We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Regent Lodge Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regent Lodge Hotel
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Reviewed 25 July 2006

This is one of the worse hotels I have stayed in. The decor was out dated and dirty, and the rooms were hot and stuffy. The staff were unhelpful when I asked for a fan so I had to grin and bare it.
The bathroom was ok although we had trouble turning on and off the shower. I shall never go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank lexman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2006

Members of the hotel staff were caught red-handed going through our bags when we came back into our room. Even though they were caught stealing from us they denied it and walked out. There are no safes in any of the rooms so there is no way to protect yourself. When we confronted other member of the hotel staff, all they did was cover for each other and the "manager" was useless. We had to call the police ourselves and by the time they came, it was pretty much pointless. I don't think I need to elaborate much further on why this hotel is horrible.

BTW, even if you leave a "do not disturb" sign out, they come barging right in.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kevizee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sunderland
13
Reviewed 16 April 2006

The entrance to the hotel is shameful.The receptionist was not friendly and we did not feel welcomed.We met another member of staff on the stairs who was the same.
The hotel is old and needs upgrading.The room was not that bad although there was soap scum in the shower.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2005

Nearly didn’t book this after reading the other 2 reviews but needed to book somewhere quick cheap & near Luton airport and at £27 this fitted the bill. Arrived near midnight, some sort of disco going on but stopped near 12. Rooms not bad size, think Travelodge. Clean bedding, floor could have done with another hoover, There was a fair amount of traffic noise which, I’m sure would have been bad during the summer if windows needed to be opened. It has a bar which was open to 1am – managed to get a sandwich for my partner but this was expensive & was probably fresh some days ago – I requested a refund for this. No problem with staff overall. Wouldn’t want to stay for a week (or in summer if the aircon wasn’t effective) but for an overnight stopover on a budget this wasn’t too bad. 6/10
Good Points: Cheap, good location, bar open late (Friday)
Bad points: Not the cleanest hotel, food quality/choice limited after 12am.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2005

This hotel used to be a Travelodge and hasn't tangibly improved much since that time it would seem. The public areas are depressing and dowdy. They don't provide any sense of comfort at all and doesn't fill you with confidence.

Bedrooms are better than you might expect from the public areas and are adequate - as are the bathrooms, which are clean.

Serive was also adequate, no more. Our first room had an awful buzzing noise, though we were moved when we requested this.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank conferenceprofessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
214
Reviewed 13 June 2005

This place was awful. It badly needs modernising/decorating but you could forgive that if it wasn't run by rude, unfriendly staff. located to next to what sounds like a 24 hour Grand Prix and had some air conditioning. The room was small and stuffy.
The staff were abrupt and impolite to myself and another couple who checked in after us.
Never, ever again!

Stayed: May 2005
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2005

Dreadful! Noisy! Stuffy - and we couldn't open the windows because of the niose. We wished we'd slept in the car. The only saving grace is that it was clean.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Traveller042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
3.8 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
4 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
3.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Luton Airport
2.1 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 27 in Luton
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Lodge Hotel

Address: 641 Dunstable Road, Luton LU4 8RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Price Range: £40 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Regent Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Luton
Luton Regent
Regent Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing