We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Stockwood Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Not only is there a great play area for children but a cafe and museum there are old cars , machinery through the ages showing changes in Luton life etc. Outside there are lovely gardens and it is a wonderful place to take families.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rev1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We are pleased that you found Stockwood Discovery Centre so good for children and families both inside and out. Great to hear you enjoyed the local machinery displays and the children's play area. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    172
    32
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of nature, art and history”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Nature: Re designed and created by staffs of Luton Borough Council, Discovery centre is garden of gardens. Each section of garden displays unique style and collection of rare and variety of flower, fruits and plants. Centre displays many style of gardens italian, dutch style victorian era english garden etc to name few. One unique garden is Sensory garden called to stimulate all five sensory organs of human.

Art: These garden displays unique art work of internationally renowned Ian Hamilton Finlay. His garden has sculptures from greek mythology and roman architecture.

History: Stockwood discovery centre display stories of life journey of lutonians and around the region from pre-historic to modern days. Also tells stories of the collector whose collection are being displayed there, including George Mossman, who collected horse carriages. his collection is one of the highlights of this centre and one of its kind in UK.

So in its unique way discovery centre is incorporate all three elements in same place and offers unique blend of entertainment. visitors will feel close to nature, art and culture and history at the same time. This may not be greatest and most popular but it surely is unique and one of its kind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sujan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for all your wonderful comments and taking the time to review Stockwood Discovery Centre. It's great to hear how unique you found your experience. Glad you enjoyed so many different aspects of our grounds and exhibitions - from the many gardens to the Mossman Carriage Collection. We hope that you choose to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stockwood Discovery Centre in Luton is definitely worth a visit. The Mossman Collection is a real step into the past with all the different modes of transport on display. There is also an adventure play area for children, a well-stocked shop and cafe. All in all, a very interesting place to spend a few hours soaking up the atmosphere and enjoying what it has to offer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerlinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for the wonderful comments on your recent visit to Stockwood Discovery Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. It is great to hear how interesting you found the experience and that you enjoyed the Mossman Carriage Collection along with the adventure play area and all Stockwood Discovery Centre has to offer. We hope you choose to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton Uk
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Bit of Luton history and a lot more”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

An excellent place to take to children (or in our case grandchildren) to learn something about Luton's history in a very relaxing and enjoyable way. It is a very children friendly experience with a wide variety of things to do and see. There is a very good museum explaining the various ages,a lovely working garden with an 'Anderson' shelter, a tremendous vehicle collection, an excellent children's play area and plenty of space to let the children run about. And to top it all it's free. Although a resident of Luton I am most unimpressed with the way the town is manged by the Local Authority bit I have to say they got it right with the Discovery Centre as with some of the other leisure facilities in the town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank townley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for your recent review of Stockwood Discovery Centre. It's good to hear that local residents are enjoying our beautiful grounds and exhibitions. We appreciate your comments and are pleased to learn how child friendly you found your experience. We hope you choose to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out, and FREE!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

There is so much to see at Stockwood Discovery Centre. From historic artefacts from the area, beautiful gardens and a variety of different exhibitions throughout the year (some you have to pay for, but most are free and this part is optional), this is a great place for families (of all ages), couples and individuals - there is something for everyone. Children have a really big area to run around and play hide and seek as well as a children's play area, and a cafe for a snack and/or a drink. I thoroughly recommend Stockwood.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynjun40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us your great feedback and for the recommendation of Stockwood Discovery Centre. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our family friendly gardens and grounds, along with our local historical artefacts and cafe. We hope you choose to visit again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockwood Discovery Centre also viewed

 

Been to Stockwood Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing