We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No heating in our room and very thin sheets plus useless staff equals worse nights sleep ever.”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No heating in our room and very thin sheets plus useless staff equals worse nights sleep ever.”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The staff were very unhelpful, the room had no heating and the covers were really thin. Had no sleep and the staff did nothing about this. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ckinguyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    16
    14
    9
    21
See reviews for
6
12
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Attended a friends party and booked in on a "special rate". £50 for the double room (room only not B&B) rather than the £65.

Struggled to find the parking only to find that unless guests park before the staff they have no chance.

Room has obviously been recently refurbished and is pretty. That is the ONLY thing going for it.

Having read here about the central location/late pub noise I was fully prepared for the noise. I was NOT however prepared for the security staff knocking on the room doors in my corridor (including ours) at 3.30am. I thought it was drunken people at the end of their night when I heard... "3.30 alarm call"! Needless to say because they wouldn't stop I got up only to be asked if I owned one of the cars in the car park. Chance would have been a fine thing! It seems someone had parked one of the staff in and he did not care who he woke up to get home. Perhaps he should have parked elsewhere!!!

I am disappointed having paid £50... I would have been spitting pips if I had paid the £65!

Would I recommend it... NEVER!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kissitbetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luton hotels

Dalarna
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

this is the fourth time I've stayed here and you CANNOT beat it for its central position. Make sure you get a room NOT over car-park/windows to bar... Got that in April and it was noisy.. but it was Easter..
Now *I'm on the other side,, beautiful room., perfect FREE WIFI.. couldn't be better,, took a while to check in however,, at first bar and it was busy, but 8.pm is a busy time in pubs (as it should be)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie6323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Do not book until the place has been refurbished at least!!!


I checked in (via the bar) with fairly friendly staff, who immediatley warned me that there would be a lot of noise as it was a town centre late night pub. The part of the hotel I was directed to was just over the car park from the pub, with an external door for which I needed a key. I immediately noticed that this door had been kicked in, not a good omen!! The room I was given smelt very damp. There was paint peeling off the walls, the paper on the ceiling was hanging off with damp, there was mould all over the aged bathroom, and the room was freezing. It felt like I was a squatter in an old house! I was allocated another room as I expressed my displeasure, which faired little better, all I could say for this one is that there didn't seem to be any damp on the ceiling!

I again complained to hotel reception, and as there was no double rooms left I was offered a twin room. By this point I was really not comfortable staying at the hotel, and asked for a refund, which was duly given. I can't fault the friendliness of the staff, they even rang around to find me a room at another hotel. They did tell me that the hotel was due for refurbishment soon, although I would say the place should be closed until this happens. For £3 extra you can stay at the Premier Travel Inn, much more comfortable!! Will not go there again!

  • Liked — Nothing!!!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaw960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Above average room. Very comfortable beds and good choice of extras for the price we payed. There is an ironing press, kettle, hair-dryer and TV.

The only drawbacks: it is located above a late licensed pub that gets noisy in the evenings and there is no escalator - the stairways to the rooms are narrow.

  • Liked — The room itself
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed September 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Luton Town Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Luton (Airport) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#2 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
1.4 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
0.2 mi away
Luton Hotel Residence
Luton Hotel Residence
#14 of 25 in Luton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: 2 Castle Street, Luton LU1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Luton
Luton Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing