We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not the blinds - it's the tower that's moving!”

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's not the blinds - it's the tower that's moving!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Even standing inside the base is an experience - it is vast. I was lucky enough to have been up to the top of the tower in 1990 and the views - all 360 degrees - are stupendous (once the clouds have lifted....). I noticed that the Venetian blinds were swaying and mentioned that there must be a draught - only to be told that the blinds were still and the movement was the Tower! It's made that way to withstand the severe wind and weather conditions which did for its predecessor.
I was taken as a BT journalist. As far as I know it is not open to the public

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    19
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great View from the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Browsing Trip Advisor, I noted that the Emley Tower is down as "an attraction". Now retired but formerly an official with the union BECTU, who represent staff at Arqiva, operators of Emley Moor, I can advise that I have on three occasions, been to the observation gallery near the top of the mast at around 850 feet. The view is stunning. Sorry, but not available to the general public but nonetheless, thought I would share that with Tripp Advisor readers. I have also stayed as well as eaten at the 3 Acres, not far from the tower and can also confirm that this is a restaurant well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I used to live near the mast and always loved to go up here our own 'Eiffel Tower' it's a good place to head if for a good dog walk. Be sure to visit the Three Acres for lunch or dinner.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank digby163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worth stopping off to see on a Sunday drive out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Emley Moor Transmitter Tower is very local to me. It is very popular as something to go and view for people who are out cycling, out on a Sundy afternoon drive, bikers etc.Often an icecream cart can be found in the lay-by on a weekend. There is little to 'do' here, merely observe the huge concrete structure that is similar in height to the Eiffel Tower in Paris. This Tower replaces the original Mast that collapsed under the weigt of ice in the winter of 1969,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyingfox21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“can be seen from miles away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

driving from leeds south on the m1 it is not long before the mast comes into view i decided to visit the place up along side the mast on the road it is a awsome structure it makes you wonder how the thing stands up as it is open to all the weathers we were lucky on our visit it was a clear day so we could see right to the top of the mast

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frances292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emley Moor transmitting station also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Emley Moor transmitting station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing