We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a stop for the airport”
Review of The Leaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leaside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for a stop for the airport”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The hotel is walking distance from the train station and a cheap taxi ride to Luton airport. Rooms were very clean and a reasonably good decor for a budget hotel. The service from recepton and in the restaurant was neither good nor bad - but efficient. A good place for a nights stay if going to or from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    113
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
125
159
29
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Could not be more helpful. .Rooms excellent value. Food also excellent. An Island in Luton

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

A last minute decision led us to this great little hotel right in the heart of Luton. Very soon after our arrival, we knew we had made a great choice.
I had e-mailed in advance requesting an earlier check in time and although our room wasn't ready, we were offered a complimentary coffee while we waited. After coffee ,we were advised that instead of a longer wait, we were to be upgraded to a lovely suite instead! The room was beautiful and very well 'kitted' out with everything we needed for our admittedly short stay.
We decided to have dinner in the restaurant in the hotel as the menu didn't take long to tempt us inside. Again we made the right choice, as the meal was a delight and we felt spoiled with the selection of food on offer coupled with the cozy surroundings.
The staff ( and regulars ! ) were very friendly and helpful which made our stay a memorable event and one that we will definitely repeat in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhorag_simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I have stayed at the Leaside on and off for over 10 years and was staying there for two nights a week for about 5 years during this period. It is a comfortable hotel that serves good food at reasonable prices and does a great breakfast. The hotel has been much improved in terms of rooms and room quality during the last few years and my last visit this September saw even more improvements. Compared to the sky high prices, poor service and indifferent quality of the major hotel chains the Leaside is like a second home in terms of ambiance and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richjack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

When you read that a place you want to stay is a boutique hotel, that often means they’ve now got the right to charge an extra 30 GBP or something, at the least. I almost hate to share this find, but I’ve got to say, Leaside is the place to go. Free Internet. An incredible menu—I had all but one of my meals here and can’t wait to come back w/my niece for Christmas.
You’ll enjoy the big rooms and not-at-all-tiny bathrooms. You can come here for a romantic stay or with kids or with a group of friends. I love that the menu even had vegetable samosas, awesome pizzas, and even steak on a lava stone. It is a really lovely place that felt like a genuine escape, one I needed, and is only 30 miles or so from London. If you like eating, try as much as you can on the menu, just pace yourself because when they say full English breakfast, they’re really not kidding.
I like that the staff acts and helps without hesitation.
Look forward to another visit in a different room because they’re all cool and slightly different.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourFrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed here for one night to coincide with seeing a Luton Town home game and overall we were happy. The place has been decorated to a nice standard and there has obviously been an effort made to make the rooms have a boutiqe-y feel to them. The location of the hotel isn't in a great part of town, so I'm not sure if you would stay here for the purposes of a relaxing few days. The bar is nice and serves one of the best pizzas I have ever had - absolutely delicious! The room was baking hot even on a cool evening and the soundproofing in our room wasn't great, but it was a place to rest our heads, have a great power shower and have a decent breakfast - and the price of £47 for the night meant that overall this was a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
z
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We got to the hotel after driving aimlessly in luton. all we wanted was a nice room with a bath.... and we got the best room you can imagaine. Room 106 the suite .wooden floor, a large jakuzi, a big shower,a very comfortable bed. We had a nice dinner and an excellent berakfest.
But the best thing was the owner Paul. he was kind and make us feel very welcome. on our way out he gave us a map with full direction how to get to the airport. we will come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheliZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
0.5 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#2 of 26 in Luton
612 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
1.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leaside Hotel

Property: The Leaside Hotel
Address: 72 New Bedford Road | Access via Villa Road, Luton LU3 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Luton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Luton
#6 Business Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leaside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary boutique hotel set in a sensitively restored victorian villa (1878) located on the outskirts of Luton town centre only three miles from Luton Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Leaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leaside Hotel Luton
Leaside Hotel Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing