We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Quality Skyline

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Skyline
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Scunthorpe
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has decent rooms if mine was anything to go by. Although it could do with a bit of maintenance like re-fixing electrical conduit and tightening taps on wash basin. The only thing that spoilt the hotel was the restaurant. Small poor quality furniture and food with a limited menu.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cornishpastie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    30
    35
    34
    71
See reviews for
18
44
23
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights whilst visiting a music festival. After reading reviews before setting off we packed the tent just incase it was as bad as it sounded!!
Thankfully it was fine. Clean bed, warm showers and a flushable toilet was all we needed. It was a little noisy as the windows weren't soundproofed, but much better than camping in a field with thousands of other people. Area not great but you can walk to the station easily enough and we were definitely not put off thinking of using it again should the need arise.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BAMMOSWIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I would advise against staying in Luton period, but if you are like us and booked a flight on Easy Jet, it is almost enivitable that you will have to stay in Luton on your way out on upon return. We were looking for a budget hotel close to the airport - that is exactly what we got, and nothing more. We booked this hotel because it was priced reasonably compared to other hotels in the area and received decent ratings on Expedia. The check-in was pleasant and we have to say that the hotel restaurant was a way better option for dinner than others in the neighborhood (wouldn't want to walk around the neighborhood at night). My husband also enjoyed that fact that they had Guiness on tap at the restaurant's bar.

Now on the nitty gritty:
This place is just STRANGE! Very rough around the edges and it is clear that the owner(s) do not reinvest earnings back into the business.

Our room was on the second floor and the entire floor smelled of cigarette smoke, including our room, Room 224 - the smell became even more intense after entering our room (a non-smoking room by the way).

In Room 224 it was obvious that the door had been kicked in at some point as the latch that you normally use as a secondary lock was completely busted off and the door frame was very loosely secured. There was a hole in the wall opposite of the door...really made us wonder what happened after the door was forced open!

The room itself was very musty and dirty feeling. The shower looked in need of a good scrubbing, so we wore our shower shoes while showering. The shower drain was clogged up, so you were standing in your own filth as well as the filth from those before you as the water slowly drained down. Not the relaxing shower we were looking for after a day of traveling.

Room 224 was extremely noisy! The road was busy all hours of the night with vehicles passing by. Even worse were the belligerent neighbors who were yelling in the hallways at 4AM and knocking on doors asking for money - how they ever made it past the front desk is still a mystery to us. The one consoling feature was the chair in the room that we had used to block the door in case someone tried to enter (see broken door latch and door frame, above). I did not feel safe and stayed up most of the night counting down the hours until our 5:30AM taxi pickup to the airport.

On top of everything else, we were unable to connect to their free wifi despite several attempts.

Lesson learned: When you stay in a low budget hotel, you get low budget neighbors and experiences - pay extra to STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Room Tip: Steer clear of Room 224!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luton hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

When we turned up I thought it was going to be like the inbeetweeners movie but was surprised to find the room was clean bed comfortable tea and coffee provided and tv that works secure car park aswell locked at night time

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Ok so it's a budget hotel, you get what you pay right? But that shouldn't mean I have to accept an unhoovered, unswept, room, with a shower room to match. Arrived after a long flight, check in was quick and polite that's where the niceities begun and ended. Was told the lift was not working so had to carry our suitcases up the awkwardly narrow, stained carpet staircase, whilst walking through the corridor my partner cut his arm on the door which had nails and wood pretruding from it. Entered room, fair size room, with dresser, tv, shower etc but clearly hadn't been hoovered, or cleaned proparly, didn't need to take a close look at the shower to know it was dirty. Asked to change room, was moved across hall, needless to say it was the exact same, with the added extra of the curtain hanging off the window and the over powering smell of what I am more than certain was a solution or paint used for mould or damp, every window being wide open pretty much confirmed this, I assume to try and cover up the smell, the pile of dust behind the toilet door also confirmed that it hadn't been cleaned. It was 11pm by now and I knew every room would be the same, and if we didn't have to get up in 5hours time I would have left.

Regardless of what you pay, isn't cleanliness a pretty easy one to take care of? If you don't agree then this hotel is for you.

If you are coming from the airport a taxi there and back is approx £20 so I'd use that to get a more expensive hotel close by.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was placed in this hotel by the council while I was 35 weeks pregnant for 6 weeks.
The room was absolutely filthy, mould along the skirting boards, leaking from the ceiling, shower covered in limescale and mould, the sink was full of hair.
The breakfast was awful, I was given frozen hash browns.
This was like a fawlty towers experience.
Just absolutely horrendous.
DON'T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyeleanor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I arrived with lots of bags and had a room on 2nd floor and was told the lift 'hadn't worked for months'...no offer to help. 2 flights of very grubby stairs and I got to my room in the eaves...tiny bathroom with a toilet you had to duck down to use, no bath plug, heated towel rail that didn't work, no remote control for the tv, no bath towel and a toilet cistern that made a startlingly loud noise every 10minutes throughout the night. Breakfast was very basic and to my amazement, some of the 'guests' actually came down to breakfast in their dressing gowns (and no, it isn't a spa hotel!). I was booked for 2 nights and although, in fairness they offered me another room because of the toilet noise, I declined and moved to the Premier Inn.....comparative bliss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#13 of 26 in Luton
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chiltern Hotel
Chiltern Hotel
#21 of 26 in Luton
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#16 of 26 in Luton
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Stockwood Hotel
Stockwood Hotel
#19 of 26 in Luton
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luton Hotel Residence
Luton Hotel Residence
#18 of 26 in Luton
93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pines Hotel
Pines Hotel
#14 of 26 in Luton
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Skyline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Skyline

Property: Quality Skyline
Address: 246-248 Dunstable Road, Luton LU4 8JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Skyline 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Skyline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing