We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unacceptable venue”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Leaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leaside
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unacceptable venue”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was invited to meet a friend who I had not seen for years to the Tapas restaurant at the Leaside Hotel the girl behind the bar was more interested in clearing the bar of glasses than serving us and the menu for Tapas is diabolical. I live in Spain and what was on offer did not even come close to what would be expected of a Tapas Bar. I ended up with a steak that was tough as old boots with a cook it yourself brick that everything stuck to. if you are going to serve a steak make sure it is edible and give a plate to eat it on. I do not expect to cook it myself This venue is overpriced and substandard I would never go for another meal or drink in this establishment

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    113
    43
    16
    11
See reviews for
123
152
29
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May for a few days. We were greeted with a warm welcome and taken to our room. Narrow staircase, no elevator, but that was fine since I had my husband to carry the luggage! The room was clean with a small bathroom. We had large pieces of luggage since we were doing quite a bit of travelling, so our luggage took up a lot of space on the floor. Our room had two skylights with room darkening blinds. The weather was great while we were there and it was so nice to wake up and look at clear blue skies! I have to say the owner was such a nice guy. He was kept busy with a communion and a couple of other parties on the weekend that we were there, but always went out of his way to chat to us. The only tip I would give the owners is to have a shelf in the shower stall to put toiletries, we had to leave them on the floor or on top of the shower door. Also to have a tap that hot and cold water comes from rather than two seperate taps, since the water gets so hot. I would definitely stay there again. Was walking distance to town center with shopping and dining. The only time we ate there was for breakfast and it was delicious. There was a full English breakfast or a continental breakfast. I thought the full breakfast would be too much and the owner offered to make us sandwiches. Always willing to go out of his way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is a very very nice place, with lovely people working there, the service was in top and the people was very helpful , we had a lovely room up under the roof and got great great food. I can highly recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge Skak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a great meal from the tapas menu. Really tasty. We would recommend the mussels. Lovely welcoming staff. We sat out on the pretty patio before going into our meal. They were happy to help with my daughters 21st birthday cake. A great evening. Definetly worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wombat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Book this room - very well designed and a super jacuzzi in the middle of the room. Restaurant very good and very nice breakfast. Good central location. Stayed here many times and will continue to do so for weekends away.

Room Tip: Coach House Suite is the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiptree
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I wasn't sure when I drove to this hotel, it being in a dingy area. However, the hotel was fine. Staff friendly. Room clean and well maintained. The night porter didn't mind me knocking on the door to get in at 3 in the morning. Good breakfast. Altogether very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited The Leaside for dinner and elected to sample the Mediterranean Tapas menu. The food was lovely, very well presented and portions a good size. Service was attentive and all in all it was a breath of fresh air to stumble on such a great menu! Will return without fail. Well done Leaside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismcg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
0.5 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#4 of 25 in Luton
576 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Luton Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Luton (Airport) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leaside

Property: The Leaside
Address: 72 New Bedford Road, Luton LU3 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luton
#6 Business Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leaside 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leaside Hotel Luton
Leaside Hotel Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing