We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing weekend!”
Review of The Leaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leaside
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

on arriving at the hotel me and my partner were amazed at the welcoming feel you got. The staff were help full and nothing was too much! we were given our room key, the layout of the hotel is quirky, very well decorated and directions to rooms easy to grasp. on arriving at 'the coach house suite' we were at the back of the hotel, the room was AMAZING clean tidy and much more then what the pictures portray. the room layout was lovely the bedding clean the room tidy tea and coffee facilities. the jaccuzi/bath was clean and in full use! we went out for dinner as there was a 21st birthday party being held downstairs, the staff informed us of this when we arrived, although there was a bar which was for hotel patriots only. In the morning breakfast was served an all cooked to requirement. the spread of fresh fruit and extras were fresh and of variety. thank you so much for making my valentines weekend remeberable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANIKA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    113
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
123
157
29
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

It's a really stylish little hotel with safe free car park and close to town centre. Definitely recommend! Also the food is very nice!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maciejowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great place, clean rooms, friendly staff and around a 10 minute walk in to the town centre, where there's plenty of places to eat etc. It was about a 7-8 minute walk from Luton train station and about £15 in a taxi to the airport. Great place for a stopover. Lovely outdoor seating too, made nicer with a glass of wine in hand, of course!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at this Hotel and found everything fine for the price we were here for 2 a weekend to attend a family function being held in Luton from the first contact and booking by phone the Deal was on and evening meal that was included was Tops the staff very friendly and the room we had was Huge and warm .buffet style breakfast was excellent,and Grill served at your table well worth staying here ,close to airport and cental to Luton

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seantheskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I would loved to have spent my wedding night at this hotel but due to no one answering the phone and trying to book it "too far in advance" I was told that all the rooms were suddenly gone 5 minutes before I rang. Which isn't even convincing. After having rung them in total about 7 times waaaay in advance I still came away with no booking!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Best ever hotel! Staff friendly and attentive. Rooms unique, clean and comfortable. Food is good.

Room Tip: Just talk to reception staff about your preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My family's stay there for 2 nights in August 2011 has left very mixed feelings. What I have rated as poor is not a hotel per se but our stay there. It might well be that what we identified as problems during our stay are of no importance to some but matters a lot more to others as they did to us.

1) Rooms.

What's pretty much unique about this property, I guess, is that there are rooms and rooms there. It so happened that we stayed in rooms three meters away on the first and the second night but our feeling was we stayed at the different planets.

Room 102 is a family room with two beds, a bunch of ancient furniture, creaking doors, laminated and also creaking plastic floor, smallish – I mean it – shower cabin, outdated lamp-tube TV set and really big and not fully closing windows with a couple of window-blades broken at edges. We heard a lot of noise from round-the-clock traffic on the Bedford freeway and fast moving night trains on the London-Bedford railway link both not farther than 100 m from the room windows. As a result, we could not sleep on the first night at all. In addition, there is no Wi-Fi reception there (which is not in fact promised by the hotel in rooms).

Room 105 (or 108, don’t remember exactly now – located three steps to the left on the exit of the room 102 anyway) we occupied on the second night is on the opposite, backyard side of the building. After the sleepless night, we complained about the noise, asked for and were granted a move away from 102. The new room was smaller but well renovated with a queen size bed, flat screen TV and a much smaller but modern metal-plastic window. Wi-Fi access was perfect in the room.

The room had its own hiccups though. First, there is an enormous kitchen fridge installed right below it and we could hear that at night pretty well. Second, it looked like a laundry was in making at night b/c we heard a distinct type of noise and vibrations (even after we asked to turn the fridge off) and felt washing powder smell outside the window. The guy on the night duty who helped us with the fridge, denied any idea of the laundry on the premises but could not offer any explanation of the noise and vibration we heard. Aren’t night electricity tariffs in the UK cheaper than during day time?

2) Food.

Having read many positive reviews of the food served in the hotel on TripAdvisor, we decided to order some dinner on the second night. I came down to the restaurant to make an order which was later delivered to our room. After extensive questioning, I have ordered Vegetarian Dopiazia and Lamb Roghan Gosh for main courses. What a mistake! Both orders came in incredibly spicy, nearly impossible to eat. They might have been delicious if not that spicy. If you look up the menu on the hotel website yourself, you would see nothing there about our order that would make you suspect any surprises. Well, I spoke with waitress about the menu and the order for some 5 minutes: nothing has been mentioned which would have alarmed me to the idea of the clearly excessive amounts of chili or curry in their dishes. That’s not what I would rate acceptable in the hotel that positions itself as a “Gastrotel”.

Room Tip: Not 102, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
0.5 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#2 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Luton Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Luton (Airport) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leaside

Property: The Leaside
Address: 72 New Bedford Road, Luton LU3 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luton
#6 Business Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leaside 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Leaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leaside Hotel Luton
Leaside Hotel Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing