We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel, rude manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luton Hotel Residence
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Stayed in March 2011, the receptionist was friendly on check in and showed me to my room, which unfortunately was right next to the smoking area. Noise from the door banging shut woke me throughout the night. Room very small and dingy.
Had booked for 4 nights, but accommodation so awful that I could only manage 2! I had prepaid on arrival for the 4 nights, staff were unable to refund any money, dispite me cancelling these nights within the hotel's cancellation policy. I was told I had to wait to see the manager, who unfortunately works 9 - 5 , exactly when I was due at work! The manager would not leave the money at reception to be collected, I had to nip out to the hotel in my lunch hour to collect it.
When I called the hotel to sort all this out, the receptionist (who was foreign) could not understand what I wanted. Asked to speak to Nicky the manager, was kept on hold for ages before the manager answered, and huffed down the phone as though she couldn't be bothered to talk to me! I could tell she was annoyed to be talking to me, which I found very rude.
NO PARKING NEAR THE HOTEL!!! was told on the first night to park on the road outside, yes this is fine overnight until 8am the next morning!! No where else close to park (unless you want to pay an absolute fortune!). Although the room is cheap when you take car parking into consideration, many of the other hotels work out the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHR2011, Night Porter at Luton Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2011

I am sorry you were unhappy with your experiences with us.

We are currently redecorating many areas of the hotel and we have recently replaced that banging door outside room one that leads to the courtyard (and the rooms around the courtyard) and we have completely bricked up the door opposite room one that the staff used.

You are quite right that management are required to process refunds and that other staff are unable to help with refunds. Office hours are the best time to get hold of management although there's often someone around during weekends as well. Other staff can't help with any cash refund issues in particular as naturally cash payments are placed in a "drop" safe that they can't open.

We have recently managed to come to an agreement with the business opposite reception and have rented parking spaces from them in their large carpark for their retail store. Don't just park there though, you need a permit from us (or they'll clamp you) which we'll give you on check-in. There's a small daily charge for those parking spaces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2009

They give very good deal but the hotel is not close to the town center. The rooms have attached bathroom and kitchen too...Well done Luton Residence...I think the location is important for me since it becomes quiet in the evening near this hotel so unsafe.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blessed271187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky020, Night Porter at Luton Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments, many guests appreciate the kitchenette area we provide in every room which includes a fridge, microwave, hotplates, toaster, kettle, etc...

We are 483 metres from the nearest entrance to the town centre's shopping mall. A few minutes walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I needed something cheap and close to the aiport but i never imagined it would be as bad as this hotel. I've stayed in other hotels in Luton before but this has got to be the worse. When I was checking in there seemed to have been a problem with the booking and rather than explain what was going on the staff were just rude and unhelpful, demanding a credit card even though I explained I'd already paid online. When I eventually was able to get a room, it was dull and dreary looking, the taps were covered in limescale and the shower looked like it hadnt been cleaned in a while. The toilet seat looked a bit grimy and there was no loo roll. I had to ask reception 3 times before i was given any!

The bed was really uncomfortable and I am sure there were bed bugs as I was itching all night and was sore in the morning. Breakfast was meant to be included but all I got was a measly croissant in my room and cold tea. Worst of all there was no parking so I had to park on the street and my car got broken into. When I tried to explain to the manager i just got told its not the hotel's problem and was left to deal with it. They were very unhelpful and there is no way i'd ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SDANCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky020, Night Porter at Luton Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2011

No staff remain from 2008, the date of this review, and all our current reception staff and night porters are very friendly, polite and helpful. If paying by payment card the card will always have to be presented at check-in even if it is only to check the details, this is great security feature which we are happy to provide for everyone's security and helps reduce card fraud a great deal.

Staff are available twenty-four hours a day to assist with guest's needs.

Our rooms are clean and we have a pretty much constant rolling system of refurbishment and redecoration of the rooms.

We do not offer any meal services but provide a kitchenette area in every room for self catering. We still to this day provide the mentioned daily croissant along with tea and coffee in each room for each guest.

The hotel itself has no parking. There is a secure multi-storey car park directly behind us and guests do sometimes park on the near-by streets with all the inherent risks of parking on a public town centre street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

All I can tell you of the Luton Hotel Residence is what it looks like from the street outside--that was as close to my (regrettably, prepaid) room as I ever got. My flight to Luton Airport was delayed, with the result that I reached the hotel at 11:30 p.m. The place was locked up like Fort Knox; ringing its telephone number yielded no response. After cooling my heels for half an hour on the doorstep in the hope that a guest or staff-member might return, I gave up and left.

I don't much enjoy paying for a room and not being able to gain access to it. Consequently, there are two chances that I will use the Luton Hotel Residence in the future: slim and fat.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank Businesstraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky020, Night Porter at Luton Hotel Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2011

Despite indications, as per this review, of past problems I would like to reassure potential guests that this hotel is now staffed twenty-four hours a day, three hundred and sixty-five days a year.

We are capable of providing for late arrivals and/or early departures without prior notice and a member of staff is always available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Very clean, had everything we wanted, great for short stays, very friendly staff, great pub and chinese take away next door, less that 10 minutes from airport or five from station. Excellent value
I would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank just_einy_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank veidroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luton hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Luton Airport
0.4 mi away
Thistle Express Luton
Thistle Express Luton
#10 of 27 in Luton
61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Luton
Travelodge Luton
#16 of 27 in Luton
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pines Hotel
Pines Hotel
#15 of 27 in Luton
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis London Luton Airport
1.5 mi away
ibis Budget Luton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luton Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luton Hotel Residence

Address: 92 Chapel Street, Luton LU1 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Luton
Price Range: £37 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Luton Hotel Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luton Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing