We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must try Indian restaurant in Luton.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton

Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton
Ranked #9 of 301 Restaurants in Luton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A must try Indian restaurant in Luton.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I went there for lunch with a friend few days back. The food is awesome. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Really enjoyed the experience. For those who love Indian food, Papa J's is the place... cheers.... :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    127
    44
    17
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We have been here quite a few times, mostly for lunch and and a few times in the evening for family get togethers, have never had a bad meal. The food tastes fresh, and is always tasty. The service is fast, and once when we didn't have the correct meal, on a busy Friday night, it was corrected quickly without fuss... Would highly recommend this place..

Helpful?
Thank easy1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mnooom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

First time I eat that good dinner. Congratulations for chef! Really good job! Only stuffs could be more professional and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertsfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

By seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and given that we were getting bored of our usual handful of restaurants that we visit in Luton we decided to give this place a go as it was busy. The food was significantly over-priced, and to compound matters when we ordered the waiter said we wouldn't have enough for the group and talked us into buying more.....we then had way too much food and felt really cheated. If you like going to an indian and just eating starters, without any mains, this is basically what it is. Not worth the hype, go to Nakorn Thai next door, it's far superior.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rio611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Bud-Tickling Cuisines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Visit to Papa J's was much awaited after it was recommended to me by sufficiently large number of friends. I have to agree that the place has some undisputed Indian meals to offer. I went with my friends and we were a group of about seven people, we enjoyed right from the starters till the desserts. The main course we were served was excellent in terms of taste, quality and presentation. The availability and service of the staff was timely and very friendly. We all totally enjoyed the selections we feasted on. The ambiance was warm and welcoming. I would certainly pay visits more often!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton also viewed

 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Papa J's Indian Tapas Restaurant Bar Luton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing