We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Luncheon.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sunday Luncheon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Party of three for Sunday luncheon in the Wernher Restaurant.
Four choices per course were offered, including a vegetarian option.
All three courses were excellent - rare roast beef was buttery-tender, plenty of vegetables served al dente.
Drinks prices were fair for a 5 star hotel.
Only one minor gripe.....plates were cleared away when one of our party was still eating but otherwise absolutely no complaints at all - will visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bigjules60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    369
    201
    131
    75
See reviews for
294
634
22
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here on business, because of the type of hotel made sure to get there early doors. Used leisure facilities, pool really good. All the staff were friendly, but on the whole and old fashioned place to spread out for me. After wearing a suit all day wanted to chill in jeans but dress code after 7ish was no jeans in most areas. However on the whole a lovely hotel in special grounds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleasbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just a very few minutes from Luton airport , you turn through some large ornate gates and enter another world. it takes a few minutes drive thru the estate until you reach the main buildings. A sense of calmness grows as you turn a corner and see the impressive buildings.
Very nice reception, very nice rooms, beautiful gardens, great breakfast , good service, large pool. Everything as it should be.
it doesn't have the intensity and attention to detail of a central london hotel - but makes up for it with the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dborch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

On this face of it this is a rather grand and beautiful hotel, however, a closer inspection reveals plenty of cracks that you wouldn’t expect at this price. Put simply it felt unloved and this must surely come from the top downwards.

The good points, stunning setting, beautiful vistas, historical Grade 1 listed building, secluded grounds yet close to M1, plenty of wildlife, spacious rooms, effective aircon / heating, decent bathroom and plenty of staff but see below things they need to do better. The Wernher Restaurant, excellent 10/10 for the food. Spa staff and décor, excellent, I would recommend the massages 10/10.


What they need to do better:
*********************************
Staff training:

The high number of staff milling around is noticeable, yet service is painstakingly slow and it’s always difficult to get staffs attention. Most staff are young and pleasant but clearly lack experience, they are in need of direction and training. Less staff who are well trained and service orientated would work wonders, perhaps even employ some older people.

Although always polite there seemed to be little initiate or sense of pride in customer service, which you would expect from this kind of hotel. A couple of examples are listed below. We asked 3 separate people for an ashtray, one arrived in about 15 minutes by which time it was no longer needed! There was evidence that that other customers had encountered the same issue. It took 20 minutes to order a drink, I’d had to wave at staff a number of times and eventually had get up and approach them for a drinks menu. I was told I had 2 or 3 minutes in which to look at the menu and order some food outside as they didn’t serve food outside after 2:30pm. Asking could I perhaps order it inside and bring it outside, caused a great deal of confusion. I overheard similar issues from other parties, where there was no flexibility or willingness to please. Café lattes were always brought on a saucer that didn’t fit the glass so it always wobbled and spilt, they could have put it on a small plate, of which they had many, and the problem would have been solved. Staff constantly seemed nervous and not used to serving.

Breakfast:

This is my biggest complaint, I’ve had better breakfasts in most 4 star hotels and even in hospital, this very much lets Luton Hoo down. Lack of choice, cereals in open containers to go soft and get that funny flavour, yoghurt served in a big bowl - very off putting, low quality and unripe fruit served in the fruit salad, poor selection of supermarket cheeses, none of this refrigerated or on ice etc. The pastries and croissants were low quality, not particularly fresh and there was little choice, better can be purchased from budget supermarkets. The cooked breakfast was serve yourself, the plates were cold and the food wasn’t very warm, you could order other off the menu but we didn’t so cannot comment. Serve yourself cooked breakfast consisted of bacon, watery scrambled eggs, beans, sausages, mushrooms and anaemic tasteless tomatoes. As with everything the toast took a long time to come, not sure why that wasn’t serve yourself. The tables were so close to the serve yourself breakfast that everybody had problems maneuvering around. Personally I didn’t like the teas and coffee but that could be personal preference.

Gardens:

The gardens were lovely from a distance as you didn’t notice the weeds, stone that had been replaced by concrete, unmowed lawns, unclipped box and putrid water in the water feature. I felt like weeding it for them, such a shame. I appreciate there is a substantial cost involved in maintaining the grounds and unless you are a keen gardener you might not notice but for those of us who are it’s a sad reminder of what could be done if you threw a bit of money at it.



Other points:
****************
Adult customers parading around in pajamas in public areas early evening and breakfast was a little disconcerting. Note they were clearly not going to / from the spa.

The ground floor/ public areas had numerous rooms but they all seemed the same, nothing particularly distinctive and the colour scheme seemed dowdy. The bar was a large walk in cupboard, all in all the whole property felt a little lifeless.

The rooms were large but very old fashioned, with little colour and very little light, I know this is a period property but other hotels manage to do it in style.

Are you allowed plastic drain pipes on the main house? I know that’s picky but I’m curious.


Tips:
*******
If you are staying in the main building, try to park in the car park at the front of the house, otherwise you might be surprise how far it seems from the main house, especially if you have heavy luggage, children or elderly people in your party.

If you are going to the Spa from the main house, ask them to take you in a buggy or taxi if it’s raining or you don’t fancy the walk.

Ask reception to send you some fresh milk to your room for tea and coffee.


Summary:
************
I’d go to The Wernher Restaurant again but wish they would fine tune the service and I’d happily go to the Spa but I wouldn’t bother to waste my money on anything else this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeCoultre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a wine tasting supper and B&B as I've been curious about the place having seen views of it from the train many times. Impressive parkland and drive with some interesting trees and an impressive main building inside and out. Stayed in the Parkland Annex, large comfortable and luxuriously furnished room and beds. Three course dinner with Burgundy wines very good, substantial portions but just about right for three courses. Wine choices and lecture interesting, more accurately Beaujolais rather than 'Burgundy' so Gamay for the red rather than Pinot Noir but interesting as I know less about these wines. Weather pleasant enough for canapes on the terrace. Some excellent walking in the extensive parkland following breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel - fantastic location and buildings, with great food and service. Made to feel relaxed and welcome from arrival to departure and had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. Unfortunately we didn't get to play golf, but the course looks fantastic also.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savdan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overnight stay was wonderful. Very spacious and comfortable room. Exceptional staff. It was hard to believe that this Hotel was within a 10 minute drive from Luton Airport. The grounds are extensive and stunning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luton
8.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Leaside
The Leaside
#4 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Icon Hotel Luton
Icon Hotel Luton
#3 of 25 in Luton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Luton North
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Luton-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa

Property: Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Address: The Mansion House, Luton LU1 3TQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf Luton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing