We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It makes Fawlty Towers look like a 5* hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of St George's at the George Hotel - CLOSED

St George's at the George Hotel
St George's at the George Hotel
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It makes Fawlty Towers look like a 5* hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I cannot believe I am reading about the same place as the good and excellent reviews below. I went planning to eat with my family - three generations. The service (bar and reception) was surly in the extreme, the bar was dirty with uncleared tables, the house wines was poor. The lavatories, although new, needed a good clean. The carpet in the lounge looked like it hadn't seen a shampoo since it was laid down. The menu looked like something from the 50s and was expensive. We decided that eating there was a risk not worth taking (so I have not scored the food) and we went into the town and had a pizza. This is the sort of place that gives English country hotels a very bad name. I wish I had taken some pictures.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vch01oct2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service - lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Had breakfast here following a night out - the room is stunning if in need of a little tiding. Breakfast was good, everything you could want, and the service was faultless. Thanks

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is in need of a make over
The staff are rude and can't be bothered
The food was ok but service rubbish

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nisevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very decent fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

I've eaten at the George twice during my week-long stay and on both occasions the Daily special was very good. The food's not complicated, but very well executed and the portions are generous.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There's a reason this place is empty on a Saturday night...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Possibly one of the worst meals I've eaten:

I ordered a pasta with tiger prawns, chilli, and coriander. What arrived looked liked the leftovers of another guest’s moules mariniere (which, incidentally, was also on the menu..), served with a portion of congealed pasta. And, before I forget, a smattering of those tiny prawns you get in sandwiches had also been thrown in. Presumably for good measure - they must have wanted the meal to bear at least some semblance to the description provided on the menu.

Nevertheless, tiger prawns, chilli and coriander were notable only by their absence. Mussels and a cream sauce made a surprise appearance instead. Of course, if the meal had tasted good, this wouldn't have necessarily bothered me... certainly not enough to go through the rigmarole of posting a restaurant review…

But unfortunately it tasted exactly as it looked. Revolting. Perhaps unsurprisingly, the other food wasn't what you'd call up to scratch. The Thai curry not only came with a authentic garnish of frozen peas, it was also made from cream rather than the more standard option of coconut milk. As you probably realise by now, whoever was responsible for the cooking really wasn’t in a position to be messing with culinary tradition. A ready meal from the local supermarket could have been a distinctly superior option.

The restaurant itself had potential, yet was run down and way too bright. Nevertheless, with food as consistently bad as this, it would take a small miracle to get me to set foot in here again.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedroschki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St George's at the George Hotel also viewed

Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Stocksmoor, Huddersfield
 
Brighouse, Huddersfield
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing