We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and Free!”

Stockwood Discovery Centre
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent place to visit. Lovely surroundings, great exhibitions and really good interactive features. Top class information on everything and rounded off by a great bit if cake and tea in the cafe.

1  Thank ManInBlack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Assistant at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the grounds and exhibitions at Stockwood Discovery Centre and we hope you choose to visit again soon, maybe for a bit more tea and cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 417 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We live approx. 30 minutes away and decided to have a few hours at Stockwood. Well worth the visit, we wandered around all of Stockwood grounds and museums and enjoyed the NASA photos of galaxies, suns, stars and planets. We had lunch in the Garden Café, the food was excellent (very impressed) and the staff were nice.

3  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. Great to here that you enjoyed our Visions of the Universe exhibition. We are very proud to have such amazing images on show. We are very pleased to hear that your experience of our cafe was so positive, both in terms of our food and dedicated staff. We hope you choose to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Not only is there a great play area for children but a cafe and museum there are old cars , machinery through the ages showing changes in Luton life etc. Outside there are lovely gardens and it is a wonderful place to take families.

2  Thank Rev1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for the great review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback. We are pleased that you found Stockwood Discovery Centre so good for children and families both inside and out. Great to hear you enjoyed the local machinery displays and the children's play area. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Nature: Re designed and created by staffs of Luton Borough Council, Discovery centre is garden of gardens. Each section of garden displays unique style and collection of rare and variety of flower, fruits and plants. Centre displays many style of gardens italian, dutch style victorian era english garden etc to name few. One unique garden is Sensory garden called to stimulate all five sensory organs of human.

Art: These garden displays unique art work of internationally renowned Ian Hamilton Finlay. His garden has sculptures from greek mythology and roman architecture.

History: Stockwood discovery centre display stories of life journey of lutonians and around the region from pre-historic to modern days. Also tells stories of the collector whose collection are being displayed there, including George Mossman, who collected horse carriages. his collection is one of the highlights of this centre and one of its kind in UK.

So in its unique way discovery centre is incorporate all three elements in same place and offers unique blend of entertainment. visitors will feel close to nature, art and culture and history at the same time. This may not be greatest and most popular but it surely is unique and one of its kind.

2  Thank Sujan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for all your wonderful comments and taking the time to review Stockwood Discovery Centre. It's great to hear how unique you found your experience. Glad you enjoyed so many different aspects of our grounds and exhibitions - from the many gardens to the Mossman Carriage Collection. We hope that you choose to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stockwood Discovery Centre in Luton is definitely worth a visit. The Mossman Collection is a real step into the past with all the different modes of transport on display. There is also an adventure play area for children, a well-stocked shop and cafe. All in all, a very interesting place to spend a few hours soaking up the atmosphere and enjoying what it has to offer.

Thank TerlinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LutonCulture, Marketing Team at Stockwood Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for the wonderful comments on your recent visit to Stockwood Discovery Centre. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. It is great to hear how interesting you found the experience and that you enjoyed the Mossman Carriage Collection along with the adventure play area and all Stockwood Discovery Centre has to offer. We hope you choose to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockwood Discovery Centre also viewed

 

Been to Stockwood Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing