We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views”

Ranked #13 of 51 things to do in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wow, what a view from here, you can se over to Lancashire, the rolling hills brilliant. The lights for the Tour de France could be seen 30 miles away

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    19
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“I wish I could go up to the top”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Lived in view of emley moor mast all my life and you just take it for granted that its there. Nothing to do apart from see the spectacular height of the structure with views and usually an ice cream van around. Down the hill is the 3 acres pub which is lovely (ive left a reveiw for it). Im sure emley moor mast would get 5* if they opened it up to the public for viewings at the top. Id love to go up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirelass024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's not the blinds - it's the tower that's moving!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Even standing inside the base is an experience - it is vast. I was lucky enough to have been up to the top of the tower in 1990 and the views - all 360 degrees - are stupendous (once the clouds have lifted....). I noticed that the Venetian blinds were swaying and mentioned that there must be a draught - only to be told that the blinds were still and the movement was the Tower! It's made that way to withstand the severe wind and weather conditions which did for its predecessor.
I was taken as a BT journalist. As far as I know it is not open to the public

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Great View from the top”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Browsing Trip Advisor, I noted that the Emley Tower is down as "an attraction". Now retired but formerly an official with the union BECTU, who represent staff at Arqiva, operators of Emley Moor, I can advise that I have on three occasions, been to the observation gallery near the top of the mast at around 850 feet. The view is stunning. Sorry, but not available to the general public but nonetheless, thought I would share that with Tripp Advisor readers. I have also stayed as well as eaten at the 3 Acres, not far from the tower and can also confirm that this is a restaurant well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I used to live near the mast and always loved to go up here our own 'Eiffel Tower' it's a good place to head if for a good dog walk. Be sure to visit the Three Acres for lunch or dinner.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank digby163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emley Moor transmitting station also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Emley Moor transmitting station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing