georges cross.
Recommendation 100% if you are looking to stay in a hotel this is the one to book

Room Tip: Book today and do not delay the Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldridge491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Eldridge

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent wedding with us. I am so happy that we exceeded your expectations. We have had many, many weddings here at the hotel, but it was the first time we had a football themed wedding, it really was fantastic.
Mr and Mrs Eldridge, it was an absolute pleasure to be part of your special day. Thank you once again and all the very best as you start a new chapter in your lives as husband and wife.

Kind regards

Stephanie Weedon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Tired and dated, Quite a trek to the airport in early morning traffic. Breakfast was just finishing when we checked in so choice was limited. Sausage was sour and bread was stale. Very expensive in addition to the lack of choice. Pool area was good but very overcrowded and noisy as it was half term.

The one shinning light was the lady who was housekeeping unfortunately I can not remember her name but she is a tremendous asset to the hotel and went out of her way to look after us.

Room Tip: the 5 star awarded for service was solely based on the quality received from the house keeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent stay. May I firstly apologise for the issues that you encountered with breakfast, this is certainly not our usual standard and I am currently investigating the issues you mentioned.
I have passed your comments onto the housekeeping team who always go that extra mile.
I hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Luton South in the near future.

Kind regards

Stephanie Weedon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is ideally located for Redbourn and Dunstable, and we stayed to attend a party at Redbourn. Parking is good, the bedrooms are well set out and comfortable, there were two conference halls down the corridor from us but despite there being a party in one of them, noise was not a problem. The only upset we had was over a taxi booking, which, despite being logged at reception, did not appear to have been made with the taxi people. Breakfast is super, and on the weekend is served until 11-00 which is great, and check out isn't until 12-00.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLin1747063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Chris,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly may I apologise for the issue regarding the taxi, I have discussed this with my reception team. I am however delighted to read that you had a positive experience with us.
I do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Luton South in the near future.

Kind regards

Stephanie Weedon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have stayed here a few times now and I am always impressed with the quality of service provided. True, the rooms are beginning to look a little tired but given the competitive price for the quality and friendly service received I can live with that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike7cfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Mike
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the service, in particular the quality and the friendliness of the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stephanie Weedon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The receptionist was the only person who went the extra mile when I checked in. Room was clean and well maintained. Food in the restaurant was good, service was slow. Was only staying one night for business and yes, I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel, I was on the front and there was a little bit of traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyHayllar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear AnthonyHayllar,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. While we are pleased to hear you liked your room accommodations, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to the level of service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for sharing a valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here for one night with my son to break a long journey up on a Friday night. The hotel is very easy to find and has ample free parking. Check in was very quick, our room was very nice too with a large flat screen tv, kettle and a very clean bathroom. We decided to order room service which was delivered quickly, the food was nice but portion size was small in relation to the price, it ended up quite expensive. We went down for. Breakfast at 7am but we're told they do not start until 0730 which I thought was late, however when we returned the breakfast was really good with a varied range of drinks and hot and cold food. If you don't pay for your breakfast as part of your room deal be warned it is very very expensive.
One thing that I found a nuisance was when you closed the bedroom door you had to pull it hard which then made it slam, this might have woken other people up in nearby rooms.
We had a look around the hotel and saw the spa/swimming pool which looked clean and quiet. We would have tried these out if we had more time. All the staff we met were very polite, friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay for breakfast in a room deal it will save you a fortune!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie W, Manager at Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Emma,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. I am delighted to read all the positive points you made, I have passed these onto the team. I have discussed the door issue with my maintenance team who will look into this.
Thank you once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Luton South in the near future, when hopefully you can take full advantage of our leisure facilities.

Kind regards

Stephanie Weedon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have given the hotel very good because the staff were great the leisure facilties very good and the location for motorways very good. However ignore your sat nav as it may take you to the back of the hotel, so if coming off the motorway dont go first right before the garage carry on. I didn't have breakfast except coffee and juices but there seemed to be plenty. I had a room overlooking what is effectively a main road and that didn't help my sleep I am afraid so try to get a room elsewhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
2.7 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
4.2 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
3.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9

Address: London Road | M1, Jct. 9, Markyate, Sint Albans, Luton AL3 8HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Luton South is the perfect base to discover a host of nearby attractions. For a family day out, visit the fantastic Whipsnade Wild Animal Park, the Roman city of St. Albans, or take a bracing walk and admire the nearby Dunstable Downs. Located just off junction 9 of the M1 and only a 10 minute drive from Luton Airport. We are situated in an easy and accessible location. Park, Stay & Fly Rates available. Ideally suited for both the business and leisure traveller, Holiday Inn Luton-South offer a range of facilities including newly refurbished bedrooms, wireless internet access and five flexible function rooms as well as high-class equipment for hosting business and social gatherings. For a meal or light snack the informal Borders restaurant provides excellent cuisine in a sociable and inviting atmosphere. Work out in style and take advantage of the extensive facilities provided in the leisure club including an indoor swimming pool, sauna, whirlpool, and fully equipped gym. Or why not treat yourself and indulge in our beauty services? Visit Holiday Inn Luton South M1 Jct 9, within easy reach and close to Wembley, Woburn Safari Park, Capability Green business park, Luton, Hemel Hemstead, Maylands Avenue and Buncefield Oil Refinery. In compliance with English law smoking is only permitted in designated smoking bedrooms in this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Luton - South M1, Jct 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Luton-South Hotel Luton
Holiday Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing