We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Stay at the Luton Hoo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Lorton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Third Stay at the Luton Hoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We also come here once a year and continue to enjoy our visits. The hotel was bustling in preparation for a large wedding so we were unable to sit in the tea room to read and relax. Other than this inconvenience, we had a nice stay . The highlight was truly superb dining experience in the hotel restaurant. We did not particularly enjoy lunch in the club area as the service and food were just average.

In general, the service at the Luton Hoo is superior to many hotels within the same price range. Each member of the staff seemed to be focused on guest services. The grounds are spectacular and make it easy to get in a nice walk.

We did pay a fee to upgrade our room to one with a view . This was slightly annoying because we had booked far in advance and were returning guests. The manager did gift a bottle of wine for our loyalty but we would have much preferred complementary water instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanny1Lorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    369
    204
    131
    75
See reviews for
296
635
22
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had a really nice stay here at the beginning of June. I was staying in the Flower Garden rooms which are located just a short walk from the mansion house. The mansion house itself is breathtaking with great decoration throughout, it really does feel like a 5 star hotel.

The room in the flower garden was very nice, extremely spacious and very clean. The complimentary biscuits and Molton brown toiletries really gave it the 5 star feel which you wouldn't normally get in a cheaper hotel.

If I had any criticism it would be that when trying to call the reception on a few occasions nobody answered the phone. I couldn't work out how to use the shower so I was calling the reception to ask but after a while I gave up after waiting for a few minutes. Also, on our first morning our breakfast was served in Adams Brasserie and the breakfast was slightly cold. However, the next morning the breakfast was very hot and made up for the previous mornings stay. The hotel staff were very helpful when we saw them and made sure we were happy and answered any questions we had.

Unfortunately I didn't have time to use the spa facilities but somebody else in my party did and they said it was "amazing" so I wish I had had time to visit!

Overall, this hotel is a very special place to visit. You really feel looked after and the hotel is beautiful! I would definitely recommend staying here; I was sad when I had to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I come here at least once a year on business and the standards never really change, the rooms both in hotel and flower garden are spacious and well maintained.
It is expensive and quite exclusive but worth the it.
There is not a lot to say really, the staff can be a bit vague at times but in general they are helpful and attentive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This elegant hotel offers luxury taste comfort and rooms at a price for most of us.
The staff are welcoming friendly. whilst recovering from chemo i frequented it a lot for lunch tea and diners as it is spacious enough not to feel i might catch a cold if someone sneezed:)
There diner is lavish with lots of tasters . their steak is to die for and so soft, you could almost cut it with a spoon

Room Tip: ask to be in the main house as the rooms are bright airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea wales
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had stayed before, and returning for a special event, we hoped for improvement from our previous visit - but were disappointed!
The hotel looks very impressive and imposing, and the suites are spacious, but the service and staff are 2/3 star standard!
Room service delays, and difficulty of obtaining an answer when telephoning reception were problems that other guests were also experiencing.
Some of the staff are good but many seem very poorly trained, lacking motivation and unhelpful.
We are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veterantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent a night here along with playing two rounds of golf and I was extremely impressed. The hotel itself is beautiful with immaculate grounds and gardens and classic country house interiors. We stayed in the newer flower court a short walk away which didn't have quite the same traditional feel, but the rooms were very spacious and also well decorated. The taxi to take people between the new and old parts of the house added a nice touch to the already fantastic service.

The breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of good quality fruits, English breakfast items etc.

I personally did not use the spa, but my friends who went thought it was definitely above average even for a golf/spa resort.

As a golfing beginner I felt the course was beautiful and fun to play, and the facilities overall, including the driving range were very good. This is somewhere I will definitely come back to at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel (Warren weir) as part of a wedding group. The rooms were lovely, nice and spacious plus I had a balcony. Bathroom had both a tub and walk in shower, everything was clean and well maintained. I would have liked to use the spa but couldn't so can't comment. Breakfast was ok, the scrambled eggs didn't look good so just had toast. Staff were friendly and professional. I would love to gp back if it wasn't so expensive, we managed to get a cheaper rate because of the wedding.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Originalnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luton
8.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#4 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#3 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Property: Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Address: The Mansion House, Luton LU1 3TQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing