We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I came here with my boyfriend for valentines weekend and stayed in the mansion house. Location is beautiful. We dined at the Werhner restaurant, service of which is excellent. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurglehurgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    393
    212
    139
    80
See reviews for
317
663
24
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

what a fabulous hotel! The grounds, facilities and service are all excellent. Food is exceptional too. What a shame I stayed for a work trip and had no time to enjoy the facilities much. Each section of the resort had separate pool/gym facilities and the grounds vast and simply stunning. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: some of the suites are fabulous... room 8 or others on the 2nd floor of the Mansion House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First of all, my review is inevitably going to be biased as we were upgraded on arrival to a magnificent suite on the second floor. I defy anyone to find fault with the service and space that it offers. From check-in to departure, the staff could not do enough to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. This investment in staff service is what makes Luton Hoo stand out as a luxury hotel; it has not followed the model of large chains and really does focus on customer service.

Do try and make the most of the activities on offer at the hotel, whether this be the pool or steam room, the free bikes, playing tennis or simply walking in the grounds. Although the cost of staying here is not cheap, most of the activities are free, unlike many hotels of this category. If you have mobility problems, I would suggest contacting the hotel first as the Mansion House has some rooms served by lifts whilst there is quite a walk (if you are immobile) from the club house if you are allocated a room in that area. Taxis ply the distance between the two if you don't like/can't walk. It is also worth stressing that most of these aforementioned activities are in the nearby club house rather than the mansion itself.

The type of room varies enormously and your budget will be the main determinant of which one to choose. On previous occasions we have stayed in the new block adjacent to the main house, in the house itself as well as the suite. I can honestly say they have all been of an excellent standard, if room facilities and decor are things which really matter then simply contact the hotel and they will talk you through the options. Don't be put off by the modern rooms, they have the advantage of being spacious, well-fitted and room for children. Just check whether you are right at the end as it can be a long trek to reception! Now for the suite, well words cannot express how pampered we felt being in a room with separate lounge, large bathroom (and a surprisingly small bedroom) and triple aspect windows which overlooked the back AND front of the hotel. I think this may have been a once in a lifetime experience for us but I can always dream!

The food is of a good quality with breakfast served buffet-style in the Wernher restaurant. The finishing times are a respectable 10.30am at weekends so you get a lie-in and good food. I have a small reservation about sunday lunch in the restaurant as our food was tepid and served on cold plates. It was busy but I do think a little 'tweaking' with timing could have resulted in an improvement of quality. As ever, the staff were unfailing polite and attentive without being intrusive. Meals taken in the club house were still of a high standard but in less formal surroundings. There is no denying that lunches/dinner are expensive but there are pubs in the local area for additional meals, leaving the hotel for special treats.

Overall, I can thoroughly recommend the hotel; if you want to pretend you are lords or ladies in waiting for a couple of days then you can't go wrong. There is no denying the cost can be sky-high but you know you're worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I wanted a special get together with my special friends and decided to book a Coffee and Pastries morning here. I am so glad that I did. We received a very warm welcome and waited in the reception area in very sumptuous settees whilst everyone arrived. We were then shown through to one of the luxurious and comfortable lounges where everything was set up for us. We were served delicious cookies, warm croissants, warm pastries and large muffins. All washed down with pots of tea or coffee and these were refreshed regularly.
The service was spot on . Thank you Luton Hoo.
All this for £10.95 per head and whatever is left over, you take home all boxed up. Perfect!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarlightLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Visited with my family (of 6) for afternoon tea, absolutely delightful. We were all bit concerned when we read the sandwich choices (we're simple folk fond of cheese and pickle) but all were very tasty and its great to try something new. The cakes were also lovely, the only problem was having enough room left for scones! Aside from the food the house and location are impressive and the service was a real treat, all of the staff were wonderfully attentive from the door staff who escorted my 89 year old Nan up and down the stairs to the waiters/waitresses who offered to top up our team every time we neared the bottoms of our cups. We all thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon, could not have asked for more.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jen7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is such a beautiful hotel, full of old school service and style. We had an enormous room in the main house (Lady Butter suite - where a scene from Four Weddings & a Funeral was filmed), The rest of the hotel is just gorgeous, and the grounds are well worth exploring. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful, there was a real sense of them all loving the hotel and being incredibly proud of its beauty and history.

Tip - if you want a massage, book well in advance. I tried to book a couple of days beforehand, and they were fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here a few times, it's close to where we used to live so was an easy escape. The service is good and the staff helpful. The accommodation is nice, the grounds are amazing and have some good walks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luton
8.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,147 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,718 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#3 of 25 in Luton
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#4 of 25 in Luton
582 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
15.3 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Property: Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Address: The Mansion House, Luton LU1 3TQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing